We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great vacation at Ebb Tide! Only a couple of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SamMKirk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great vacation at Ebb Tide! Only a couple of issues.”
Reviewed 24 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ebb Tide is a great house in a great location close to Cruz Bay and not far from all of the popular beaches. We only had a few issues with the house. Catered to which is the company that rents out the house was great to work with. Only problem was that the dishwasher didn't work and they kind of gave us the run around about it getting fixed, which it never did. Not much fun doing dishes while on vacation but not the end of the world either. Also, an oversight on my part, is that we didn't know that all of the bedrooms but one are only accessible from the outside with separate entrances. Since we had another family traveling with us and we both have kids, it was somewhat of an issue but we made it work. I had looked at the floor plan many times but didn't notice it until a few days before the trip. Again, an oversight on my part. One last issue I'd like to point out is that the living room furniture is very uncomfortable. The sofa and two chairs are wicker/rattan with loose cushions and pillows that have seen better days. Cushions have lost their shape and fluff. Could use a replacement. Overall minor issues. We had a great vacation and highly recommend visiting St. John and renting Ebb Tide.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MComley
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay with Lots of Privacy for Multiple Guests”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We loved staying at Ebb Tide. Originally I was concerned about the mosquitoes as previous reviews stated there were no screens on the doors but they have since been added. There is still no a/c in the main, living room and if it were added that would be a welcomed amenity. We enjoyed playing games together at night at the kitchen table and it would still be extremely hot in there. There is also a small room attached to the other bedroom (jack & jill style) on the main level but there is no a/c in that room, making it impossible for someone to sleep in there. We had to move one of our guests to the master suite at night (with another couple) to sleep because it had enough room for him and also had a/c. I would not be comfortable with children or adults sleeping in the small room without a/c even though there was a large floor fan. These are the only two complaints I have about the property! Everything else was great! The pool is small but we had 9 guests and had no issues! The view is spectacular and there was an area in the yard where other guests had built a fire pit. We did not take advantage of that option (too hot!) but would in the future. Easy access to town, light food and necessities provided upon arrival. In St. John people do not flush the commodes with every use and this is the standard everywhere including Ebb Tide. Remember to live by the motto, "If it's yellow let it mellow, if it's brown flush it down." We ran out of water one day and the property manager quickly refilled our cisterns. The place was clean and the view was spectacular. There is a trail that leads down to the ocean which is more rocky than sandy like other beaches. We never laid out at this beach because there are so many more beautiful beaches nearby. Our favorites were Maho Bay and Opeinhammer. We would definitely stay here again and look forward to our return!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scrapnsuz...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family enjoyed our week on St John and our stay at Ebb Tide Villa! Awesome view of Chocolate Hole from pool deck and just about every other place on the property. The walk to the beach is not the easiest but turtles in the bay make it worth the effort. We had quite a bit of rain while we were there so the no see ums and mosquitos were abundant. Since three of the bedrooms have outdoor access, it was a bit of a wet walk. The kitchen was well equipped and we enjoyed many meals at the villa. Could never figure out sound system for music.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Outdoor acces to bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T4HAWKS
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value for large groups.”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My family and I stayed in Ebb Tide in December 2015. There were 10 of us all together, and it was everyone's first time to STJ except me, who had been to STJ another time with my wife.

There are certainly more luxurious, and more expensive, accommodations on STJ. We chose Ebb Tide because it was considerably more affordable, had A/C in the bedrooms, and could accommodate our large group. It worked out perfect and everyone was impressed with the Villa.

The pool is smaller but adequate for the 2 kids we had along. We spent our time at the beaches daily, so the pool was not critically important.

The view of Chocolate Hole was good and the snorkeling provided entertainment for a day.

All in all, this is not the most upscale option on STJ. It is clean, spacious, and for those who prefer to save on accommodations and spend a significant amount of time exploring the Islands and their beautiful beaches, Ebb Tide is a great value.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaH9714...
Eaton Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I can't wait to go again!”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our villa was a fantastic place for a very reasonable rate. Loved the view from the pool. Having the complimentary food items was unexpected surprise and was very much appreciated! Thank you for a fantastic memory!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The living area was not air conditioned.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing