We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Never knew beachfront living could be sooooooo...”
other traveller has booked this property
Sunsets
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunsets
Comfortable Island Elegance Luxurious finishes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Sunsets
Comfortable Island Elegance
Luxurious finishes
Gourmet Kitchen
Cosy tv room
Breakfast bar seats 9
Spacious Bedrooms
Overlooking the ocean
Kids Room
Every bedroom has its own ensuite
Grand Master Suite with King bed
Master Ensuite
Paradise Found
Low tide
An oasis for family and friends
Fun and memories
Evening splendor
Oceanside Lanai
Welcome to Tranquil Breezes
A beautiful location for a wedding
Marva from Chic Bahamas Weddings plans a special day
Wedding guests dine beachside
Dancing under the palms
Marry your love by the ocean
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J M
Lacombe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Never knew beachfront living could be sooooooo nice!”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

10 women arrived at Tranquil Breezes, on Grand Bahama Island, 30 minutes from Freeport on Saturday, 20 May 2017. The huge, beautiful house suited us perfectly. The pictures on the web site do not do justice to the heavy, beautiful, comfortable, living and dining room furnishings. The large travertine tile is beautiful. We loved the high ceilings and beautiful tall wooden doors. The screened porches are great. We were surprised to see that besides the master, two other bedrooms have views to the beach. And we were thrilled to see that the beach was so close, literally, starting in the back yard.

We came prepared to cook breakfast every day plus three dinners. We loved the big house, having room for all ten of us to sit at the table. We had so much cooked food from friends in Freeport and from The Fish Fry, we didn't even have the time to eat at Bishop's, though we did go by there briefly on a sight-seeing adventure.

Our visit was very special to us as we were celebrating the fulfillment of one of our group's dream to spend a week on a beach near her beloved Freeport friends. We came for a relaxing time so we didn't seek the night life. Visiting with Freeport friends, cooking and eating together, walking on the beach, listening to the ocean, the rain, visiting with each other under the cabana, visiting and reading on the lanai, dancing, playing card games and scrabble after dark, playing our individual tablet/phone games (Candy Crush, etc) keeping up with Mr. Trump on TV, cheering on the NBA Playoffs and The Voice contestants, shopping in Freeport..., all made for a GLORIOUS week.

We loved the white sands. We saw mostly calm seas but did have a couple of stormy days and saw white caps - loved that too. We enjoyed watching the squeamish among us run from the cute sand crabs and other shelled sand creatures.

We have suggested to the owner to provide blankets so roommates with different body temps can be comfortable. Though this does not cause me to lower the rating, we were there when the jetted tub in the master was not working and only the bottom rack of the dishwasher worked. (But I am told they will be fixed soon.)

On the first day we had to spray the top of the kitchen bar for tiny ants. We later washed it with bleach and didn't see the ants there again. As for other insects, we tried all kinds of personal insect sprays and wipes, etc. but at least two of the women were plagued with bites from noseeums. Two of us brought Dr. Tichenor's Antiseptic which helped to alleviate their itching. Termites were swarming outside the TV room and, with the outdoor lights on some found their way inside. We sprayed and turned off the lights to get rid of them. The screens on the lanai are of HIGH quality and seem to screen out the insects.

We sooooooo appreciated the water cooler and the large supply of water as some of the women drink a lot of water. We brought 4 bags of ice but only used one the first day. We used the ice trays to make ice in the freezer. We made good use of the huge capacity washer/dryer.

Driving was an experience! We drove like the Brits, on the 'other' side of the street. We had the use of a GPS which helped tremendously! We had to enter coordinates and name them so we could return to any place we visited. So, for us, getting around was no problem. We upgraded the 'included' economy car to full size and had the loan of a van from friends which provided riding space for us all.

On our last night there, we shared our thoughts about the vacation. Everyone in the group had a WONDERFUL time! Alison, thanks for being so friendly and accommodating. Mr. Goodfellow, thanks for providing this great vacation home.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the house and the beach. How wonderful that you were able connect with old friends, and meet new ones. We are looking into a new water system, that will solve the problems with appliances, due to hard water in the Caribbean. Thank you for your patience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best "on the beach" vacation ever”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

You have seen the pictures and read the description. It is completely accurate despite recovering from Hurricane Mathew when we visited on Xmas 2016.

This house is unusual in many respects. The quality built by a Canadian Contractor is obvious as is the perfect vacation floorplan.

It is ideal for 10 people and each bedroom has a real spacious bathroom ensuite. All away from the main living area for privacy and separation of sleeping and living quarters and with individual climate controls.

The floorplan and pictures don’t do full justice to the size and scale of the living room with it’s lofty 20’ ceilings.

The South facing series of 4 patio doors with the side doors leading to two enclosed screened porches on the East and West sides of the house is a literal wall of glass facing the beautiful open views to the beach.

The covered patio just outside the living area is great outdoor gathering space, rain or shine.

We saw a couple of people walking towards us on the beach nearby on our second day, but they left after about 10 minutes. Otherwise we had the long white sand beach to ourselves.

The gradual slope into the water is perfect for children or non-Swimmers. We arrived on a windy day that was quite rough out to sea and yet the sea was gentle near the shore.

The owners included an apology for some cosmetic deficiencies from hurricane Mathew, but there was nothing to spoil our stay.

We have owned property in the Bahamas in the past and we have never seen one of this quality and perfect private location on the beach.

It is 30 minutes to Freeport, but the distance provides the complete privacy that is the amazing aspect of the location.

Importantly, you are only 10 minutes from Bishop's Bar, the quintessential Bahamian Beach Bar. (see Trip advisor review)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Thanks for the review! We bought in this location because of the privacy and the beach. For us, that's what a vacation is for. Getting away from it all and relaxing with family and friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley-An...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved it!!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I can't say enough about how luxurious and relaxing this home is. Cool marble floors and soaring high ceilings, caribbean decor that is beautiful, informal and comfortable. Large bedrooms with ensuites for privacy. Open kitchen so everyone can join in meal prep. Our girlfriend's getaway was just so relaxing. We spent every day on the beach and ended our days in the screened porch with dinner and drinks, watching the sunsets. A few day trips and excursions to sample the local cuisine and see the sites rounded out our week. We just had such a great time and would love to go back. I highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, Beach, having a nice home base to return to each evening
Liked least: Leaving, we were sad to go. Also, it is a bit of a challenge to drive on the left.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cregger63
Gravenhurst, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I have stayed at this home, with my family, a few times. I am always blown away by the home and the beautiful beach. A nice addition, this time, was the screened in porches on the ocean side of the home. I enjoyed my morning coffee and crossword puzzle, in the peaceful surroundings. Each day we would spend some time down at the beach, in the tiki hut or on the lounge chairs, and had a refreshing dip in the ocean. We had a lot of fun, at the Market, and tried a few different restaurants. We would love to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home, beach and peaceful surroundings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda M
Huntsville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everyone deserves to Experience this Luxury!”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely Spectacular! Would go again in a minute. The home was spacious and had everything you could ask for. The Beach area was beautiful and even had a shade structure if the sun got too hot for you. We mostly did our sight seeing's in the morning and then relaxed on the beach in the afternoon. Nightly scrolls along the beach at night was enchanting. Regarding excursions, check out the Dolphin Experience, one of my personal favourites, also the Port Lucaya Marketplace was awesome (have lunch at Zorba's). Also check out Garden of the Groves and there is Lucayan National Park to explore. After all the sights, you are back to the Best Vacation Rental ever, The Home is spectacular and the Beach holds it own. Afternoons are time for relaxing............ This is a truly electrifying experience. Everyone deserves this for themselves. Enjoy...............

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience/treatment/home as a whole.
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing