We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,121)
Filter reviews
2,121 results
Traveller rating
1,185
720
131
46
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,185
720
131
46
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet pool mango reef pelican bay restaurant botanical view coco bistro ocean view grocery store quiet zone grace bay club med washer dryer full kitchen rented a car stayed in building beautiful beach third floor free bikes
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 2,121 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Had an oceanfront studio for New Years week!! Gorgeous. Beach is so beautiful, very clean. The staff at the bar and restaurant are awesome!!! Such fun and sweet sweet people!!! The grounds were very pretty and lots of beautiful flowers blooming. Pools were really kept clean. Restaurant has a great menu. Food was delicious never mind the drinks Service was perfect!!! Lots of laughs!! I'll be returning soon.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
5  Thank sntropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend and another couple for New Years (apparently their busy season).

Be prepared to spend >$100 for some type of all you can eat celebration on New Year’s Eve (this does not include the cost of drinks) and the food was fantastic, but just a heads up.

Pros:
- Room amenities
- Accommodating/friendly staff

We booked a two bedroom suite, which had one bedroom locked off and the other in the same room as the common area - including two lounge chairs and a couch, kitchen with kitchen table and breakfast bar, full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker (with coffee and tea included) and dish ware. More than enough room for 2 couples to enjoy together or separate.

Upon our planned departure, there was a HUGE snowstorm in NY. JetBlue inconsiderately jerked us around for HOURS on end until finally cancelling our flight after 12 hours of hourly updated delays. Upon inquiry with the staff - they let us keep our suitcases in our room and squat there until we knew what JetBlue was doing with our flight. We updated them every couple hours until about 4PM (mind you checkout is at 11AM) when we decided to book the room to assure we would have somewhere to stay. Finally after it being cancelled they continued to let us have the same room we were already in for 2 additional nights at the same rate.

The staff was nothing but friendly and accommodating! Especially the manager.

Cons:
- Smokey room (please read below)
- Location of AC vent

Really my only complaint about the facility (which is not even much of the hotels fault) was the fact that we were staying in a 2 bedroom suite and one of the rooms reeked of cigarette smoke. The room we were in was a non-smoking room, but our suspicion was that someone must’ve been sitting on the deck chain smoking with the sliding glass door open. The other couple we traveled with stayed in there - and as long as the sliding glass door was open, you couldn’t smell the smoke. Aside from that the only other inconvenience was that in our room, the AC vent blows directly onto the bed. So whoever is sleeping on the side of the bed closest to the wall - prepare to sleep in a sweatshirt and experience hurricane type winds periodically throughout the night.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Nmartinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

My first time in Turks and Caicos. It was amazing. I really enjoyed staying at the Royal West Indies property. I had a top floor ocean view. The grounds were very well maintained. Their restaurant, Pelican Bay, has the best Happy Hour! Derek, Premy, Morgenson, Y-Jay and Suger (all of whom work at the Pelican Bay) are the absolute best! The drinks and food are excellent. The only reason I did not give 5 stars was that my room was somewhat dated. Although it was cleaned every day and had a washer and dryer, it would have been nice to have a more modern room. Otherwise my stay there was perfect!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
5  Thank JCJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

We are fortunate to have traveled through many Caribbean islands, however this was our first visit to Turks & Caicos. It was a late decision for us to head down and thaw out on the Xmas 2017-New Years break…so our options were limited. Using Trip Advisor, we found and settled on a 1 bedroom suite at the Royal West Indies and were satisfied with the choice. The following are the key tips I think most travelers would be interested in:
1. Getting there was relatively easy. We flew through Atlanta, and the arrival was effortless. We were through customs, with our bags and in our cab enroute to the Royal West Indies within 20 mins of landing.
2. One of the things to be aware of is cabs charge per person. The more people you have in the cab, the more they charge you. You can ask up front what the charge will be before getting in the cab and they will tell you, but you can typically get anywhere in Provo for between $7US and $20US per person in the cab.
a. If you are planning on moving about the islands while here, you may be better off renting a car. You can rent from Grace Bay Car Rentals (rather than Avis) and they will provide it for you at the airport. Should you not need it for a few days you can let them know and they will come get it from you at RWI, and even drop it back off for you the day you need to return back to the airport.
b. If you are going out and back to long jaunt (ie the Conch Shack which is worth the $20/head cab ride), you can negotiate a discounted rate for the out and back. We had 8 people in our crew and were able to negotiate a total of $240 out and back.
3. RWI is on Grace Bay beach which is a very nice powdery sand beach that doesn’t burn/hurt the feet. It is a pleasure to walk , play sand games on and just chill. There is a “pop-up” bar with a volleyball net just a ½ mile or so down the beach that is pretty cool place to gather, socialize and be active, should you choose. There is a reef around the entire island which protects Grace Bay beach from any large waves. It is not a surfing beach, it is a chill beach that you can enjoy swimming, wading, SUP’s, etc… RWI provides SUP’s, Hobie Cat, and boogie boards for free to use. On a rough day there is a beach break that you can get some short boogie board rides on.
4. The reason I categorized RWI as a 4 star resorts are as follows:
a. It is an older structure of 8 separate 3 story buildings that are individually owned. They haven’t been updated in probably over a decade, however they are well kept.
i. There are 2 room styles there. One is a expansive 1 king bedroom suite that includes a large kitchen and living area (one bath), as well as a washer and dryer. These one bedroom suites are all corner units in the building. In between them are Studio rooms. The corner 1 bedroom suites share a common entrance with the studio room next to it. All 3 doors lock, but if you need a 2 bedroom experience you can rent the 1 bedroom suite and the studio next to it and leave the interior doors open for a 2 BR experience while locking the exterior door.
ii. The only 2 disappointments I had causing me to give it a 4 star rating were:
1. There is very limited hot water for showering. We had 4 adults in our crew, and I didn’t have one hot shower the entire stay (I typically showered #3, or #4 in the lineup). It was never a cold shower because the island temperature was always in the 80’s F, but the hot water was usually gone by the time I got in the shower…we stayed in unit 821.
2. There are no elevators in any of the buildings so you’ll be carrying luggage/groceries up stairs if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
3. Wifi is very spotty throughout the resort. We had coverage in the master bedroom and on our balcony but not in between.
4. There is not a fitness center on premise.
iii. There are 2 pools and a nice indoor/outdoor restaurant bar on your way out to a very nice beach. The bar closes at 10pm, however, so if you plan to party later than that you’ll either need to hit one of the establishments in town, or buy your own booze (we did both). The pools are clean and the property is very well manicured/maintained.
iv. The staff and service is outstanding. We had our 2 college aged kids with us and even though the suite came with a pullout couch, asked for a rollaway bed so that each kid could have their own bed and not have to share the pullout. RWI was out of rollaway beds so they went and borrowed one from another resort and brought it up to us.
1. Late checkout is noon. We asked nicely and since there was no one coming to occupy our room on checkout day, they allowed us to checkout at 1pm without the $55 late fee.
v. RWI is a 25 minute walk into town where there is a grocery store a fitness center, ice cream place, several good restaurants and bars. RWI also loans bikes for free 2 hour slots that you can ride into town during daylight hours (10 min ride). Coco Bistro and Coco Van are Grace Bay favorites, however we were late to the game and couldn’t get reservations. We did enjoy eating at the Landing (really chill outdoor space in town with limited tables and very good food), Via Veneto (Italian food), and Caravel (island fare and very close to RWI).
vi. The Conch Shack is worth going to on Wednesday nights as they have live music and it is right on the beach. The food is good, not as good as the Landing, but the experience is worth the trip. Frankly, we didn’t have a bad meal on the island.
1. We did buy a bunch of breakfast and lunch food at the grocery store on day #1 (after working out in the fitness center in town of course), as well as booze, wine and beer to save a few bucks and that worked out well.
vii. Thursday evening I strongly suggest going to the “Fish Fry”. It is a short 10 min cab ride from RWI and there are typically several hundred to 2k people there from all over the island eating and drinking local fare from 15+ food vendors (Conch salads, Jerk/BBQ/Grilled chicken, Lobster tails, fried locally caught snapper/grouper, etc…There are live bands playing on a center stage as well as a DJ driving interaction, dancing and singing. A cool experience with the locals…it is family friendly, but definitely caters to teens and above.
viii. In our group of 8 we did have 2 get intestinal illness while on the island. However, they are 2 collegiate knuckleheads that decided to overindulge one night drinking mixed drinks with ice cubes, as well as tap water. Those of us that drank bottled water and avoided drinking anything with ice cubes in it, didn’t suffer any challenges. The 2 knuckleheads were out of commission for 24-48 hours, not being able to venture far from a restroom.
ix. We had hoped to do multiple excursions but with the 2 knuckleheads being knocked out of commission we were limited to having only a few days to be able to do the excursions. We really enjoyed the guided 2 hour jetski tour and got to see the Ferrari mansion, Pirate Cave, jump off the 35’ cliff adjacent to Pirate Cave, Turtle Rock and the Shipwreck just off shore. We used Tropical Waves for the adventure, and they were mediocre. Their shuttle picked us up an hour late, and the tour guide was not very motivated to show us much. We would have liked to have seen some of the other spots like Prince’s mansion, and Iguana island, but our crew of 8 still had a ball. If you can find another Jetski provider other than Tropical Waves that can show you the items above, and they are rated well, use them…if not Tropical Waves is “fine” but just be sure to let them know what stops you want to make ahead of time.
x. The RWI New Years Eve beach party was pretty cool. They have a live DJ, cash bar and bbq. We ate dinner elsewhere, but came down to the beach for the last couple of hours of 2017 and are happy we did. There was a vibrant/friendly crowd of a couple of hundred folks, taking in the bon fire, dancing, singing and enjoying a 30 min fireworks show…several resorts on Grace Bay were blowing off fireworks to ring in the new year and it was really cool to be watching it all going on down the beach.
Royal West Indies provides good value for the cost and tremendous service. The Turks & Caicos people are some of the most friendly and caring people we’ve had the pleasure of visiting in the Caribbean. It is a very family friendly environment as well as adult friendly. They supply ample beach towels, beach chairs, and umbrellas, free of charge. We never once had an issue getting towels or chairs, even on those occasions where we got down to the beach late.
The true measure of a place, in my opinion, is if one would return to the place again. I would return to the RWI…but would have to get past not being able to take hot showers while there. 

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor ocean view if possible. 1 Bedroom suites are expansive!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
32  Thank darrinn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed in room 335M (2 bedroom suite). It provided excellent views of the pool, restaurant and ocean. Grounds, beach and proximity to town were very good. Unfortunately, these pros were outweighed by the cons: two out of three beds creaked loudly every time you rolled over, there wasn’t enough hot water in one of the showers, and the restaurant played music loud enough to wake the dead until 10 or 11pm three out of six nights. Such a shame, the place has a lot of potential.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank gozer5378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews