We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
238
51
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
238
51
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin towntime sharest johnwasher dryerperfect locationparking spotbeach chairsweight in goldpool and hot tubfull kitchenwatch the ferriesbedroom condorental vehiclewithin walking distancethird floorbars and restaurantstaxi stand
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Perfect Location and All that you need! We rented the 5 Penthouse through VRBO and couldn't be happier. We come back to this location annually bc it is simply the best! It is nestled in Cruz Bay within walking distance of everything. 5PH has all the ammenities and is the loveliest view. They have 3 porches and its perfect for entertaining. There are several trails within walking distance and several lovely beaches within a short walk. With many great restaurants lingering within a quarter mile, you can't go wrong. They have a gym and pool that overlooks Cruz Bay. It has never been too crowded and allows the resort feel...without the resort price tag. ENJOY!

Room Tip: Go to VRBO and click in Grand Bay Resort. Jackie owns 3 condos and she has been the best owner to work with.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We recently spent a week in a two bedroom unit (1 br + studio) on the first floor at Grande Bay. I specifically wanted a location that was within walking distance of Cruz Bay restaurants so the location was perfect. We rented a car to explore the island by day so it was great that Grande Bay also provided parking. The personnel at the reception desk were very friendly and helpful and provided us with transportation to/from the dock, beach chairs, coolers with ice, and a sunset reservation at Zozo's. The units were clean, modern, and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromAway74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMatGBR, General Manager at Grande Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always a pleasure to hear that guests enjoyed the services and associates here at the property. On behalf of your friends here at Grande Bay Resort & Residence Club thank you again and hurry back!
Kind regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Let me start this by saying this property is not for everyone! There has been much ado about this property violating zoning laws and generally being an eyesore on the St John waterfront. Having said this, there are a few other properties that were started and never completed on St John. Sirenusa and Pond Bay among them. At least this one was completed! We have enjoyed our 3 stays here. If you like walking to town convenience and very new facilities, this might very well suit your needs. There is a pool and hot tub, gym and a very helpful concierge desk in the office. We loved the views and the convenience to town which it is just steps away from. They also have a parking garage. All of the units are a litle bit different to suit your needs and number of guests. The kitchens all have new stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. All that we have seen are well appointed. You could definitely go a few days without a rental vehicle easily here. We are "Cruz Bay people" and enjoy not having to drive to town for dinner, shopping or in general "pubbing". If you need more privacy or are "Coral Bay peeps", this is probably not for you :) We will absolutely stay at this property again. We love Jackie Funt's property listed on VRBO.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We rented directly through VRBO for a stay this past week. Loved the interior, at-home amenities, and location. However, be forewarned that there is new construction nextdoor that can impede your view and not look the same as pictures or youtube videos an owner has posted because their pics/videos are outdated. Our unit had a youtube video posted that had a clear, unobstructed view of the ferry dock area, but I will attach a picture of our view when looking towards the ferry dock. Unit was booked about a month prior, and I asked if pictures were accurate because I had read some owners don't show highlines in the lower buildings (this was an upper building we were in). We will rent again at Grande Bay, but closer to the pool area so not hearing construction noise during the day or looking at a wall. (This was our fifth time to visit St John, first time to stay at Grande Bay.)

Room Tip: Look for CURRENT pictures when renting a unit as new construction obstructs views
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Luv_2_Travel_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had a unit on the first floor closest to Cruz Bay. It was so incredibly convenient to walk down one flight of stairs and be at the restaurants, or at the water sports or scuba diving boat. Grounds were very well kept. Units seemed relatively new, so everything was nice quality. Covered parking also a plus. Would definitely come back to the same location next time.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank deezy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews