We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Grande Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grande Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2010

I discovered Grande Bay on Tripadvisor and searched VRBO for availability. I found a great condo for my December vacation.
The location was perfect for being able to walk right into town and not have to deal with the limited parking situation in the tiny town of Cruz Bay. It's a 5 min walk, if that, from the ferry dock. I rented a jeep through St. John Car Rental, which was essentially a walk around the corner. You can pick up either main road to head to either the north shore or the south shore beaches very easily. I explored the island during the day, and just parked the jeep at night to enjoy the restaurants in town. Very convenient.
Grandy Bay is located on one end of Cruz Bay and it was perhaps a less then 10 min walk to the other side of town, where the USVI National Park building is located and where you can begin the hike to both Solomon and Honeymoon beaches (about a 20-30 min hike). Guard yourself from the sand fleas and mosquitos with some sort of repellant, as they are plentiful.
The condo itself had a view of the beautiful water and the boats moored near the dock. Having a washer/dryer in the unit was great, as was having backpack beach chairs and beach towels for my use. Enjoyed the ceiling fans as well as the ac. Bed was comfortable, water pressure was good and kitchen was fully stocked with all glasses, utensils, etc., as well as spices if you cook and rum if you drink! All gratis.
The pool was heated though could have been a tad warmer and the jacuzzi broke down during my stay, though the maintenance staff was aware and dealing with the situation. Same with the two treadmills in the gym, which were being fixed my last day. There was a pilates reformer in the gym which was a nice bonus.
Staff was friendly and helpful, and neighbors were rarely seen or heard, which was great for "getting away".

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lite29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 283 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2010

This was our second trip to St John and on both occaisions we stayed at Grande Bay in units we found on vrbo. Grande Bay is within walking distance to every restaurant, grocery store and shop in Cruz Bay. The units have all the comforts of home, full kitchen and kitchen wares, comfortable beds, large balconies, free wifi and the fitness center make this an ideal location for us. The units are new, well furnished, very clean, comfortable and quiet. We will be back.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 5on7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We rented from owner on VRBO. Beautiful penthouse, 1 bedroom,1 bath, full kitchen, washer/dryer, beach chairs towels and cooler, 3 separate balconies. Underground secured parking, pool, hot tub. Had a great stay here. Three minute walk to shops and restaurants. Great fully stocked kitchen. Elevator was out of order when we first arrived, but was fixed three days later, fast for island. Always someone from Grande Bay walking the property keeping an eye on things. Garage is a huge plus. Has a garage door with an remote for your vehicle. Could leave the roof down on the jeep. No downtown parking worries. Had a great time exploring from here to all the island has to offer and then return for a dip in the pool and sunset drinks on the balcony. Highly recommended. Will return to Grande Bay when returning to St. John.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lullman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We recently stayed at Egrets Rest in Grande Bay from Aug. 28 - Sept. 4, 2010. We absolutely loved this condo. We rented through VRBO (Listing #268587) and the owners were really wonderful to deal with. They provided a lot of very helpful information before we left for our trip. All the information on the VRBO listing is completely factual and gives a great description.

The condo was very large for a one bedroom unit, and we had plenty of space for my husband, myself, and our 11 year old twin boys. Everything we needed was right there. The kitchen was beautiful with everything we needed to prepare meals. The bathroom was very large for a one bedroom unit also. The granite countertops in the kitchen and bath gave a real feel of luxury. The pull out sofa-bed was just fine for the kids, and they slept very comfortably there. There was also a small dresser in the living room which allowed the kids to unpack their suitcases and put everything away. The condo has a fabulous view of Cruz Bay, and is just a short walk to the pool and workout room. The balcony is just spectacular with lots of seating room and a table for enjoying meals outside. The condo is on the third floor, which offered great views. Another advantage of this unit is being able to enter the building at street level, no need to climb up the hill to the other buildings in Grande Bay. The owners also provided beach towels, beach chairs and coolers which were much appreciated when we went to the beach. Having a parking spot in the garage was invaluable since parking is at such a premium in Cruz Bay.

We stayed here during Hurricane Earl and had a birds eye view of the waves crashing into the beach below us. But we never once felt in danger as the building seems to be very solid. Once inside with the doors closed, you could barely hear the wind from the category 3 hurricane raging outside. The Grande Bay Management (Paul Helson and his staff) was absolutely wonderful to us during the storm, making sure we had everything we needed including an invitation for a hot meal when we lost power. I can not say enough good things about how great Paul and his staff are. The owners also contacted us several times during the storm to make sure we were safe and had everything we needed.

Grande Bay has the perfect location and I can't imagine staying anywhere else. It's just a 2 minute walk to Cruz Bay and all the restaurants and shops, and yet it is also very quiet and peaceful. It's proximity to the North Shore beaches is perfect for us. I'm afraid to say too many good things about Egrets Rest for fear it will be completely booked the next time we want to stay there! You will feel like you've just made new friends after dealing with the owners. And we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NeedATripSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We had an absolutely terrific stay at Grande Bay during the first week of July (Carnival). We are two couples in our fifties traveling together and we rented (directly from the owner on vrbo.com) one of the two bedrooms (they call them "lockouts"). The two bedroom is really more like a one bedroom and a studio apartment put together so it's quite large and had the advantage for us of giving each couple more privacy, as the other couple who stayed on the studio side had their own sitting/living room area as well. The apartment had spectacular views and was very well appointed. The pool was great with sundeck overlooking the sea. And even though we are not Pilates fans like the reviewer above, the gyy was really nice to have and we used it most days.

Our owner had given us lots of tips for our first time visit to St John and they were incredibly helpful. We did rent a car (there is a parking garage underneath the building) and we went exploring all over the island. I think our favorite beach was Oppenheimer, though we tried them all and enjoyed each and every one. And it was great to be able to walk to dinner and music/bars at night.

All told a great vacation and a great place to stay; we are already planning our return. Many of the owners seem to know each other and work together, and we would certainly recommend renting directly from them.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank kmj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
6 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.4 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
85 reviews
1.8 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
17.6 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $591 - $591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing