We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experiencing Vacation Depression Already!”
Review of Grande Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grande Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We had the best experience at Grande Bay! Our condo was right in town, we only rode a cab once to Cinnamon Bay. Right in the heart of town-within walking distance to all the restaurants! Paul and Dawn were so helpful! Paul gave us great advice on restaurants and Dawn helped us secure a spot on Bad Kitty- trip to BVI's-highly recommend! Condo was clean and spacious with great views! Fitness Center had everything I needed, including coffee to my sleeping husband every morning. Rented a dinghy right outside and took to all the phenomenal beaches. Stopped every day ay the Beachbar for our Bushwacker to end our day. I highly suggest staying here over an overpriced resort- you will really experience St. John! I just got back- and like my title suggests, ready to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Karen S,
We miss you too and don't worry I will make sure the Bushwacker's are "tested" at least once a week until you both return! Thank you for the positive comments and hurry back!
Cheers,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

Perfect Location and All that you need! We rented the 5 Penthouse through VRBO and couldn't be happier. We come back to this location annually bc it is simply the best! It is nestled in Cruz Bay within walking distance of everything. 5PH has all the ammenities and is the loveliest view. They have 3 porches and its perfect for entertaining. There are several trails within walking distance and several lovely beaches within a short walk. With many great restaurants lingering within a quarter mile, you can't go wrong. They have a gym and pool that overlooks Cruz Bay. It has never been too crowded and allows the resort feel...without the resort price tag. ENJOY!

Room Tip: Go to VRBO and click in Grand Bay Resort. Jackie owns 3 condos and she has been the best owner to wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We recently spent a week in a two bedroom unit (1 br + studio) on the first floor at Grande Bay. I specifically wanted a location that was within walking distance of Cruz Bay restaurants so the location was perfect. We rented a car to explore the island by day so it was great that Grande Bay also provided parking. The personnel at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful and provided us with transportation to/from the dock, beach chairs, coolers with ice, and a sunset reservation at Zozo's. The units were clean, modern, and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromAway74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always a pleasure to hear that guests enjoyed the services and associates here at the property. On behalf of your friends here at Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club thank you again and hurry back!
Kind regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Let me start this by saying this property is not for everyone! There has been much ado about this property violating zoning laws and generally being an eyesore on the St John waterfront. Having said this, there are a few other properties that were started and never completed on St John. Sirenusa and Pond Bay among them. At least this one was completed! We have enjoyed our 3 stays here. If you like walking to town convenience and very new facilities, this might very well suit your needs. There is a pool and hot tub, gym and a very helpful concierge desk in the office. We loved the views and the convenience to town which it is just steps away from. They also have a parking garage. All of the units are a litle bit different to suit your needs and number of guests. The kitchens all have new stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. All that we have seen are well appointed. You could definitely go a few days without a rental vehicle easily here. We are "Cruz Bay people" and enjoy not having to drive to town for dinner, shopping or in general "pubbing". If you need more privacy or are "Coral Bay peeps", this is probably not for you :) We will absolutely stay at this property again. We love Jackie Funt's property listed on VRBO.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We rented directly through VRBO for a stay this past week. Loved the interior, at-home amenities, and location. However, be forewarned that there is new construction nextdoor that can impede your view and not look the same as pictures or youtube videos an owner has posted because their pics/videos are outdated. Our unit had a youtube video posted that had a clear, unobstructed view of the ferry dock area, but I will attach a picture of our view when looking towards the ferry dock. Unit was booked about a month prior, and I asked if pictures were accurate because I had read some owners don't show highlines in the lower buildings (this was an upper building we were in). We will rent again at Grande Bay, but closer to the pool area so not hearing construction noise during the day or looking at a wall. (This was our fifth time to visit St John, first time to stay at Grande Bay.)

Room Tip: Look for CURRENT pictures when renting a unit as new construction obstructs views
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Luv_2_Travel_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
6 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.4 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
85 reviews
1.8 km away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
17.6 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Bay Resort

Address: Bay Street | Cruz Bay Quarter, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Price Range: $588 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club is situated hillside overlooking Cruz Bay on St. John in the US Virgin Islands. Set near Wharfside Village, this St. John condominium resort overlooks the emerald and blue waters of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas to the east and the British Virgin Islands to the west. Offering nightly rentals (min. 2 nights) and fractional ownership opportunities in the heart of "Love City". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grande Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Bay Hotel Cruz Bay
Grande Bay Resort St. John/Cruz Bay, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing