We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner”
Review of Waterfront Bistro

Waterfront Bistro
Ranked #16 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
St. Louis
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We walked in without reservations and got a table with a beautiful view. Waitress was excellent and recommended the perfect wine with my tamarind tofu dish (superb). My husband had the tuna and raved about it all night. Definitely one of my favorites on the island for dinner...pricey.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciaLynn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    215
    75
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and wine with the best Island view”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

On a recent vacation to St John I visited several restaurant in Cruz Bay and Coral Bay.
Waterfront was one of the best. . My friend and I had a 5 course dinner. Each course was beautifully presented and paired with fantastic wine. The chef did an outstanding job with each course. The staff was professional, relax and very attentive. I had the pleasure to dine at Waterfront Bistro on two different occasions. Without any hesitations and high regards, I would recommend this restaurant .

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celingarcia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best meal on island”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Great service and great food. We walked right in without a reservation. It was romantic and expensive so it's not a place to bring children.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingmom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great views, overpriced, overrated”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We expected a lot more from a $35 plate of Mahi-Mahi! We arrived at sunset and had a great view of the beach (except my seat faced a pillar which blocked my view). We had two nice salads as appetizers...because we'd been snacking all day, we decided to share the Mahi-Mahi entre'. Awesome presentation, we each had our own plate. Food was cold, lacked flavor, potatoes were nothing special. Waaayyyy overpriced! I'll pay top dollar for top dollar food. The service was not great. Next time we hit St John, Waterfront Bistro will not be on our list of places to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j1105tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keys
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I have been on enough islands to know that food in carribbean is hit or miss. the food this evening was way better than I expected. I had the smoked duck terrine with cranberries and pistachios. Just thinking about it now I want to order it now. Great server. Tony was informative attentive and charming. It was well worth going and listening to the ocean lap up against the beach with in arms reach of the bar. I love this place. A real bistro. My only suggestion is please put a classic roasted chicken on the menu with pommes puree please. Thanks.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandgirlhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterfront Bistro also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing