We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
676
268
101
33
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
268
101
33
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club level lady lynsey sails restaurant water sports coconut cove beautiful property golf cart paddle boards nespresso machine hobie cats turn down service blue water bottle of champagne st john virgin gorda infinity pool resort fee
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at our Villa in St. Thomas! The Villa was beautiful and the views were beyond our expectations!! A huge shout out to Carrie, our concierge, for going above & beyond to deliver me a natural anti-inflammatory that I failed to pack!! I can't wait to visit again!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Robin,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to your next visit perhaps for the grand re-opening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

This hotel should not be open to public the way it is. 1st and furthermore I have to confess when i booked this hotel via expedia no one ever mentioned the conditions of the hotel. They claim the hotel is this way due to hurricane relief and it will be fully operating on spring of 2019. We understand how much damage hurricanes can cause but you cant have this hotel open and still charging prices of a full operating Ritz. If you still want to operate the hotel lower the prices because this is a shame for the Ritz brand. Plus and furthermore there is damage in this hotel that doesnt pertain to the hurricane, is visible that before the hurricanes the hotel was abandoned, not well taken care of, the doors, the painting and many other things you see when you walk you can notice this is not because of no hurricane. I felt really dissapointed. The good thing and maybe the only is Lisa, our server at the only rest. open to service, this lady made our days in there, so positive and smiling , she was worth going to the hotel. Everyone else in the island seemed to be so sad and hating their jobs... awful experience.

Room Tip: Don't go until Spring 2019
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank charlid999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Charlid999,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize that under our current limited operating model we were unable to meet your expectations. Please contact the Director of Sales & Marketing for an opportunity to return to the resort upon completion of the renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

I traveled to the U.S. Virgin Islands in August for five days with my family. Overall, the resort was great- except for a few issues.
When my mom booked the hotel, it said that they had concierge services along with a few other accommodations. We called the front desk about a week before our vacation to ask a few questions. We wanted to know the distance between the airport and the hotel, stuff about the tours we scheduled, those kinds of questions. My mom later found out while calling the hotel that they had limited services, which we found surprising as this was such a beautiful and prestigious resort. The description of the Ritz-Carlton did not state that they had limited services, all that was said was that there was construction. On top of it all, the woman who answered our call was quite rude.
My family was quite shocked, and we reported this to our travel agent. The travel site that we used apparently had no idea that accommodations at the Ritz were so minimal. We were given the chance to cancel and find another place to stay, but it was too late. The remaining options were either fully booked or we simply didn’t like it. We decided to stay at the Ritz and enjoy our vacation without stressing over the lack of important services.
We arrived on August 23 at the airport and rode a taxi to the Ritz. The drive was approximately half an hour, by the way. We arrived at around 2:00 and were taken to our room. The lady at front desk was a little rude, but that was okay. As soon as we walked in, we noticed the room was beautiful, but quite dusty. It was as if it hadn’t been aired in ages. The room we booked was ocean view, so at least we could see the water. I have asthma, and so we requested to be moved to another room. We were, and it was better, we just couldn’t see the ocean as well.
A few minutes later, we went swimming in the pool. It was beautiful! The beach was nice as well. The housekeeping services were good, and the lady who cleaned our room was nice. The restauraunt had good food, but the menu was pretty limited. The construction workers were quite loud, but that didn’t bother us since we spend the day swimming and exploring and the workers are absent at night. The campus was very nice and the plants were exotic and beautiful. Generally, the resort looked amazing aside from the construction areas.
I understand that the U.S. Virgin Islands were hit pretty hard by the hurricanes last year, so the lack of accommodations were excused. It’s very unfortunate that such a beautiful place was destroyed. I’d really love to see the resort operating fully in the future.
On August 27, we left the Ritz-Carlton. We sadly returned to the states, and returned to reality. Again, the hotel was amazing, just inconvenient.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
11  Thank gigithefabulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Gigithefabolous,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We would appreciate the opportunity for you to come back when our renovation is complete in order to provide a more memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

We are currently staying on the property for 2 nights. The staff is very friendly. The grounds are mostly under construction with barely any guests. They took a really bad hit with the storm and should not be open to the public. The view and pool are beautiful, but that’s about it. We switched our first room because the pullout sofa bed was filthy and had no sheets. Our second room (2 full size beds) is clean and has a remodeled bathroom....with the exception of a broken toilet seat held together with packing tape! Definitely not worth the Ritz price tag that we are paying!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
7  Thank DTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STTRZGM, Director of Operations at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear DTraveler23,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. First and foremost allow me to apologize as we clearly did not meet your expectations. The property is operating with limited services as we renovate and enhance the resort to re-open as The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas in 2019. Please be aware that your feedback is very important to us, we will make every effort to avoid these types of experiences.


Sincerely, Ian McPhee, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

I am at the "St. Thomas Great Bay Resort", the temporary name for the Ritz Carlton, right now. Have not seen a single other guest, and only around six employees. Most everything on the property is closed, the front lobby lights are out, and only one clerk manages the secluded and dark registration desk. The rooms are behind fencing and it is challenging to get in and out of one's building. The room and the view are beautiful, but the property is basically abandoned apart from construction crews during the day. Hard to believe they felt they should be accepting guests in this condition.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank ElevatorFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STTRZGM, Director of Operations at The Ritz-Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Elevator Fan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. First and foremost allow me to apologize as we clearly did not meet your expectations. The property is operating with limited services as we renovate and enhance the resort to re-open as The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas in 2019. Please be aware that your feedback is very important to us, we will make every effort to avoid these types of experiences.


Sincerely,

Ian McPhee, Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews