We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful property on Grace Bay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Somerset on Grace Bay
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canandaigua, New York
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The most beautiful property on Grace Bay !”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Very simple-another great stay at The Somerset ! Beautiful property, to die for suites( Garden view English Cottage-perfect for 2 people) excellent staff , very good dining on site-O'Soleil is really wonderful and better than ever! Comfy lounge chairs--plenty available. We wil be back !

Room Tip: The garden English Cottages are a 2 minute walk to the beach and much cheaper--ask for 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TCILOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    96
    40
    15
    10
See reviews for
299
219
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We are still on property enjoying another perfect stay.
Spent the first half of our vacation at another upscale property and then moved here for 5 nights.
Very nice suites with every amenity provided that you might require.
We enjoy the English Cottages (Garden Villas) as they provide more than enough space with a fully equiped Viking kitchen, two full baths and a loft.
The suites are all individually decorated and you feel as if you are in a home rather than a hotel property.
Very friendly staff, beautiful beach front, pools and stunning architecture.
Great service...but not over the top....which we find the perfect mix.
Will definately return as it is the most relaxing vacation property that we have visited.

Room Tip: look at the room categories to find the space that fits you needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcimike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

First trip to T&C and had a wonderful time. Stayed at the Somerset in the second floor of the building right on the beach on the left hand side (when facing the beach). I believe the buildings "name" is Dundee.

Spectacular view, wonderful beach, staff was very helpful and informative. We only had drinks and lunch at the resort and ventured out each night to varied restaurants.

We were there in late April so it was past the prime season. We'd walk the beach in the morning (great beach you can walk for an hour in either direction), then relax at the pool or on the beach itself after the walk. We used their Hobie Cat two or three of the days when the wind was calm and it's a wonderful experience. Great place to learn if you've never sailed anything before.

We had a rental car, so we frequented the two very well stocked markets within 2 miles of the resort. Plenty of shopping, and window browsing to be had.

Had good dinners at the local establishments (Conch Shack), bars at the Marina, bars on the beach and wonderful restaurants that I would rate 4 star back in the states. Nothing is cheap but it makes you appreciate the views.

We took a snorkeling tour from right outside the Somerset. They pick you up a couple hundred yards away, take you out to a couple different spots snorkeling, looking for Conch, making a decent lunch, plenty of run punch and beautiful sandollar beaches then drop you back off near the Somerset late afternoon.

Best dinner was actually had on the beach, featured by the Somerset. A guitar player who does the circuit of all the top resorts was singing that evening. Great entertainer. If you golf, bring your golf clubs and he'll "host" you at his country club on the island the next day. I think he golfs every day and sings every night. Why am I working a day job again???????

Careful driving, it's a British Territory so it's on the opposite side we are used to in the states. And the round-abouts (rotary's) are much smaller than what I'm use to in the states or in Europe.

Enjoy your travels. Carpe Diem.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mickeyb37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Let's start out with the positives. This being our third trip to T+C, we kinda know the lay of the land. You can see my reviews of the Villa Renaissance and Seven Stars as reference. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We went the week before X-mas and it was deserted, plenty of chairs and mini-shells available on the beach and poolside. The equipment (hobie cats, kayaks, paddleboard, windsurf, snorkel) was available hassle-free and on-demand. The women on the restaurant (O'Soleil) staff were super nice to us and our kids(3, 5yrs). The room a 1BR suite was humongous! Big kitchen, kitted out with Viking everything, every pot/pan/utensil. Washer, dryer, flat screens, the works. Dreamy.

Ok, now what you've been waiting for. First, wireless internet, lies. Didn't work 3/6 days there. Everyday I was told it would be fixed. It wasn't. Then a manager had the nerve to tell me, "I told you we weren't lying" when it worked for half a day. The next day it didn't. Lies or don't care. $750/night is clearly not enough for internet. Second, food is unacceptably slow even for island standards. With no crowd, it took an hour from order to delivery of food for lunch. Third, there's no standard hotel room manual that's got the restaurant menu's check-in, out times, channel guide, etc. You have to hunt stuff down. Amazing. Fourth, its not a great location as its far walk(that we made anyway) from the IGA grocery store and Coco Bistro (see review). Fifth, maybe because it was December, but the pool was cold and not heated. Seven Stars' is heated.

Probably will give a similar class hotel(Veranda, Regent Palms, Regent Grand, Gansevoort) a try before going back to the Somerset.

Oh one more thing, there seems a real lack of good ice cream on the island. We've been to the Island Scoops(across from the mall area, near Saltmills)a few times before, but this time it was expensive and inedible. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: The cottage rooms away from the beach are fine, the walk is only one minute over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank TravelorNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2011

A luxury property, great staff and an amazing location.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVProducerVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
1.5 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
#3 of 44 in Providenciales
2,407 reviews
0.1 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
428 reviews
2.3 km away
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
#5 of 44 in Providenciales
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Regent Grand
The Regent Grand
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
747 reviews
0.8 km away
Beaches Turks & Caicos Resort Villages & Spa
1.6 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#10 of 44 in Providenciales
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerset on Grace Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerset on Grace Bay

Property: The Somerset on Grace Bay
Address: Princess Drive | Grace Bay, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Providenciales
#2 Spa Hotel in Providenciales
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Providenciales
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Providenciales
#4 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price range (per night): $449 - $2,648
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Somerset on Grace Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 4.6 Acres of the world-famous Turks and Caicos beach, The Somerset on Grace Bay is an intimate luxury resort where couples and families alike enjoy treasured times together. The five-star resort features 53 one- to five-bedroom luxury villas ranging from 1,400 to 5,300 sq. Ft. Each with ample living, dining and entertaining spaces and gourmet kitchens equipped with Viking appliances. Two restaurants and bars, two freshwater pools, fitness center, full service spa with in-suite spa services, a range of activities on land and sea, complimentary Caicos Kids Club, and concierge services complement your family vacation, group getaway or romantic interlude. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Somerset on Grace Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel Providenciales
Somerset On Grace Bay Providenciales
Somerset Grace Bay
Somerset On Grace Bay Hotel
The Somerset On Grace Bay Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing