We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic house with a gorgeous view”
other travellers have booked this property
'Back yard' from the bottom of our path
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Back yard' from the bottom of our path
Welcome! Mampoo Hill entrance sculpture by famous LA artist, Woods Davy.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
'Back yard' from the bottom of our path
Welcome!
Mampoo Hill entrance sculpture by famous LA artist, Woods Davy.
Living Room
Daytime view from the living room of the ocean and palm trees
Back of Mampoo Hill
Upper deck view
Rainbow at Mampoo Hill
Dining at Mampoo Hill with the best view on island
4 poster master bed overlooking the ocean
Two kitchen sinks and dishwasher
Kitchen stove with service yard in the background
Guest bathroom sink
Guest bathroom shower
Very private jacuzzi overlooking the beach
View from Jacuzzi spa
Sunset from Lower Deck
Evening on the Lower Deck
Ceiling fans throughout (with AC in bedrooms)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marybruzz...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“fantastic house with a gorgeous view”
Reviewed 9 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

The house was absolutely amazing. The open-air porch is heavenly - it's surrounded by palm trees and looks right out at the water, which was especially beautiful at sunset. The bedrooms/bathrooms were clean and comfortable, but none of us ever wanted to leave the porch. The house is pretty isolated - there are neighbors, but with all the trees around, you really do feel like you've got the area all to yourself.

There are iguanas and lots of birds and little lizards living in the trees around the house, and we really enjoyed watching them. The beach that the house sits on was really nice to walk on, especially in the morning and at sunset - the sun sets right over the water. We also were able to snorkel off the beach and we actually saw quite a lot of fish and coral out there.

The proximity to Cruz Bay was nice - only about a 10/15 minute drive. And once we got used to the roads, we never got lost or had issues trying to find the house.

I would definitely recommend staying here!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: right on the water; great porch
Liked least: there were some mosquitos and gnats that came out in the early morning and evening out on the porch - but they actually never got that bad, and that's to be expected when you're sitting outside.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parkraus
Phillips, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This was the highlight of my trip to St. John”
Reviewed 10 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I completely fell in love with Mampoo Hill Beach House. That view! The sun, the water, the birds, the beach, the palm trees, the friendly iguanas, the marvelous beds....it is a glorious place. One week later I've begun to wonder if it was maybe it was just a dream. Of all the amazing things we saw and did in St. John, the memories of the Beach House are among the best. In the mornings we sipped our coffee on the deck, watch the sweet little bananaquit birds, and made tropical fruit smoothies. After our daily outing (snokeling, sailing, hiking) we'd return "home" , grab a rum drink and hit the hottub to watch the sunset. After a long leisurely dinner on the deck, we'd listen to Bob Marley, and have cribbage tournaments. We did some snokeling in front of the house (Devers Bay), but by mid morning it was too windy. My husband did have a very cool encounter with a large spotted eagle ray there.

Our two boys (16 and 12) loved every minute there...and they never turned the TV on once!

The house managers were extremely kind and friendly. The house is very nicely equipped (although I was surprised not to see shampoo and soap in the bathrooms). The bugs were only annoying at dawn and dusk, so I recommend long sleeved hoodies for those times.

Note to drivers: roads are not for the faint of heart. Be sure you are prepared for narrow, very steep roads...while driving on the left. My heart was in my throat everytime we got in a car!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus OH
Reviewed 2 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bthomas15
St Charles, MO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just fabulous!!”
Reviewed 24 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We love, love, love this house! There were 4 of us, and I'm glad we rented the Jeep. September is always a dodgy time in the Caribbean but once again, we were lucky.

Throughout our time there, I kept thinking - 'It doesn't get any better than this!'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything!!
Liked least: the bugs. but we knew that ahead of time
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Reviewed 26 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing