We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Living In A Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Reviewed 29 January 2013

January 4th was our arrival date. 2:30 pm and my car was there waiting. We enjoyed free rum drinks at the airport and then drove to the Divi. Hugs from the staff was our welcome and Edmund provided fishing gear that I left with him a year ago. Mrs. Anne Downs, who works out all of our rooming issues was also there and we were delighted to see her again. Some new faces at the front desk and in the activity shack warmed up to us on the first handshake. Andreas, the General Manager, shared his time with us, giving us the past year's history and his views on many of Divi's issues. We met with Kevin Jackson on our second day. As always, he took very good care of us as he has done since we began coming here seven years ago. David, from the Pizza Restaurant also greeted us with cocktails. This was shaping up to be a memorable vacation. In the next fourteen days we ate fabulous foods, drank the world's best rum, visited the many free beaches, worked on our tans, fished for some of the world's best gamefish, went to the casino, which is here on the Divi property, shopped for gifts for our family and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I did spend an hour in the fitness room at 7:30 am, every day before going to breakfast in the Starlight Grill. We came to the Divi, fully prepared for wonderful vacation and we were not disappointed. Leaving this paradise to return home was hard. We just had to take some of the island life home with us to last until we set out on our next Divi vacation. Many Thanks to all of you who make our vacations at the Divi the best we've ever had.
Allen Williams and Family

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllenWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

It was so great seeing you again this year! Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us. It's always an exciting moment when a guest returns and even better to know that we have met or exceeded the expectations of their last stay.

I remember the delight on your face when Edmond pulled out the fishing gear as well as when you were able to rekindle your friendship with so many staff around property. Seems that this year you had one fun filled adventure not just at the resort but around the island as well!

Thanks again for your spectacular review! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 452 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

We love the USVI and wanted to visit St Croix as we previously visited St Thomas and St John. Staff at Divi are friendly, helpful and always smiling. We found the rooms to be clean and spacious and loved the view! The beach was ten steps from our terrace - a great spot to read, have a cocktail, or watch the sunrise or sunset. The food was excellent, good variety and the resort had different theme nights, which made it fun. We loved dining on the terrace by the pool, under the stars while the steel pan band played. The resort is quiet, not full of the hustle and bustle of larger resorts, but there are lots of activities to occupy if you wish. We rented a jeep for the week which offered us the opportunity to explore the entire island and not depend on the shuttle service and taxis. The hotel provided very detailed driving directions from the airport and there are excellent road signs - all good roads lead to Divi!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a main floor room - ten steps to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

We’re so happy to hear that you had a marvelous vacation and you were able to take advantage of all that St. Croix and Divi Carina Bay has to offer. Driving on the left can be difficult for visitors who are accustomed to driving on the right so we’re glad to hear that our directions as well as the Divi signs along the way were easy to follow.

Thank you for giving us a great review! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I am shocked at any review above a 3 star. To start off, just getting from the airport to the resort was a task, ever heard of road signs?? Once there, we checked in to find a halfway clean room with a spectacular view, but since there were no screens on the sliding glass doors, you really couldn't enjoy the breeze or the sound of the ocean. Let alone the fact that the beach is not really private. I think when you go to an "all inclusive" you don;t expect it to be open to the public. An then when we got settled to find that nothings open the gift shop closes at 5:00 and it is the hub of all the "sign ups" for dinners, spas (which never opened) and tours, The "Dockside/Al's Bar" depending on what brochire you looked at was supposed to be open every day till 5:00, but Curt the "super bartender with ADD" would close whenever he wanted and Krys the great gal at the Starlite was just trying to keep up with the guests at the bar and food orders, but she could make one hell of a Tropical Delusion, as could Scott. Tateesha was a sweet server who tried to help at the bar when she could and would take care of us whenever she was able to.
All inclusive eating meant you only ate when they put the food out, you couldn't eat anytime you wanted unless you at the microwaved nachos, but then you had to get that from the only bartender in the resort.
Getting a shower took twice as long as it should have because we would be dodging the scorching or the freezing water the whole time,while trying to see in the shower,as it was very drab and dark. Three light bulbs out on the vanity, and shower curtain that looked like a "blackout curtain". Filth is the only word to use, and DO NOT look at the celing fans in the "dining hall", unless that's your idea of clean. Almost all of the activities that were UPDATED DAILY never happened????? Why not change your brochure? I understand things change, but they updated it EVERYDAY WITH THE WRONG INFORMATION!!!! Yoga, fire dancers, spa, manicures, NOTHING. The hermit crab races were amusing..if you're 60 or above.
Food was awful and very overpriced and when we complained, every server laughed and just shook their head, "we know...." One even said, "You are very observant....most people think this place is awesome." Expecting seafood and fresh fruit.... but got smoked sausage, mac and cheese, chicken wings, flank steak, some mahi , and whatever was for lunch was for dinner or at least some was and the same type of mixed veggies, EVERYDAY!!
Mini golf course would have been nice if the fountains and ponds worked, it was like they didn't care if something wassn't working or try to impress and make you feel welcomed. No sense in not maintaining the property for the amount of money that we spent.
The East End Pizza Shack with David and his crew was the best part and unfortunatley they don't open until Wednesday's. They are very friendly and make you feel like a wanted guest. There was never an empty glass or beer bottle and was willing to entertain and just make us feel welcome. That staff needs to be running the resort inside. Kudos to David and the shack gang.
I could go one, but it is too depressing. Maybe Anthony from "Hotel Impossible" should take a visit to St. Croix and help them before it's too late.

Room Tip: No screens on doors, floors never mopped, no blankets on bed, soap very small and "outdated&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager On Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for the opinion on your recent stay here at Carina Bay. Having read your commentary on the hotel, I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for notifying us in writing of your observations during your recent stay with us. As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service, we are continually striving to best serve our customers. When our efforts fail to meet expectations, it is important that the matter be brought to our attention so that it may be corrected as soon as possible.

Let me take this opportunity to address some of the commentary rendered. Housekeeping has one of the highest ratings on our reviews by other guests. Although the doors lock automatically when you close them, every room door has both a dead bolt for added security as well as an eyelet so you can look out if you do not want to just open the door. The Links Miniature Golf Course and Driving Range has been opened every day since just before Christmas. The Fire Dancers can only perform outdoors and are subjected to the changes in the weather. At times, the weather does not allow for the show to go on and we must cancel.

Our four restaurants are the Dockside Restaurant, Starlite Grille, East End Pizza and Carina Café. Each day we offer a different buffet menu for lunch and themed dinners at night. The Rok dinner is a great experience that many guests rave about. We offer a Caribbean Beach Barbecue which is a Western Barbecue with a Caribbean spin. Our menu on that night changes each week however it does have your standard barbecue chicken and pork ribs amongst many other traditional Caribbean dishes such as Kalaloo or Goat Water as well as Stewed Goat or Oxtail. We apologize if this was not conveyed correctly. Carina Café is a Bistro that is open from 11am to 3am to meet any late night cravings. If at any time someone would not like to walk to or from the Casino, he/she can request a ride by alerting someone at Resort Front Desk or a Casino Security Guard.

We do offer Spa services however this is by appointment only and appointments must be made 24 hours in advance. Our massage therapists are only here for appointments and many guests have raved about their treatments. Perhaps you were unaware of this, however, all dining, entertainment and activities information is listed in a Weekly Calendar of Activities given to every guest upon arrival. In addition to that we put out the Divi Melee, which lists the specific Activities for that particular day at breakfast.

Even though you experienced a less than pleasurable stay with us, we sincerely hope that you were able to salvage a few memorable experiences while on St. Croix, and would consider visiting the island once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The hotel is clean and the view is spectacular, it also helps that the ocean is 10 steps from the balcony (terrace)... As far as everything else, the food is average, the service is slow.... this is not an "all inclusive" we've grown used to... Hot and cold water come at will (mostly one at a time), and there is no nightlife...If all you care about is the island beaches, it works, if you want luxury, you are in the wrong place

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms on the first floor are the best as you can walk off your terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lika_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for your review on your stay with us! As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service we are continually striving to best serve our customers.

Our Executive Chef and his staff of several Lead Cooks have been diligent in providing a vast array of dining choices for our patrons and to date has received many outstanding reviews. Each day we offer a different buffet menu for lunch and themed dinners at night. The Rok dinner is a great experience that many people raved about. We also have different entertainment at the Resort and at the Casino every night.

Thank you once again for your review and we'll be on the look-out for your return trip to St. Croix and the Divi Carina Bay All-Inclusive Resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I visited your resort over the new year. I can't tell you enough how much we enjoyed our time there! The Divi is truely beautiful place and the staff is outstanding! The first person we met when we got there was Shenigue (sorry about the spelling) she was very friendly and greeted us with a smile every time we saw her. We were informed that we needed to make life dinner reservations...... but remember that everything it's on island time :-)! Which seemed to be our motto for the week. The bars and food were fantastic. Krys and scott were great and had new drink ready for us when we finished one! Kevin and the staff at the pizza place were always good for a laugh and a good night! Edmond Alec and the othet bellman were always there to make sure us party people made it to and from the casino! And if we got bored the wonderful ladies in the gift shop were full of suggestions and great things do.... the tan tan tour was a blast! We will definitely come back and hope the wonderful stay that was there is still there because they made our trip that much better! Oh yeah...... thank you divi for an amazing honeymoon we are expecting our first child in sep!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carrieg6099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Thank you for such an endearing review! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you guys are expecting your first child! Congratulations!
You not only embraced Caribbean living but made some great friends with many of our staff. The best thing that you could have said was that they made a difference in your stay. What a way to let them know how great of a job they are doing!
Thank you for sharing your special moments with us! We can’t wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
10.4 km away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
506 reviews
10.5 km away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
131 reviews
12.2 km away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
10.6 km away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
89 reviews
8.3 km away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820-4548, St. Croix
Region: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: AU$376 - AU$888 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing