We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Accommodations on a Beautiful Island”

Review of Caribbean Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Christiansted, St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dawn P
Crosby, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Accommodations on a Beautiful Island”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to St. Croix, and stcroixrentavilla.com did not disappoint! We stayed at the Caribbean Retreat at Pelican Cove and the condo, pool, beach and nearby restaurants were a delight. The accommodations were clean and completely updated and the surroundings were breathtaking. Everyone we met was nice and shared information about the island. We will definitely be booking here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenience of the condo
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cubsfan10
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“All the Comforts of Home”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

New kitchen, washer/dryer, Cable TV, walk-in showers. Nice cross breeze, only needed AC
at night for bedroom. Condo very close to Large Swimming pool, Jacuzzi and Sun deck.
Close to beach. Electronic Security Gate on entrance to parking. Close to Christiansted
for shopping and dining.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley C
Berlin, Connecticut
1 review
“Amazing destination for the laid back or adventurous”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our Honeymoon and we had such an amazing time we were already considering looking into a condo of our own before the end of the trip. The condo itself is beautiful, a true home away from home. There's a full kitchen and grill so if you want to do some cooking on your own you can. The grocery store is only a 5 minute drive away. The back porch is accessible from the living room and master bedroom and overlooks the beautifully landscaped pool area. Just a quick walk beyond the pool is the beach. A two minute walk along the beach will bring you to the Pelican Cove Hotel, which has a covered dining area and bar overlooking the beach. They have great food and drinks and on our first night it was Caribbean night so we were able to get a taste of the culture the very first day with the Mocko Jumbies and Fire Dancers. Christiansted was also only a short drive (actually everything on the island is a pretty short drive since its so small) so we went there many nights for dinner. There is no shortage of amazing restaurants. Everyone we met was extremely friendly and helpful, willing to make recommendations on which tours were best, etc. We were lucky enough to go during the Ironman Triathalon, so there was a Jump Up! festival while were there. Jump Up! is held several times a year for different celebrations. There are street vendors throughout the streets of Christiansted and the stores and restaurant stay open late. The Mocko Jumbies come through the streets, there is live music, etc. There is as much or as little as you want to do on your vacation here. We ended up doing the bioluminescence tour with the See-Thru Kayak group, which was the experience of a lifetime to see glowing algae and jellyfish! We also did the Buck Island snorkling tour, again not to be missed as it was rated on the worlds most beautiful beaches by National Geographic. There were many other tours available (jeep tours through the rainforest, etc). I cannot comment on nightlife as far as night clubs since that is not our thing, but as far as nature tours, hikes, snorkeling, etc you really could do as much or as little as you wanted. The main thing we noticed is how happy everyone on the island is. Everyone was always smiling and friendly. We had our rental jeep break down in a remote area where we had no cell phone service and a group of finish let us use their phone and stayed with us until the tow truck came just to be safe. We didn't meet a single unhappy person there, a vibe that made it hard to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Full kitchen and 2 full bathrooms
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenn-ann...
Coventry, Connecticut
1 review
“A perfect get-a-way and just beautiful.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Our stay at Pelicove Cove Carribean Retreat was so comfortable and relaxing. The condo itself was so beautiful and had every amenity plus. We greatly enjoyed the veranda and ate all our breakfasts and several dinners there. It is a perfect place to read and take in the beautiful views. We stayed one week and have already booked it for two weeks next January. What a perfect get- a-way!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All was excellent
Liked least: All was excellent
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreadwalk
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The beauty and comfort of the Caribbean Retreat condo in Pelican Cove surpassed our expectations. It was not only gorgeously decorated, but the fridge and cupboards were stocked (either by the owners or previous visitors) with drinks and snack food (and lots of condiments for cooking). The condo was so great that we only went out to each two evenings; for the rest we cooked our own food purchased just five minutes away at one of the many supermarkets.

It was beautiful to wake up each morning to a view of palm trees with the sound of the surf just a few hundred yards away. My wife loved the large pool (in which she could do laps) and I loved wondering the beach collecting shells and seeing the white and black egrets (and the one pelican) that dropped by. Although the beach immediately in front of the condos isn't for swimming because of the rocks (as was advertized) the beach at The Palms (just a five minute walk away) was much better. And with an island only 27 miles long we got to visit lots of other beaches, and also the botanical gardens.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The laid back atmosphere of the island and the great condo.
Liked least: The island's beaches were okay, but not at the standard of (say) Jamaica. The wi-fi was intermittent.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 1,700
/ Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing