We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's No Place Like Home In the Tropics”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlotte Amalie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 January 2008

I would be hard pressed to outdo some of the other reviewers, so I would simply say, I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Clean, Clean, Clean, great breakfast, wonderful hosts. The property is certainly large enough to be private even when the 4 rooms are fully occupied. And the view is unsurpassed.

If you have enough time before your flight out, try the little restaurant above the airport, the Curry Chicken is great. Lot's of local flavors there. Our companion had the goat water soup (I'm a no-red meat eater) and highly recommends it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CobbosseeGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 325 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2007

We were so glad we decided to stay at At Home In The Tropics. We needed to spend three nights in St. Thomas on our way to the BVI and all the reviews we read of hotels and many other B&Bs were quite bad. But the reviews of this place were lovely so we went for it and it was great. Pam was amazing. She is a fabulous host. The rooms are very nice, private and have a wonderful private pool just steps away. You'll also get a taste of true Caribbean architecture here. Pam and her husband have spent many years restoring this place and have kept all of the charm of of the "old" Caribbean with modern amenities. Pam cooks breakfast for you every morning (in a very laid back manner; not the typical B&B experience (for those who shy away from B&Bs because of nosy inn keepers; this is NOT that way). On top of everything, we had a flight delay and arrived a day late. Pam was amazing; she did not charge us for the missed night and we did not even have to discuss this with her. If you are looking for a big beach and many large hotel amenities, this is not for you. If you are looking for a cozy retreat in a quiet and authentic neighborhood, this is for you. We had a great experience and if we ever make it back, we'll definitely stay there again. Thanks Pam!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank superjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2007

Sailed for a week's charter on the Irie (excellent!) in the BVI and chose this B and B for a night's stay before sailing based on tripadvisor.com reviews.

Pam Eckstein is the consummate hostess. Excellent location. Clean, good price, private and nicely appointed. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LuckyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We couldn't have selected a better place for the beginning of our honeymoon. Matt and Pam are wonderful hosts and couldn't have done more for us. We are seasoned B&Ber's and this was one of the finest we have ever stayed in....worldwide. Location is beautiful, very safe area, lovely refurbished historical building, excellent breakfast, and a lovely pool area. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rudy219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2007

We stayed here for 2-nights before going to St. John for our wedding/honeymoon. It is very nice, very clean, very safe, and very friendly. The decor is crisp and clean with an island feel -- without being at all cheesy. The rooms are small, but very comfortable. We views are great, and even better when you use the telescope on the patio. The landscaping is bright and beuatiful, the pool is clean and the pool deck is great for catching rays. Have I mentioned Pams' breakfasts? Fantasitc! I really loved the Peach Upside-down French Toast. Yum-o! Pam was also very helpful with helping us get a taxi to the ferry and with directing us to the courthouse (which is within walking distance) to get our marriage license. Shops are also within walking distance, although I'm not sure I would walk it after dark. Expect to climb a few (ha!) when you return from shopping.
I would stay here again . . .and again . . .and again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrae1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte Amalie
0.7 km away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
0.9 km away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
712 reviews
2.6 km away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
72 reviews
6.8 km away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
2.4 km away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home In The Tropics Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 1680 Dronningens Gade, Charlotte Amalie 00802-4708, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range: $297 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Home in the Tropics is a lovingly restored historic Bed and Breakfast overlooking Charlotte Amalie harbor. A former colonial Danish barracks, each room features a view of the harbor and access to the main courtyard, pool and lounge areas. All rooms include air conditioning, a refrigerator, cooler, and beach towels. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood between the Government House Steps and the Historic 99 Steps, we are a short walk to the best local shops and restaurants. We feature fresh, homemade breakfasts made with local ingredients each day. Included in your room price is breakfast, parking, pool access, and wifi. There are no additional charges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At Home In The Tropics Bed And Breakfast Inn St. Thomas/Charlotte Amalie, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing