We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iguanas!”
Review of Little Water Cay

Little Water Cay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Island in the Turks and Caicos islands, the only place in the world to see the endangered rock iguana in its natural habitat.
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Many half and full day snorkel tours apparently stop on this small island. It is interesting. Iguanas everywhere. They won't bother you so there's no need to fear if you were to visit with little kids. Walking around the island is also enjoyable.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank low-maintenance-57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"iguana island"
in 50 reviews
"small island"
in 15 reviews
"rock iguanas"
in 11 reviews
"rented a tandem kayak"
in 4 reviews
"definitely worth the trip"
in 3 reviews
"half moon bay"
in 11 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 3 reviews
"blue haven"
in 6 reviews
"caribbean side"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 4 reviews
"few hours"
in 6 reviews
"snorkeling tour"
in 5 reviews
"private beach"
in 4 reviews
"explore the island"
in 3 reviews
"sting ray"
in 3 reviews
"lemon sharks"
in 5 reviews
"amazing beach"
in 3 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2018

Really wanted to spend a few hours on this small island, in order to meet the iguanas and also allow some time to walk along to Half Moon Bay, so opted to make our own way there by kayak. You need a calm day and favourable weather conditions for this, and fortunately it wasn’t too challenging a trip, probably took about 40 minutes but we weren’t rushing. We hired the kayaks from Big Blue Unlimited after phoning them first thing on the day, and set off about 10am, returning for 2ish, which cost us 45 dollars each.
Once we’d beached the kayak we saw iguanas everywhere on the island and they were very friendly, especially around the picnic spot, wonder why that is?? Half Moon Bay is well worth making the effort to reach, it is probably the most photogenic (my photos don’t do it justice!!) and beautiful beach I will ever see, just how you imagine a paradise beach, and best of all, for most of the time we were there it was completely deserted, soooo Robinson Crusoe! Probably if we had walked all the way to the north end of the bay it would have been even more picture postcard, but it seemed a bit too far to venture on such a baking hot day. Take ultra strong sunscreen, sunhat, water and map reading skills, especially if kayaking, and enjoy!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

My favorite place hands down. I love animals and seeing all these iguanas all over the place made me super excited to take photos and be able to see them in their natural habitat. Then the other side of the island was the most beautiful place I have ever seen. It was such a beautiful aqua and clear blue ocean and you could walk what seemed like miles and it was only knee deep and there were little fish everywhere.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We visited here as part of a snorkeling excursion, and it was one of the highlights of the trip. Our boys had fun with the countless iguanas, and we walked through the shallow (knee deep) cay with baby nurse sharks around us. The beaches are stunning, with sand spits that extend out seemingly into the middle of the ocean. A really unique experience!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Great place to see iguanas on yet another wonderful stretch of beach.

The precious animals' extinction is being accelerated by humans' need to feed them junk.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank PBCinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Water Cay also viewed

Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
Providenciales, Turks and Caicos
 

Been to Little Water Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing