We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly Bad - Ants, Roaches, Mold, Leaks & a Flood” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Paradise Island
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Shockingly Bad - Ants, Roaches, Mold, Leaks & a Flood”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This is going to be a long review because of the sheer volume of horrible things we experienced at the Riu. We had lowered our expectations going in because of the other negative Trip Advisor reviews, but even with the bar lowered we were still shocked by how bad it was. Especially considering that for this price we could have stayed at a Sandals, where the service is consistently good.

First, I'll start off with the good things before launching into the many, many bad things:
The Good:
- The food was excellent
- It's right on the beach, and next door to Atlantis. We sprung for a day pass to the Atlantis waterpark, and would highly recommend it. It cost $135 per person, but there are so many pools, water slides, aquariums, beaches and more to explore we felt it was worth the money. We went back to the Riu for lunch and drinks, so we didn't spend any additional money at Atlantis

The Bad:
- Upon arrival at 2:45, we were told we couldn't get our keys until 3pm. I asked if we could get our key while we were at the desk if we promised not to use it til 3, since we had already waited in line. The clerk said no, that's against the rules and we must line up again at 3. Sure enough, when 3pm rolled around the line was out the door and we had to wait in line for another 20 minutes to pick up our key. We had requested a high floor, but were placed on the 5th floor. When i asked about our high floor request, the clerk said anything beyond the 5th floor was beyond our room tier, which we knew wasn't true because we were there with a group of 15 friends, and almost all of them were on higher floors than we were
- On our second day, our room flooded. The toilet overflowed, and wouldn't stop running. It flooded the bathroom, then the hallway and then seeped into the bedroom. The staff reacted very slowly. We didn't receive any apologies or any attempts to make up for this horrible experience. We were transferred to another room immediately because of the health hazard, though! (I'd like to point out that we hadn't flushed anything except toilet paper, so this definitely wasn't our fault)
- In our new room, the carpet was soaked the entire time we were there. We couldn't wear socks in our own room. This was because a vent on the ceiling was leaking (see photo attached)
- The new room also had a lot more mold, likely due to the leak (see photo)
- The new room also had HUNDREDS of ants parading across the wall each day. (see photo). That was quite the surprise to see hundreds of ants crawling across our wall at eye level, from the far wall all the way across the minibar and into the closet
- On the Monday night, a pop exploded in the fridge. We hadn't adjusted the temperature, so one of the staff must have set it too cold. The exploded pop remnants were never cleaned (we left on Friday, so housekeeping simply ignored it for at least 4 days. We know they saw the mess because our fridge was restocked once (it was supposed to be stocked every day, but that's another story!)
- Housekeeping was very random. We rarely got enough towels, and one day they didn't restock the toilet paper - we had to go ask for toilet paper!
- Even though the mini bar was supposed to be restocked every day, it was only restocked once during the week we were there. We had to call up to ask for bottles of water, since the mini bar was the only way we could get bottles (at the bars they refuse to give bottles - they just give you cups). One day we called and asked for 3 bottles of water. 35 minutes later, an employee arrived with 1 bottle. I asked if it was possible to get the other 2 we requested, and tipped him $2 in hopes that would help. He said "what do you need more water for?" and then said "we'll see." He never returned. Another day around 5pm we called down to ask for more water, and the employee who answered said that service was "closed." (it's supposed to be available 24/7)
- The beach the Riu is on is very nice, but it's over-run by pushy vendors. The Riu does nothing to shoo them away, like other resorts do. One day we walked down the Riu steps onto the beach and had to face at least 10 vendors yelling at us to buy things from them. It was really intimidating. Another day a vendor dropped his garbage at the foot of my beach chair. The jet ski vendors ride their jet skis constantly and very close to shore, which seems hazardous for swimmers. It's also very noisy and annoying
- One morning at the buffet I tried to pour myself some coffee. An employee shooed me away from the coffee, and said only employees may touch the coffee. I asked how i could get coffee, since nobody had been around to offer coffee (I had been there about 30 min at that point). He said he would bring me some. 20 minutes later, still no coffee. I just made some in my room
- The Riu also screwed up our friends' reservations, too - they had paid a premium for a triple room, but were told no such room was available. They wound up in a room with 2 double beds and a cot - and weren't offered any money back! Another friend was given a key to his room, and when he entered it he was quite surprised to see two of our other (female) friends already in the room! They had given him keys to a room that was already occupied! When he went back to the desk to get everything sorted out, instead of apologizing the clerk asked him how well he knew the girls!!!!! What a ridiculous question! He had paid a premium to have his own room. Eventually his room was sorted out. The staff didn't grasp the safety implications of giving a man a room to a room occupied by two girls (the girls went down to express their concerns about the incident. After all, what if it had been a stranger who walked in while they were changing/ sleeping/ in the shower/ etc)
- Some other friends discovered a cockroach on their bathroom floor one morning.

Overall, we had fun because we were there with a lot of our friends. But the hotel was beyond terrible. The staff obviously don't care about anything. If anyone expressed any concerns at any point, the staff would just roll their eyes. I'll never stay at a Riu again.

Room Tip: Ask for an even-numbered room - these have nicer views. Or, better yet - stay at a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Travel_Tips_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    1,656
    902
    521
    425
See reviews for
932
1,944
87
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,072)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

My sister and I went to the Riu on Paradise Island and at first sight it was beautiful. We loved all the staff everyday and they were absolutely accommodating. The food everyday was delicious and the themed dinners each dinner kept eating at the hotel interesting.
We stayed for 6 nights and we had to consistently call the front desk to get more towels from house keeping. They would take the 2 towels we had and leave none, and for the 2 of us it was upsetting to constantly have to ask for towels to shower. Getting past that the view was nice enough; however, we requested a high ocean view floor and received floor three with a partial view.
I was somewhat disappointed with the pool area and the beach area at the hotel, and here is why. The pool area is small with limited amounts of chairs. Get up early if you want a beach chair for the pool side or the beach. The bartenders at the pool were very accommodating and made great drinks. The beach was small and VERY crowded by the cruise ship visitors, and many Jet Ski Owners pulling up there rigs right on the beach too close for comfort. Loud, annoying, and no respect.
I loved the fact that the Riu was close to downtown Nassau and easily accessible. Also, I loved the proximitly to the Atlantis hotel. We visited Atlantis Aquaventure for a day and it was great; but, Riu should offer a discounted package especially for being so close.
Lastly, for college students my age there was minimal (and I mean very minimal) activities at night to do. Unless you want to go to downtown or to Atlantis at night there wasn't much else to do.
Overall, I enjoyed my visit and would visit another Riu again but for my age this hotel is more suited for couples or older guests.

Room Tip: Do not request a floor. Especially don't request a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were at the RIU Palace for 3 nights. It is our first time at a RIU hotel. It was quite nice. People are very friendly. Drinks are plentiful. You can walk along the beach...the sand is very nice to walk on. The water is very deep and cool in March. We had a room on the 12th floor facing the ocean. It was breath taking. The room is small, but you spend all your time at the beach except to sleep! You have to line up at 8 am to 9 am to get reservations for dinner at their a-la-carte restaurants. The food at Sir Alexander restaurant is very good. The service was excellent!! The RIU staffs work very hard to make sure you are happy and return again! There are a lot of stores at the Atlantis next door. You can buy everything there at a reasonable price, but food is very expensive at Atlantis. There is a casino and a game place at Atlantis. You will have a great time!! You will not be disappointed at the RIU....

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean view room on the higher level....the 1221 is right in the front of the building. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toby1Tor-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reinbeck, IA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was our first time to an all inclusive and our first time to the Bahamas, and after booking was a little nervous from the bad reviews we read. We were extremely pleased with our whole stay. We arrived on Sat. Feb.25th and departed on Sat. March 3rd and we had a great time. The hotel was very clean and well kept. I am very picky on cleanliness, and can stay in an older place, but not a dirty place, and I never saw a mess anywhere except maybe on the beach or pool area where the slobby guests left their garbage and couldn't pick up after themselves. In the pool area, it wouldn't stay there very long as people came by while we were sitting there and if our drink glass was empty they would pick it up, so we were very impressed with how well they maintained the property. We were in 630, and our room was excellent. We had a king bed, and the maid did an awesome job of keeping the room clean. The food was awesome. Again, we are picky and plain eaters, but never went hungry as the buffet had great food to choose from each time we ate there. We ate at the steak house 2 nights and it was great. Alexander's one night and the food was very good, a little fancy for our tastes, but what we had was very good. Krystl's (spelling) one night and I had the sea bass, and again the food was very tasty. The chocolate dessert was to die for.
We took the water taxi into Nassau one day, and that was enough for me. Went snorkeling one afternoon, and to Atlantis after doing the timeshare presentation for a day since we could both get in for the $120.00 price of one because of the free ticket from the timeshare presentation. Otherwise we were happy to just be at the Riu, poolside relaxing in the sun and drinking their drinks. The Costa Caribe was a great drink, very smooth and just slid down.
We would recommend this place, can't compare it to any other Riu properties since this was our first time at an all inclusive, but we definitely would go to this place again!

Room Tip: We booked the superior junior suite and upon checkin asked for the highest floor available and when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LockhartsReinbeck_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limburg,
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We have been in many Riu Palace hotels in the Caribbean area, but this one offers the poorest quality. We knew the hotel was smaller as the average Palaces, but this does not have to mean that the rooms are smaller as well, which was definitely the case. We did not get the separate sitting area we normally have. Food was not up to the Riu standards we are used to. Being a Commonwealth area, we hoped for a bit less " all American " food, but especially at lunch time this was absolutely not the case. The theme restaurants next to the buffet restaurant were OK though, but you will have to make a reservation 2 days in advance.
Conclusion : good hotel, but it does not fit in the Palace category. It's overrated by Riu.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradise Island
0.6 km away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#4 of 14 in Paradise Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
0.3 km away
The Reef Atlantis, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
7.8 km away
Breezes Resort & Spa Bahamas
9.5 km away
Sandals Royal Bahamian Spa Resort & Offshore Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island
Address: Casino Drive Paradise Island | Paradise Island - Bahamas, 6307, New Providence Island
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Paradise Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paradise Island
#8 Spa Hotel in Paradise Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paradise Island
Price range (per night): $438 - $1,378
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Paradise Island (the Bahamas), 3 km/1.8 Miles from Nassau * 100 m/328 ft from "Atlantis", the largest casino in the Caribbean * 14-story building * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3 km/1.8 Miles to downtown Nassau * 200 m/656 ft from various shops * 25 km/15.5 Miles from the airport * 200 m/656 ft from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Wotif.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Paradise Island Hotel Paradise Island
Riu Hotel Paradise Island
Paradise Island Sheraton
Paradise Island Riu Hotel
Riu Paradise Island Bahamas
Hotel Riu Palace Paradise Island Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing