We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
124
32
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
32
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswrap around balconybeach towelsthe kitchenincluding detergentst johnwithin walking distancedeck furniturewalk into towncondo unitexcellent place to staygreat view of the harborhas everything you could needcomforts of homebeach barclose proximitysix nightsthe entire property
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Stayed in 3W for 7 nights. Wish we could have stayed longer. So glad we found Lavender Hill when we were looking to return to the Island. Beautifully furnished. Plenty of ice cube trays chilling in the freezer when we arrived.
Loved the colors of the rooms and the beautiful views of Cruz Bay from the kitchen and living room. Will definitely stay here when we return to St John. The wrap around deck was just awesome. When we were not out, we watched Beautiful sunsets from the deck. I Loved reading on the deck in the morning and watching the ferry coming in.
Loved the Beach towels provided. Also provided were coolers and back pack chairs for the beach. Great location to walk to the local restaurants and hair salon. Mongoose Junction was also an easy walk for shopping and ice cream at St John scoops. Great vacation!

Room Tip: 3W is beautiful with a wrap around deck
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Dolores C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriStJohn, Owner at Lavender Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dolores, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation on St John and at Lavender Hill Suites Ltd. It has been an emotional season and we feel blessed to have such wonderful and supportive guests. By visiting the Caribbean this year, you are truly helping with the island's recovery. We want to thank you for choosing Lavender Hill Suites and St John as your vacation destination. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We booked another 2 week trip to stay at Lavender Hill for Feb. 2018, unfortunately the island was hit with a hurricane and we were unable to go. We were told that the island was ruined for the most part and would probably not be useable for the time we had selected. Fine, we didn't want to push and demand that our deposit be returned immediately because of the damage they suffered. We are not unreasonable folks. So we allowed the resort to hang on to our deposit (over $2000) for nearly a year.
We made arrangements to vacation at another resort. I contacted the folks at Lavender Hill to request our deposit back and was told that they were fully operational by November, 2017 - why weren't we contacted then? Their cancellation policy is that keep 20% of the deposit. I understand that things happen and is no ones fault, yet they wouldn't reason with me and return the full deposit. Very unhappy and will not return to that resort. We traveled there February, 2017. Calendar below will not allow me to add that date.

Room Tip: floor facing Cruz bay recently renovated and very nice
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Loridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriStJohn, Owner at Lavender Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Guest:

We are reasonable people, too. We don't take 20% from a cancelled reservation; we take 10% because every reservation costs us money the moment it's made. We were open and operational from the end of November, and we never ever said "the island is ruined." We encourage everybody to visit St. John, not only because of its physical beauty but also because of the positive attitudes of its people and the vast majority of its guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

stayed in 3w for six nights and WOW. I'm not sure how a better spot can be found. Great views, very clean, and just what everyone needs a great relaxing wraparound deck to let what you did that day sink in. Thank you for allowing us to stay. you have a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigp50583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriStJohn, Owner at Lavender Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you so much for visiting St John and staying at Lavender Hill Suites and our Unit 3W. We feel blessed that we have had so many loyal, supportive, and dedicated guest come to St John to help our island heal and recover. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

We just got back from 10 days at Lavender Hill and it was absolutely perfect! Hurricane? What Hurricane? The buildings were untouched and the grounds lush and green. All the wonderful staff there has worked so hard to make it again the perfect place to stay. The beaches were very uncrowded and lots of restaurants were open. The only change I saw at Lavender Hill was a better view from the balconies because two of the large palms were gone. Roads were all clear and lots of rental cars available! Come on down!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriStJohn, Owner at Lavender Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Judith! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! For you kind words, support, and dedication to St John and Lavender Hill Suites. There are still some bumps and bruises but each day gets a little better. Thanks for telling everyone to return to St John and the island we all Love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We stayed in unit 12E which had a wonderfiul view from the balcony. The unit is spacious and well cared for as is the entire property. The location can't be beat! The town is a short walk down the hill and the property is located direcrtly across the street from one of St John's best restauranst offering great food and spectular sunset views. We enjoyed the natural beauty of ST John's, the beautiful beaches and a great assortment of both causal and fine dining restaurants. We would definitley come back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jeffkT8522QG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriStJohn, Manager at Lavender Hill Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you so much for your kind and honest review of Unit 12E. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews