We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and on the boardwalk!”
Review of Club Comanche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Comanche
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and on the boardwalk!”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This historic hotel, grounds and pool has character and is well kept. The requests we had were promptly handled. True, there is no elevator, but steps are good exercise. The room was very clean and the Sealy pillow top mattresses were heavenly. Yes, parties and receptions can be loud until 10 p.m. or you may hear the Comanche Yachtless bar next door until midnight, but it was not intolerable. It adds to the island atmosphere. The pool was wonderful and the maids very friendly. The remote controlled air conditioning worked very well as did the satellite TV. Wireless internet service works best near the window. We really liked the hotel, service and location close to the boardwalk restaurants, dive shop, and boutique shopping. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OHdivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jst01, Director of Sales at Club Comanche, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and the location of the Club Comanche Hotel additional to its historical touch is one of the most important competitive advantages.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    38
    16
    13
    23
See reviews for
16
51
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The location of this Hotel is EXCELLENT, you a just steps from the BOARDWALK.
I read the reviews before booking this hotel and i was a little unsure based on what i read. Upon our arrival there was a Wedding Party going on, with a VERY LOUD DJ. I had been traveling all day to get there and i thought back to the reviews that i read. My thoughts were "what the hell have igotten us into." Shortly after getting into the run maybe 30 to 40 minutes the music STOP! Had i known the Boardwalk was just steps away we would had gone to drink that night.
Our room was nothing like the one's on the pictures, but it was very clean and i felt safe.
My voted is to stay there again. The staff, location and service made up for any short comings in the appearance of the hotel. Just remember Historical means OLD!!!
AND KEEP IN MIND WHY YOU ARE THERE, DON'T SWEAT THE SMALL STUFF.
Enjoy your trip as we did. I hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbucketlist2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jst01, Director of Sales at Club Comanche, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. The managements will have a look especially at the maintenance in order to improve our product even further.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at the Club Comanche.

Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I loved this hotel. I stayed in the Historic suite. The only complainant I had was the VERY thin walls. I could my neighbors below me laughing and talking all night. They were SUPER loud and the hotel staff did ask them to quiet down. The hotel was full and I never heard any other neighbors, so I'm guessing that these people were just being ridiculous. Other than that I have no complaints. The hotel is located in a very convenient area. I felt safe and was able to enjoy myself. The staff was very friendly. The hotel was always clean. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paradisebound2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jst01, Director of Sales at Club Comanche, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Thank you very much for your comments and staying at the Club Comanche hotel and looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

These pix on their website are BOGUS; stayed there to interview at a nearby university. First room was small and filthy, second room was in the annex, up 3 flights of steep steps and no one to help w/luggage; elevator was permanently out of order. When I had to meet a taxi to the airport at 5:30 am, the front lobby doors were locked, padlocked from the outside, there was no one in the lobby to help me and no one answered the phone. A hotel guest ushered me to the back staircase to get out!! Workers are unavailable or helpless if they are there. And, it's located in a less than desirable part of town. Anyone can enter the facility at any time from the streets through back staircases and there's no security except your locked bedroom door!!. Not a good place for single female travelers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgm228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jst01, Director of Sales at Club Comanche, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Thank you for your review and staying at the Club Comanche hotel , I would like to point out that the hotel is located exactly at the boardwalk of Christiansted close to a variety of shops, restaurants and lounges. It is a historical hotel which includes the elevator which was the first one on St.Croix and needs a complicated restauration process to be put back to its original quality. The main doors to the main building are only accessable with the room key and we have not had yet any simular comments in reference to the difficulties you experienced leaving the hotel and we will look into it as well as all addiitonal of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Christiansted hotels

ATL GA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We were given rooms in the 'annex' over the bridge and overlooking the pool... no restored West Indian antiques, but they were clean, large enough, serviceable and the A/C worked really well.
The 'nearby bars' from which more than one reviewer noted that you hear loud music include the hotel's own Dugout Bar, an open-air bar that they rent out for private parties (3 while we were there, and who brought their own bands), which is about 25 feet from your room if you are by the pool. Needless to say, the noise can be a little distracting at midnight, although as a 'hotel bar', it was not open or staffed at any time during our stay.
The Wifi was out for the first three days of our stay, with daily assurances that it was working for the front desk and that they would look into it. On the fourth day, someone seemed to restart it and it was fine after that.
All in all, not too bad, not that great... it is clean, centrally located and convenient to pretty much anywhere in town. Would I stay there again? If I go back... I think I will try one of the other hotels, just to establish a standard.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanacaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jst01, Director of Sales at Club Comanche, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Thank you for your comments and staying at the Club Comanche hotel. The hotel is located directly at the boardwalk of Christiansted close to a variety of shops, restaurants and lounges which is clearly indicated at all accessbale information for the hotel.
Certain services and their quality are depending on 3rd parties like the Wifi service which is offered free of charge at the Club Comanche.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.1 km away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
81 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
3.9 km away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holger Danske Hotel
Holger Danske Hotel
#9 of 14 in Christiansted
101 reviews
2.6 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,409 reviews
13.6 km away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Comanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Comanche

Property: Club Comanche
Address: 1 Strand St | Waterfront Boardwalk, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Price range (per night): $125 - $232
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Comanche 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Club Comanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Comanche Hotel Christiansted
Comanche Hotel Christiansted
Club Comanche St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing