We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean great view”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Oceanfront Villa, Main Entrance
Oceanfront Villa from private cul-de-sac
Oceanfront Villa from Ocean
Master bed room with balcony, 2nd floor
Master bed room with balcony
Master bed room with open French Doors to balcony overlooking the ocean
view from Master bed room balcony to Atholl Island
view from Master bed room balcony down on beach area and breakwater
Master suite bathroom: seperate shower and seperate toilette, 2 wash basins
view through window Bed room # 2
closet Bed room # 2
closet Bed room # 3
Bath room for Bed room # 2 + 3
Stairs
washer and dryer
kitchen
kitchen towards porch - ocean
from kitchencounter to porch
view from living-dining-kitchen
sunrise view from porch
porch
stairs to the ocean and garden
chilling out under Palm trees
Beach area with Deck and Breakwater
View from Deck
Prince Charles Dr beach, 2 min walk from Villa
Prince Charles Dr Beach
The Oceanfront Villa in \'green\' before \'yellow\'
Villa from oceanside
early morning
morning sun
meditating?
Back Porch
Villa from Ocean side
Moon Rise @ Villa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nassau, New Providence Island, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
VnillaP
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean great view”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of about 18, the villa was very clean, the view excellent. Nice quite place to relax. We were luck enough to be there for the fool moon. So we had beautiful sunrises and beautiful night sky.
We scored the master bedroom and i can't begin to explain how great it was waking up to the sunrise every morning. I did not sleep in at all because I wanted to take it all in.
The area lost power once. I would definitely say that you need transportation.
Just an FYI, unless you are a speed walker the walk to the grocery is not 15 minutes. it's more like 30 but it's a nice walk.
The beach outside the villa sis rocky but we were in every day. there is another beach about a 5 minute walk from the villa that is much more sandy and of course relaxing with a beautiful view.
I would definitly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Rental for Groups!”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this rental for a group of seven who visited Nassau for my husband's 30th birthday. I was told that navigating the island to the villa could be a bit difficult, but we managed to get there in our rental pretty easily by using Denise's directions (Who was wonderful to work with, by the way!). The villa was beautiful and had more than enough room for the 7 of us. We used the kitchen to cook breakfast and it had everything we needed. The dining table was wonderful to have as we used it every day. I can't say enough about the views of the ocean from the villa. They were absolutely stunning all day but especially at sunrise.

The villa was about 15 minutes into town. We mostly drove ourselves around the island but one night, we called Mr. Hilton and he was available right away. He took us to a restaurant in town for dinner, then was right on time to take us to the casinos at the Atlantis, and he again was on time to take us back to the villa. He was the most wonderful cab driver and our only regret was renting a car instead of using Mr. Hilton's services during the time we were there.

The only reasons why I did not give it 5 stars are because the bath towels could be swapped out for newer ones and some of our guests had complaints about the lack of hot water for showers. I think that these are just minor issues though, and we will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darcia M
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Relaxing stay at the beach...”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Shangri La, is a beautiful beach home in New Providence, Bahamas. The house is complete with all the necessary amenities. The patio and pool are wonderful. The beach is just steps away. It accommodated our large family very well. I would absolutely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The busy street infront of house.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSnipes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good accommodation in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I with our 1-year old daughter and a friend stayed here for 2 nights. What a beautiful spot, overlooking the ocean. It was really nice and we felt safe. The food store was just up the street and Denise even stopped by to make we were settled in. Our only small concern was the wifi which seemed not to work at first. Even after Denise actively tried to resolve it, the connection would drop. Seemed to be an issue with the ISP. Anyhow, my advice would be to forget about the internet, go out and try a thigh snack from the Bamboo Shack about 5 mins away and wash it down with a Goombay punch! We will be back to visit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin...
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots to like but a few warnings”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We -- extended family group of 8 adults and a toddler, ranging in age from 1 to 75 -- largely enjoyed our stay in the villa. Denise was helpful making advance arrangements including procuring the necessary equipment for our toddler, and Dee was reasonably attentive on site. The villa is spacious and well laid out. There is plenty of gathering space in the living/dining area and on the spacious back porch. Bedrooms offered plenty of privacy and a quiet place for baby naps.

We had some communication problems getting in touch with Mr. Darling but eventually hooked up with him and he was most accommodating for our transportation needs. Another taxi driver, Clint (don't remember his last name, sorry -- left his card at the house) lives in the area and knows how to find the villa, which is very important. (Some of our group went diving and picked up a random cab for the ride back -- driver did not know where the villa was, they had not brought the directions with them, and it took two hours to get back. That's not an exaggeration.) We did not realize -- and wish we had known in advance -- that the villa is quite a distance outside the city -- 30 minutes or so, a $30 to $40 cab ride each way -- so if you are planning on eating out or doing much sight-seeing you really need a car.

Because of the toddler we stayed close to home base, and hired Chef Perry Sweeting (on Denise's recommendation) to cater. He arrived each morning around 8:00, made coffee and put out fruit and pastries, prepared a substantial brunch at midday and fabulous dinners each evening. We asked for a Bahamian meal and his grouper, peas 'n rice, slaw, and plantains compared very favorably to the best Bahamian restaurant my husband and I sampled after the rest of the family left. All of his meals were excellent, but in addition to the Bahamian meal his barbecue, with chicken and shrimp in his fabulous marinade, was really special. He also makes a Bahama Mama that is far superior to any others we tried during our stay. He did special food prep for the toddler, was alert to food allergy issues, and accommodated picky eaters. He cleaned everything up after we ate and never left the house before 9:00 p.m. -- and once he stayed until around 11:00. When his cooking obligations did not demand his full attention, he was willing to help drive us around and he even took us to the local market. This location would not have worked well for us without Chef Perry, and we highly recommend him. His prices are very reasonable; we would have spent much more had we eaten out, and the location of the villa makes the logistics of frequent restaurant meals very difficult.

A couple of other problems: termites in the bathrooms and kitchen, ugh. And we had no electricity the first night and during part of the next day -- meaning that AC and fans did not work, toilets did not flush, and some of the food in the newly stocked refrigerator had to be thrown out. Apparently electrical outages are not uncommon and most rental properties have back-up generators, but this one does not. Finally, and frustratingly, internet access seems to be an extension of the cottage internet and works only sporadically, with no access at all in many parts of the house. We spent a lot of time in the front yard trying to get on line.

There really isn't much of a beach, though the property is waterfront. It's very rocky. We had read reviews and brought water shoes, so we were able to enjoy the ocean right outside. The little beach 3-4 houses away is much better, though still rocky. On the up side, the water was delightfully warm and the waves were gentle. But good sand beaches are, again, an expensive cab ride away.

Bottom line: after the electricity came back on, we were reasonably comfortable and happy in the villa, which is well suited to extended family gatherings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of the villa
Liked least: Electricity outages -- internet problems -- termites
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing