We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good value, but needs some updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lavender Hill Suites
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed in Lavender Hill suites with wife and 2 kids (age 8 and 5) for 6 nights. We had 2 bedroom unit 12E. It was great because the kids had their own room. Overall, we loved the location because it was short walk to town and easy access to restaurants and shopping and the view over Cruz Bay was great. Rooms were very clean and pool was nice for kids. You will have to drive or take taxi to beaches, but that is pretty typical on St. John unless you are staying at one of the resorts like Caneel Bay or Westin. The price was good and the unit was clean. Only two minor complaints: things are a bit worn in 12E and the AC on the 2nd floor was very loud and made some weird noises. When we go back to St. John we will definitely consider this place again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buffalo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

Lavender Hill is charming and quiet although it is just steps from downtown Cruz Bay. My hubby and I felt very comfortable staying here. We had a wrap around balcony and it felt like the place was all ours. Nice view of the harbor and a short walk to food, bars, etc. We liked it so much that we called Charlie and asked to extend our stay by 1 day. Charlie and Brian are extremely easy to deal with and more than helpful. Make sure to adjust your expectations before staying there. It could use some updates as the decor is really outdated and drab. Don't expect luxury or modern facilities. We felt like this was home away from home. The free laundry room was a super nice touch! Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeachorBust613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This was our 2nd stay at Lavender Hill and we loved it once again. You just can't beat this location-- a couple of minutes' wallk into the town of Cruz Bay, yet perched up on the hill with spectacular views of the harbor. We were very comfortable except for a few minor issues with the unit, described under Room Tips.
We have not stayed elsewhere on St. John but when we priced a few other places for early December there was no comparison with the value received at LH. We will come back a 3rd time if at all possible!!

Room Tip: Unit 10E needs a little attention as of this writing (12/11). The shower temp control was broken (we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This is the best place I've stayed at while on vacations. Been to nice resorts, hotels etc all over the Carribbean and nothing has even come close to what Lavender Hill offers you. The convenience of proximity to downtown Cruz Bay, the amenities (beach chairs, coolers, dishware, etc) and the comfort of being a home away from home is unparalleled. Brian sets you up from the start and Charlie is the very helpful on-site caretaker. They give you everything you need and let you enjoy your vacation. The suites are spacious and modern enough to make your stay very comfortable and enjoyable (not to mention the balcony views are phenom). I'd highly recommend Lavender Hill to anyone planning a trip to St John.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We travel to St John 2 or 3 times a year and have stayed in all of the downtown biggies in Cruz Bay. Out of all of them Lavender Hill is the best bet for value and accomodations. The units are all very well appointed and have really nice balconies with beautiful views. They are large and roomy for this area and have been well cared for by their owners. The management staff is great and they are always available if needed. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a wonderful and relaxing place to stay in Cruz Bay. Everything is right there so you can walk to dinner, grocery or the bars. I will definately stay here again and again.

Room Tip: I have stayed in 3 different units and they were all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PoodleGirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
1.4 km away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.6 km away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
497 reviews
5.9 km away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
0.3 km away
Coconut Coast Villas
Coconut Coast Villas
#1 of 17 in Cruz Bay
308 reviews
0.1 km away
Grande Bay Resort
Grande Bay Resort
#2 of 17 in Cruz Bay
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Hill Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Hill Suites

Address: 3 Abb Cruz Bay | PMB 456 Estate Enighed, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $257 - $692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Hill Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lavender Hill Suites(R) - 1 and 2 bedroom luxury suites all with spectacular Caribbean views just steps away from the shops, restaurants, ferries, and nightlife of Cruz Bay, St John. Each unit has its own unique tropical motif, and each offers fully equipped kitchen, TV, beach chairs and towels, coolers, fully AC, etc. We are the onsite owners and managers of units 1W, 2W, 3W, 5W, 7E, 8E, 10E and 12E. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Lavender Hill Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Hill Hotel Cruz Bay
Lavender Hill Suites St. John/Cruz Bay, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing