We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First reluctant review...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Compass Point Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Nassau
New York
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“First reluctant review...”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Part of me wants to tell you Compass Point is nothing special, and that you should book some mega-hotel like the Sheraton or Breezes on your Bahamas trip. But that is only because I want Compass Point to remain as quiet and wonderful as it is.

This place is nothing short of perfect. Went with daughters aged 7 and 9, and worried that this might be too slow-paced for them to stay entertained, but that was absolutely not the case. Because there aren't a lot of people, all sorts of interesting shells kept washing up, and the beach and hot tub were right outside our window. My husband and I could read with an eye on them and it was perfect for all.

All night, we listened to the waves on the shore. Our two bedroom elevated hut had an outdoor shower and the doors to the balcony opened up to a full view of the crystal blue waters. The sound system is amazing, apparently there is a musical past, so bring CDs or an iPod and enjoy that aspect of the rooms, which also have great AC systems.

The restaurant is very good. It is the only one close, so there isn't a ton of variety which some might see as a drawback. We loved the lobster and the lamb. There are places in town and Leo is happy to arrange transport. We took the bus, which was reliable and a good mini tour of the road to Nassau (passed a Subway, Starbucks and Wendy's at Cable Beach.) It makes sense to spend part of your first day picking up some groceries for snacks and lunches.

We split our time between Compass Point (for the adults) and Atlantis (for the kids). But we weren't at Compass Point long enough. Even one of the kids agreed that Compass Point was by far better, despite a distinct lack of water slides. I woke up in our room the first morning in Atlantis and it could have been Delaware, Pittsburgh -- anywhere. Compass Point is completely unique and wonderful.

So please, don't go there!

Room Tip: The only 2 bedrooms are 106 and 109, and 106 has a far better view. If you want an elevated hut, 115...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank TravelingJane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    138
    46
    27
    19
See reviews for
92
298
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Great food and service and the best drinks. We will return every year!!

Room Tip: Ask for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjinspirations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed here, with my boyfriend, for 4 fantastic nights in Feb 2012. We chose Compass Point following on from fellow trip advisor reviews and it certainly did not disappoint!

Our trip to the Bahamas followed on from days in Orlando and it was close. Our main aim was somewhere to completely relax and unwind, away from the main stream tourist spots and to soak up the sun in a small boutique resort.

We got this and more here. The restaurant was fantastic with the staff being very attentive, but not in your face. We had Winzel who was great value and decided he knew what we would order before we did (he wrote it down before we ordered and then compared).

One afternoon we ventured into town, to be overcome by tourists arriving from the big cruise ships (that you can see arriving during breakfast on the waterfront balcony, and departing at dinner that night). It was so nice to retreat back to our resort after an afternoon of madness.

We stayed in a studio hut that overlooked the dock. Our hut had a fridge, microwave and small toaster in it which was great to store some supplies such as cold water, beer and a few things to eat. The restaurant is probably on the more expensive side, but it is worth it and you wont be disappointed (and it is still cheaper than eating in Melbourne!).

There were lots of couples here, some with well behaved children and most people kept to themselves. So if you are looking for a place to meet people, this is probably not it.

I'm not sure which one is the pick of the huts to stay in, all had great views and offered different things. We were more than happy with ours and are trying to decide which one to stay in next time.

Overall, this place was amazing and was just what we were looking for, 4 nights of pure relaxation! I had a hot stone massage for 80 minutes one afternoon and was completely blissed out!

Highly reccommended!

One final note, this resort is close to the airport and is over the flight path to landing, although the planes do stop around 10pm. There was also some road noise as our hut backed onto a relatively busy road but that also died down later at night.

Room Tip: Any room would be fantastic! It all depends what you are looking for and what your budget is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smally82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark DE
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

First off I want to state that I have not been to Compass Point for ten years. My wife and I spent a long weekend there back in the day. Each year we picked a place in the Caribbean to vacation and after a while we found that visiting the properties owned by Island Outpost, we were pretty much guaranteed a good time. Not cheap mind you, but you get what you pay for. The Caves in Jamaica for instance. Super cool but not for the budget minded.

Compass Point was great. Good food, great beach, loved it…The only thing I would caution vacationers on is that if you do want to go somewhere else (especially after a few days of the same thing), you are going to pay for it. Cab rides to town cost $35 one way. There are no local markets to get sodas and drinks.

I would suggest on your ride from the airport, having your cab driver go to a store and load up on the essentials. Beer, snacks, whatever. Using the bar or in room fridge could set you back a few hundred versus whatever you spend at the store. Sit on your porch and take in the view with a cold Kalik (the local beer).

One other tip is taking the local bus into town. As I remember it runs once an hour and you can catch it right across the street from the hotel. Cost was $1.00 one way…getting back was another thing as it was late and the busses stopped running. Lucky for us we won some $$$ at the Atlantis and could afford the cab ride.

Apparently the property is not managed by Island Outpost anymore and from what I have read, the place is not quite as polished as it was when they were in charge. Most reviewers still give it thumbs up which is good as the place is unique with the huts on the water and everything. I never did run into Sean Connery though I was told he stopped by for a drink from time to time!!

Room Tip: Get a room that is either elevated or by itself on the water. Worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hutch20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here with my wife 11-18 Feb 2012. We are from the UK and wanted some winter sunshine in a first world country with direct flights from the UK; New Providence island fitted the bill. We chose Compass Point as it's small and slightly quirky, and well away from the mega-hotels and mega-cruise ships of Paradise Island and Nassau. Overall we were pleased with our holiday.

The beach adjacent to the hotel is quiet and good for swimming. The food in the restaurant is good quality and well prepared - but the portions are rather large and correspondingly expensive. The staff are generally very friendly and helpful, but with the odd exception. The rooms are fine except on a few days of the year - some of which we experienced - when their essentially 'open to the elements' construction means they can be a little chilly especially in the evening / night. The restaurant is next to the bar which can be noisy at times.

If you just want to chill out and make the odd trip into Nassau then the location is ideal and local buses will be your best bet for transport as the are so cheap. If you want to see any more of the island then having your own transport is an advantage.

If you can get into Nassau when it's not full of cruise boats then the experience will be more pleasant. There isn't that much in the way of scenery on the island apart from the beaches; by far the best old fort you can visit is Fort Charlotte. The Bahamas National Trust properties are worth a visit if you like the natural world.

We took a day trip to Harbour Island on the Bahamas Ferries fast catamaran and that was a really good day out which gives a perspective of the geography and quiet pace of life of some of the out islands. You don't need to book their tour just take the return ferry trip. You don't need a golf cart either unless you have walking difficulties.

There are lots of activities invloving under-sea things but we have already been to many tropical destinations and experienced these so didn't pursue any this time.

Goodfellows Farm was a nice place for lunch out in the country about 5 miles from the resort.

Room Tip: Get a sea view hut. If you want to bbq your own food and / or party outside then get an elevated one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur_Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nassau
16.5 km away
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
Comfort Suites Paradise Island
#5 of 14 in Paradise Island
2,605 reviews
17.1 km away
Atlantis, Royal Towers, Autograph Collection
8.2 km away
Melia Nassau Beach - All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
British Colonial Hilton Nassau
5.2 km away
Sandyport Beach Resort
Sandyport Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Nassau
764 reviews
8.3 km away
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
Grand Hyatt Baha Mar
#2 of 37 in Nassau
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compass Point Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compass Point Beach Resort

Property: Compass Point Beach Resort
Address: West Bay Street, Nassau, New Providence Island
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > New Providence Island > Nassau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nassau
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nassau
Price range (per night): $378 - $514
Hotel Class:4 star — Compass Point Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compass Point is a 1.5 acre celebration of bold imagination. Its 18 huts, made up of two-story cottages and single cabanas, glow with vivid Junkanoo colors. It is the perfect choice for guests who value simplicity, comfort, creativty and romance. Its restarunt is one of the few in Nassau where you can dine overlooking the ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Compass Point Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Compass Point Beach Hotel Nassau
Compass Point Beach Nassau
Compass Point Beach Resort Nassau, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing