We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
339
11
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
11
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charming b b great hosts coconut muffins every morning st thomas breakfast was delicious pool area deep pool restaurants and shopping stayed two nights restaurant recommendations enjoy your stay tropical paradise virgin islands a wonderful stay sailing trip matt
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2007

We stayed for 4 nights at this lovely B & B overlooking the Charlotte Amalie Harbor. It was so private that we felt as though we had the entire house to ourselves even though other guests were there. This lovely, historic home is so unique because it has only 4 bedrooms....so I doubt it would ever feel crowded. It was beautifully furnished in a very simple island style w/ an eclectic mix of antiques and comfortable furnishings and most importantly..... it was clean and immaculate! We slept with our windows and doors open each night...never got hot or encountered bugs. It has a great little pool w/ a terrrific view as well. Beautiful landscaping, flora and fauna abound. We loved the convenience of the honor bar where we could always get the beverage of our choice. Really enjoyed the owners and hosts....Pam and Matt. It's obvious they love the B & B business....Pam was a wealth of knowledge when we had questions about where to go, what to do or how to get there...even has a relationship w/ a local cabby who we felt very comfortable with. The breakfasts were fantastic....eggs, french toast, meats, fruits, juices and great coffee...Pam is a great cook as well! I just can't say enough good things about her. Great location....easy walk to town and the ferry. We are picky travelers...early 40's...love to stay at nice places when we travel and would definitely stay here again when visiting STT. Have recommended to family and friends! You'll love this home and will truly feel at home! Jill & Steve, Maryland

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jill1365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2007

February 22-24, 2007

My husband and I stayed "AT HOME IN THE TROPICS" in St. Thomas and we both agreed that it was much better than being "at home". The view, the location, the weather and the owners, made this stay just excellent. The bed and breakfast is located on the hill above Charlotte Amalie which made this an ideal place to stay as one could walk to town, restaurants, and shopping. The daily breakfasts prepared by the owner, Pam, were wonderful. There is a nice pool and deck to lounge or swim and the rooms were nice and clean. It was peaceful and quiet and we met other very nice people from other states also enjoying their stays. Our room, which was one of four all with water views, seemed a bit small, but maybe we just had too much luggage! We would go back and stay again and would also highly recommend "At Home in the Tropics" to others. What an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank ship1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2007

My husband and I learned of this property through another respected bed and breakfast on the island. We only stayed one night, but we felt at home and enjoyed all of the amenities Pam had to offer.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank IowaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We booked a two night stay sight unseen on the reccomendation of another Bed and Breakfast that was full before spending the rest of the week at a big resort on the island. After having had a bad stay at a bed and breakfast in France we were a bit nervous. Whatever reservations we had melted away when we arrived at the property. It is simply darling!! Clean as a whistle, charming, convenient, and the loveliest view imagineable. Pam is a great hostess, informative, friendly, and her breakfasts are not only delicious, but festive and served with the best view in town. My husbands' pet peeve at B&B's is to be served a breakfast that is an attempt at haute cuisine when he really just wants something tasty. There are lots of little touches that made our stay so nice, like the mini bar stocked with an affordable bottle of good champagne which we enjoyed after we got there to start our vacation. Our only regret was that we didn't just stay there for our whole trip. There are quite a few steps down to town and back but its well worth the hike. I can only reccomend At Home in the Tropics if you are looking for a great location, with great views, great food, and excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Laur32j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2007

I own a hotel in upstate NY and think I have a critical eye. The place was great. Restoration of a 18th century Danish garrison. Furnishing, finishes, woodwork, etc. all made you feel that you were living as pampered guests in Colonial Carribean. The breakfasts were the best, bar none. Pam the Inn keeper became a great friend overnight and was full of information about the real St. Thomas. Mat, Pam's husband and Sargent Major was a character you shouldn't miss. Bob I.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank FSABOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews