We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location can't be beat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gallows Point Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This was our second stay at Gallow's Point and it couldn't have been better. The weather was perfect and we had a quiet first floor unit facing the ocean. The property is well cared for and grounds are beautiful. The best part is the location. You can easily walk to town where you can enjoy any number of great restaurants. No frustration with finding a parking spot or driving on narrow twisted streets. The unit had been recently upgraded with new kitchen and bath - however, there was NO way I was cooking with all the great restaurants within walking distance :-) Although there is no beach, the snorkeling off the point was the best we found on the island. This is the perfect "go to" vacation spot!

Room Tip: Choose the ocean side for quiet and serenity, bayside for a view on all the action coming in and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank graymar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 590 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I came together with my best friend and her husband to celebrate my 40 th birthday a few years ago and haven't been able to go anywhere else since. It literally is heaven on earth for us. The short walk to town for dinner is perfect especially if you've had a few of the islands famous 'painkillers' and taking a taxi anywhere on the island is no problem. We couldn't imagine the staff being more friendly or helpful. We plan on going for many years to come.

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank CourtneyJ415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed for five nights in mid-March 2012, this being our 5th stay at Gallows Point. The units are continually upgraded with amenities [kitchens, televisions, etc.]. This is the perfect place to stay for an inviting and non-intrusive setting that's beautifully landscaped with fantastic views out over the water towards the setting sun. Extremely comfortable accommodations with easy access to Cruz Bay [just a few minutes walk to the main town area]. As everyone discovers St. John, the island and the beaches are becoming crowded with "tourists" instead of "travellers." Gallows Point is usually where the more laid-back will stay with the attitude of acting more like a local instead of the gawking and loud tourist. On this trip the front desk atttendant went to the bungalow next door to get them to turn the music down and keep their voices down. They're serious about maintaining the calm ambience. Great location to explore the entire island but make it back in time to make the leisurely stroll into town for dinner.

Room Tip: Get ocean view looking west towards St. Thomas. Can be a bit loud in rooms looking down on Cruz Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davebob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Gallows Point Resort from March 26-30. We were so excited to get away from the states and have a romantic week together in St. John. We had never been to the Island before but all of the reviews for Gallows Point Resort were great and our experience was no different.
We arrived off the Ferry and were promptly greeted by a bellman from the resort ready to take us to the hotel. He was nice and helpful.
Once we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staff who informed us of a welcoming party to be enjoyed by the swimming pool. We dropped off our bags in our condo and enjoyed a fantastic party. They handed us a cocktail called a "pain killer" and served delicious appetizers and flourless chocolate cake.
The room was clean, gorgeous, relaxing and had all the amenities you could want. Huge shower, full kitchen, comfortable bed, air conditioning and the most gorgeous view of the ocean.
If you want a comfortable, easy, pleasing experience definitely consider the Gallows Point. It's also a quick walk to shopping, ocean front bars/restaurants and town so no need to rent a car. Also, be sure to eat at ZoZo's Restaurant and make reservations as they fill up quickly.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: There are no bad views, but I recommend an ocean view garden level room. It's easy to walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelin3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Rented condo 2C in late March 2012. From the moment you walk in & see the ocean view through the big door windows you're impressed.
Pros:
-Impressive view of the ocean through the large window doors & balcony.
-Plenty of hot water, dishwasher soap, bar soap, shampoo & conditioner.
-Large shower area with a place to hang wet suites.
-Great working air conditioning & ceiling fans.
-Everything worked well, all appliances, tv, & lights.
-There's a mini mart on the property with some groceries that came in handy.
-Snorkeling off the property dock is really good. There's a place to stand at the end of the ladder to put your snorkel gear on.
-The staff are helpful & we never had a problem getting a taxi.

Cons:
-It's a big hill walk down into town & then back up, but all of St. John has hills.
-Our condo location was not particulary good for light sleepers. Zo Zo's restaurant is very close & we could hear bar music along with beeps from delivery trucks at times at night. The occasional car alarm went off in Zo Zo's parking lot too. There was lots of dog barking at night & early morning, but it was probably from a house across Franks bay. If you don't sleep well, I'd bring ear plugs to help.

Tips:
-Coconut Coast Art Studio is well worth the steep hill walk to see. The artist Elaine is so kind & talented. She has some of her original art on display. Her 2 famous sweet dogs were friendly too. Her assistants are patient & nice to help you pick out any art you would like to buy.

-Waterfront Bistro restaurant close by in Cruz Bay had amazing food. To save money one time we bought 2 lunch plates--one to go & put it in the condo fridge to have for dinner later.

-Mayho Bay was so lovely! Very clean sand with such a gradual grade into the clear water. No facilities here & no taxi stand, but not hard to flag one down from the road. Taxi fee was $16.00 for 2 people plus tip each way from Gallows Point. It was worth it for us as we swam with 6 green sea turtles. Loved it.

Room Tip: The 3 buildings at the Franks bay side have the best views & would be quieter than the harbor vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plumeriasail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 km away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
0.7 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
501 reviews
0.4 km away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
577 reviews
5.6 km away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
17.5 km away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallows Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallows Point Resort

Address: 3 AAA Gallows Point Rd | P.O. Box 58, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: AU$410 - AU$906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gallows Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a 5 acre peninsula in Cruz Bay. Our spacious 1 & 2 story units have fully equipped kitchens with dining area, King size bed, Satellite TV, Central A/C. in room wireless internet, full living room and private balconies all with ocean views. The resort offers full maid service, pool with hot tub, concierge service and a small gourmet grocery. Eat at our fine dining restaurant or take a 5 minute stroll to town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gallows Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallows Point Hotel Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Cruz Bay
Gallows Point Resort St. John/Cruz Bay, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing