We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
539
213
49
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
213
49
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk grocery store grace bay club continental breakfast within walking distance chose villa full kitchen hot tub deluxe studio graceway gourmet beach access washer and dryer beach attendants coco bistro banana bread directly across the street beach service
Filter
Updating list...
736 - 741 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Paradise to me is having the most beautiful beaches in the world surrounded by a luxuriuos,clean and a private hotel off the geograpy of hurricane alley. My husband and I have been all over the caribbean and this destination would top them all. The beaches are pristine and the water is a turquoise blue that makes Betty Davis' eyes look ordinary. The service was subtle yet effiecient as they respected your privacy but were eager to assist upon call. There is nothing better than a virtually brand new complex to gaurantee that the elements of the caribbean ocean have not worn it down and Villa del Mar is no exception. You can either relax by the pool or take a stroll to the beach as the sun regenerizes you and gives you that feeling of non stop love. My husband and I came back rekindled and closer than ever. Thank you Villa del Mar.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasperJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Absolutely amazing!! Friendly staff and great food. Our children are still talking about this experiance. Highly reccomend to everyone looking for a perfect getaway vacation!
We are already planning to return next year!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AzzyWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed at Villa Del Mar for six nights in August. Grace Bay beach is the most beautiful beach I have ever been on. It was quiet and clean, the water was beautiful and the sun hot! If you are looking for a great beach vacation, this is the location.

Pros:
*Nice Rooms - The room was furnished with very modern and new furniture and white clean bed linens. The AC was powerful and quiet, and the bed was incredibly comfortable. We stayed in a studio, and our favorite parts about the room were the fact that shutters opened from the tub connecting the bedroom to the bathroom, and the giant balcony. We sat on that every morning and evening, for hours. We never had any problem with any noise from the pool either, and although I generally get eaten alive by bugs, it wasn't a problem with the breeze. The studio also had a kitchenette, which given the cost of food on the island was nice.
*Great Cleaning Staff - The room, even when we were tracking in sand, etc. everyday was cleaned meticulously. Even if dirty dishes were left, they were washed and put away.
*Price - Huge deal for this island, and a great value for the money.

Cons:
*Internet - No high speed internet, and the computer in the lobby essentially does not work. Not a problem for us, but something to consider.
*Staff - As other reviews have said, the staff is sort of hit or miss. They were friendly enough to us, but never really seemed to go out of their way. This didn't particularly bother us though, we sort of prefer to be left alone anyways.
*Beach Umbrellas - A few of the days there were no beach umbrellas for VDM. We usually would be at the beach for a little less than an hour, and someone would leave so we could use one.

Tips:
*We would have rented the one bedroom in retrospect for the full kitchen. The food on the island is overpriced, and not really good enough to be worth the cost. Plus, most days we were incredibly tired from all the sun, and would have preferred to just make something at the hotel. We wished we had dropped say 200 dollars on prepared meals (i.e. Dream Dinners) and brought these with us.
*Bring ice trays if you want ice for drinks.
*The water is ok to drink, but has a strange taste. There is an IGA about a five or eight minute walk away where you can stock up on water and other goods. VERY expensive though. In retrospect, if we had had extra room in a bag we would have taken snacks and things with us.
*Buy booze at the duty free on your way onto the island. Huge money saver.
*Don't eat at Anacoana across the street. Biggest waste of the most money. Mango Reef and Hemmingways, thumbs up. There is an ok pizza place where we ate pizza a few nights. Jimmy's Dive Bar is not good.

Overall, we really really enjoyed our vacation to TCI. We will certainly be returning, and Villa Del Mar definitely may be the hotel we come back to. A perfect vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pebbles1673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My husband and I just returned from the Villa del Mar in Providencials, Turks and Caicos. Well, we checked into the property on Sunday, September 20th, and I must say the young lady was pleasant, but that was about it--- she did not explain anything to us, just said oh your driving, your building is right there. We were never offered any assistance with our luggage, or as in most places when you stay at a condo type property, they show you where the safe is, how to use the ac, washer, dryer or etc. Nope she just didn't do anything!!!!! Well, we did stay in a studio, which was lovely, and our cleaning person (Daisy) was so much on top of things!!!! Yes, another review said somthing about a smell, but they are working on the Grace Bay Club and heavy equipment is running with water and smells, that is what they were talking about. I am very, very anal about cleanliness and smells, and this room was definitely up-to-par!!! the furnishings were wonderful. Only problem is that the designer cannot be an island person, because after awhile things are going to rust and leave rust marks (ex. soap dish in bathroom). You don't use that type of thing on an island!!!! Too much humidity!!!!
Property is lovely, very well maintained.. except for one day the pool had not been cleaned, but we asked and they hopped right to it.

Yes internet service leaves a lot to be desired, even though they claim wifi, it is almost non existent!!!!!! We even sat on our balcony and had our laptop facing every which way and still had a real hard time receiving signal, and of course the computer that they had in lobby was malfunctioning. Yes the continental breakfast is lame, you pick 2 pastries and a juice, sometimes you had to ask for the sheet to fill out as it wasn't readily given to you.

We were there during off-season, and really off-season, as most of the restaurants were closed, and many people complained about that, but also properties were totally closed. The Turks and Caicos Tourist Board should post what is open and what is not!!!! We did not have any problem finding things, as we are familar with the island and would just find something else if the one we wanted was closed.

If you are going, bring along "off" or something like it, as the no-see-ums will definitely get you and get you good!!!!!!! I had spray and still got bitten alive. It didn't seem to bother my husband, but they did to me.

Washer and dryer are a good thing to have as you can go home with clean clothes, and I think that the next time we go back we will do the one bedroom so we can have an oven and stove if we want one. We had a studio and it was very spacious, and was great, but just in case we want to make something we can. As there are days that you are at the beach all day and just want to stay in and not go out, as you are wiped from the sun and water.

I thought we were going to get hit with additional charges upon check out, but we were fine with what we had been quoted, and the girl at the front desk was wonderful, as she had been all week. I had to ask her name, as there are two others one that I already mentioned (it must be the rude one that everyone mentions), and it sounded like an older one being the second one, and this young lady was the "nicest" of all of them, and her name was Nadhalia. I wish she had been on when we had checked in, rather than one of the others!!!!!! Nadhalia, was very nice, pleasant and helpful, and always had a smile on her face, and would give information if needed. The property should be proud to have her working the front desk and should try and have a couple of others with a personality like hers and not like theres!!!!!!!

You ask, would we go back, yes!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shirleync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The location is probably one of the best on Turks & Caicos and the hotel is just across from the Grace Bay Club and Grace Bay beach (beautiful beach). The rooms are lovely, but they smelled moldy, like they hadn't been aired out properly. We had our room changed (which took about 3 days), and that still wasn't a great improvement. This was definitely the biggest problem we had, since no matter how nice the room is the most important thing is that it's clean (and that it smells clean).
The continental breakfast which was supposed to be included with the room has been discontinued, so instead you have to fill out a form and return in by a certain time to get your 2 pastries and juice. If you don't, they don't bring it to you.
The people at the desk were sometimes very nice and other times not so nice. But this seems to be how people are on the island. They just all seem to be very bothered any time they have to do anything.
One of the best aspects about the hotel is that it's just across the street from the beach, but don't expect much beach service. The umbrellas available that were not broken were 1 or 2, If those 2 were taken you got a broken umbrella. I would rather have had the option of paying for the umbrella service and getting a functioning umbrella.
I wouldn't stay in this hotel again, but the island is beautiful and overall it was a great vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vacanzeaicaraibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews