We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
239
51
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
239
51
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in town time share st john washer dryer perfect location parking spot beach chairs weight in gold pool and hot tub full kitchen watch the ferries bedroom condo rental vehicle within walking distance third floor bars and restaurants taxi stand
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017

This was third trip to St John. Always felt safe and relaxed on this friendly island. First stayed at Grande Bay in 2012 and then in 2014 stayed in private villa at Chocolate Hole. Both were great. This time with baby decided to stay close to town because we planned on being on boat quite a bit and no driving. Thought Grande Bay was best choice. Not so. Noticed things are getting lax, no security guards, no cameras in front of Main Street. Our condo was robbed (found out later 4 condos were hit.). Went for ice cream and watched the clerk get robbed. Many poor vagrants wondering around. Never remembered seeing this before. No real police presence. Never saw a cop near the busy areas. I think a wonderful place is going down hill fast.

The condo itself was quite nice, clean and well furnished. We had building 1 Room 1101 Boating - our captains were fantastic. They took great care of us. Boat was Catzilla! Captains are Joe, Katie and Ryan. Fabulous. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher is better!
Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank 974nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We stayed in VRBO #288205, the studio, for 5 nights and booked directly through the owner. We loved everything about this place! The management greeted us right at the dock and they were extremely helpful in answering any questions. The pool was never too crowded and very relaxing after a day at the beach. The unit itself was perfect for the 2 of us! It had a little kitchenette with a small fridge and toaster oven, a grill, toiletries, coffee filters, comfy bed, and amazing balcony views! (highly recommend booking on one of the upper levels for optimum views). We loved being able to walk around town and hit happy hours, and we also only rented a jeep for 1 day, so it was convenient to the taxis.

Only minor complaint, and this has nothing to do with the condo or the owner, but management had our screen door wide open upon arrival, which I am sure is for effect so we could see the view upon entering. Well, we had about 10-15 mosquito friends living with us for a few days. But everyone should come prepared to St. John with DEET anyway, which we had, but we still got eaten up at night. Tip to management - keep screens closed pleased lol!

We will absolutely stay here again, and I would recommend this unit and the owner Tom to anyone! He was very pleasant to work with and was quick in responding to all emails.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mushroom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

This was our seventh trip to SJ, but our first time in 20+ years that we stayed in Cruz Bay. We chose Grand Bay to try the condo lifestyle and to stay at the heart of a much changed Cruz Bay. We also rented this property from an owner, not the resort itself. It was off to a great start when we were given a key to the wrong room! We lugged our luggage quite a way, only to open the door to a very surprised resident. Then it was back down to the lobby for a correction that was readily made, after a phone call, and the condo owner being made aware that the wrong condo was reserved for us.

The entry to the units was a little strange for us. You enter the elevator bays from the parking garages. The pool was big enough, but very warm and non-refreshing. But with lots of sitting space and some shade.

The two things this property really has going for it are its central location and its air conditioning.

The unit we got was the one bedroom non-studio. It had a good view and a small patio. We had a full kitchen, which we didn't use after spending a week on the East End in a house where we used the kitchen A LOT. The bedroom was big and everything was well appointed. It had a washer and dryer which we happily took full advantage of.

The furniture was well worn, slightly mis-matched, and not super comfortable, but adequate. Strangely enough there was no light in the walled shower. There is currently quite a bit of construction going on behind the property and had its loud moments. Not at the fault of the property, there are resident roosters in the surrounding foliage that really like to listen to themselves at very early hours! It became humorous in a delirious way.

Overall, this property is great location and very cool after a hot day. But not really for us and our vacation style.

Room Tip: no suggestions for a good room
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cristip_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We stayed at Grande Bay Resort in a Studio 5-302s from May 20-27. The view of Cruz Bay from our balcony was amazing. We booked through the owner of the property on VacationRentals.com. The room was exactly as described. We had beach chairs, cooler, and 5 beach towels to use. The unit also had a washer and dryer and included detergent, plenty of towels, dishes, etc. The property was on the 3rd floor of the back building. We also went down for free coffee and had the front desk staff fill our cooler with ice each morning before we left for the beach. We just walked to the taxi stands, since it was less than a 5 minute walk each morning. We did not choose to rent a car, because it was cheaper to take the taxis to and from the beaches each day since we were close walking distance to the taxi stand. The resort is close to everything in Cruz Bay. If you are just a couple, I would highly recommend just using the taxi's instead of renting a jeep and worrying about parking and driving each day. We only used the pool and hot tub one evening but they were very clean. We would highly recommend staying at Grande Bay Resort if staying on St. John.

Room Tip: Choose the rear unit and upper floor level 3 or 4 for best views of Cruz Bay
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lobaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights in a 3 bedroom condo. Our greeter picked us up for free at the ferry which was a bonus! The hotel is in a perfect location. The pool is really nice, the unit was very clean and beautiful. The front office staff was very friendly. We went to the Free drinks and nobody bugged us about time share at all!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews