We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
539
212
49
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
212
49
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk grocery store grace bay club continental breakfast within walking distance chose villa full kitchen hot tub deluxe studio graceway gourmet beach access washer and dryer beach attendants coco bistro banana bread directly across the street beach service
Filter
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Just came back from Turks and Caicos vacation on the Black Friday Eve. The overall experience was fabulous. Hotel is great, location is perfect, sea (ocean) and beach was prestine, weather was cooperative. What else? The room was clean and normally equiped with kitchenet and all necessary dishes (no microwave dishes though). Supermarket in 10 min lazy walk, normal american style supermarket with the prices 2-2.5 times higher than in states.
Deli department had salads, cooked lobster tail ($9 for half). Sea Side caffe next to our Villa's beach had a delishious take out fritte conchs - 7 pieces $10 and Ceasar salad with groupper or chicken- $14.
Pool- side bar at the hotel has everyday special-$9 a coctail, regular price -$12.
Several restaurants around running from casual to fine dining- on a pricy side but for a new yorkers-not so bad, just double the price at Manhattan. The stuff is friendly and very helpful on any issue, we didn't have any, but saw other people being satisfied. Free wifi in every room and around the pool. On the beach is free wifi of another hotel's is making your stay well-connected.
you can't beat the quality of beach and the torqueous water so the price happened to be just right.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sunfunlady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2014

DATES:
Fall2014 for one week.
This was our first time at Turks and Caicos and it is a stunning island, but not very developed. We felt safe walking around, going to grocery stores, people on the Island are very friendly. It is a beautiful island with incredible beaches and perfect place to relax.

WEATHER:
no complaints

LOCATION:
20 min from the airport.
2 min walk from Grace Bay Beach, 10 min walk from Graceway Gourment IGA where you can get most of your groceries. The bank is right next to the store and right across is a car rental place.

RECEPTION:
They had punch at the reception but did not offer it to us. We had to take it ourselves.
The reception area is very small, air-conditioned with computers to use and cold water and cups. Service was friendly but not helpful at all. We had to find out on our own what was open and what was not. Linco was not helpful at all. We would want to book an event he would give us pamphlets and when we wanted to book he would tell us the tourist office is closed. So we didn't do much.

BREAKFAST:
Very basic. The breakfast was the same every morning:
Coffee, tea, milk, boxed cereal, oranges, bananas, jam, peanut butter, butter, cream cheese, fresh sweet pastries and croissants, bagels, bread, English muffins and juices.
You can take the breakfast back to your unit and eat on the patio.

SUITE:
We stayed in a studio. It had a washer/dryer (bring your soap) and a very nice patio with table/chairs and lounger
WIFI connection available.The A/C worked excellent. The rooms are fine.

KITCHEN: (Studio)
has most of what you need: coffee maker and coffee, glasses, plates, microwave, can/wine openers, bar fridge, dish soap, paper towel and toaster.

BATHROOM:
There is only one bathroom, it has a bathtub, nice shower but one sink only. Shampoo, conditioner, soap are provided. Clean towels are also provided daily.

SERVICE AND HOUSEKEEPING:
Good and friendly. Israel was great. He went to great lengths.

BEACH:
STUNNING and BEAUTIFUL !!! 3 min walk from the hotel (cross the street, which was not busy at all and turn left on the sand)

Grace Bay Beach is just beautiful. It is calm and stunningly turquoise, powdery white sand. You can walk for miles each direction. It is absolutely stunning scenery and very relaxing. Water was warm; you can easily spend hours in there.
Towels and cold water for drinking (bring a bottle or a mug to keep the sand/heat out) is provided right at the beach. You can also order drinks and food from the beach attendant. You could eat at nearby restaurant - Seaside cafee (Ocean club west resort) .
They also provide you with toys for kids but they were not in the greatest of shapes and they really didn't have much - so that was a bit lame.

Umbrellas and loungers are provided and we never had problem getting one. The beach wasn`t busy at all it had an amazing relaxing feel to it. No palm trees on the beach and even the white sand can get hot at some points.

POOL:
There are couple of pools with very comfortable loungers around. There was hardly anyone ever there. Again no pool noodles as they didn't have any. So they weren't very equipped in that dept like they said.

GROCERY STORE:
Graceway grocery store is located 10 min walk from the hotel and it has everything you need.
The store is generally overpriced on most items but that's the deal. We found the ready made food was priced well.

DOWNTOWN:
only about 15 min walk, with ton of restaurants and souvenir shops but they close at 6pm. So you can't go after dinner.

OTHER:
There are also couple of BBQ's (outside) at Villa Del Mar for you to use.
Every Friday is a get together for all guests and they server rum punch and chips, crackers/ cheese, nuts...and Captain Bill was a great host everyday and everynight

The hotel does not have its own restaurant but there are many restaurants withing 5 min from the hotel.

I world highly recommend this hotel for a nice and relaxing vacation. I will definitely come back.

You want good ice cream...go to the Patty Place....omg. for those who say it is expensive...well it's around $9 per person - but only if you get the 3 gigantic scoops...otherwise we did the one scoop and boy did she pile it on...what friendly people...

Fall 2014, travelled with family

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank mellina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Villa Del Mar, and we truly enjoyed our stay here! Before I get into the details, here's my summary: Exceptional Value. Excellent Property. Good Service.

I hope the following information will help you make a decision about staying at Villa Del Mar. Scroll to the bottom of the review to get a few tips to make your stay the best it can be.

Overall Stay:
We loved our stay at Villa Del Mar, and particularly enjoyed the luxurious rooms at a great price! The property is clean, well kept, and has some amazing views. The staff was friendly and helpful, and their recommendations all turned out to be great ones. The hotel lacks in the food and beverage department, but we knew this going in. The location is so good that you'll never have to worry about walking a few minutes away to get great food and drinks, even some that are right on the beach! I did speak with the Director of Development and Operations, who said they're building across the street and will be adding a restaurant and bar. You can still get drinks at the bar by the pool, but we rarely stayed when we wanted food or drinks. Location is great! Do NOT be worried about the fact the hotel isn't "on the beach." You could easily stay at a larger resort that is technically on the beach, but would have an even further walk to the sand than our walk from Villa Del Mar. You're literally 2 minutes from the beach at Villa Del Mar. Location is great!

ROOMS:
The only downside was a strong scent of what was likely cleaning supplies when we walked in. I couldn't tell if it was bleach, or something else, but the entire room had a very strong scent upon arrival. The scent faded over the next couple of days, and everything else about the room was amazing. The shower and sunken tub were very nice features in the bathroom. The living room was very spacious with a comfy couch, flat screen TV, and breakfast table with nice chairs. The kitchenette had a sink, fridge, microwave, and silverware/glassware. The bed was very comfortable too. We also really enjoyed having the patio with furniture and the lounge chair was incredibly comfortable! One more note - having a washing machine and dryer was amazing, and you won't have to pack your suitcase full of clothes!

PROPERTY:
The property was very clean and looked amazing. They have two pools, which are pretty good. If you're planning on spending a lot of time in the pools, I'd probably go somewhere other than Grace Bay anyway. You need to be in the ocean! The chairs you can lay on surrounding the pool are honestly the most comfortable pool-side chairs I have ever laid on. Anywhere. We also had a couple of issues with the hotel running out of towels, but management was quick to address the issue and informed us that they had just ordered a bunch of new towels. Overall, the property was very nice, but not as luxurious as some of the hotels on the beach. But you cannot beat the value!

SERVICE:
Service was what we expected it to be, which was a good thing. I read beforehand that the Villa Del Mar is not the kind of place that provides luxurious pool-side service, where somebody constantly keeps an eye out for what you might need (towels, food, drink, etc.). But again, we wanted to spend most of our time on the beach and exploring the island, so we didn't go to Villa Del Mar expecting to get the service we'd expect elsewhere. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and they provided great recommendations for activities and restaurants. The front desk staff will book things right there for you, and the beach staff was VERY helpful with everything we needed. One more note about service - the Director of Operations and other managers frequently asked us how our stay was as we passed by. They're genuine concern for how things were going was nice to see.

DINING:
The continental breakfast was okay, but honestly, we ate at the Grace Bay Club right across the street, or went to a cafe called Shay's Cafe & Lounge which you'll need a car to get to. The good news is that Villa Del Mar's location is excellent! The Grace Bay Club is right next door and on the beach. They were very accommodating whenever we went their for food and drinks. They have some of the best beach-side lounges around. The drinks and food were amazing!

BEACH:
Villa Del Mar does have its own designated beach area with furniture, umbrellas, and towel service. They also have free ice-cold water at the towel service station, and the guy that was working there during our stay was a great guy. The only downside was that some lawn chairs need to be replaced because they're tearing. But we just swapped them out with the good ones!

I'll share a few tips and insights that made our stay all that much better:

- We had a rental car for a couple hundred dollars, which helped a lot. We went to all the nice restaurants, and were able to go to Smith's Reef which has AMAZING beach-side snorkeling. The car also helped us get to the grocery store and the shopping area (although we're not big into shopping)
- If you do have a car and you're looking for a place to get a great breakfast without spending a lot of money, go to Shay Cafe & Lounge where you can get an amazing $5 breakfast croissant!
- Eat and drink at the Grace Bay Club next door. They're very welcoming if you're ordering food, and you have to walk through there everyday to the beach anyway.
- If you're going to go SCUBA DIVING - DIVE PROVO is AMAZING! We can't say enough about their staff, quality of training and/or services, and value.
- If you're going to go SNORKELING - nothing beats Smith's Reef, where we saw a sea turtle, octopus, sting rays, vibrant coral, and lots of fish.
- If you're looking for an excursion, ISLAND VIBES is the way to go! Their staff is very nice and super fun! We were lucky to have Sean, the owner, as our boat operator, along with his friend John. They provide free drinks, great music, and make conch seviche right on the boat! Iguana Island was amazing. They will pick you up right on the beach at Villa Del Mar's spot.
- If you're into fine dining, eat at Coco Bistro and Magnolia's. Unbelievable!

I'm excited to see what Villa Del Mar builds across the street as they grow and expand. We will definitely be back! I don't think any other place can beat the value, location, and rooms at this hotel. GREAT STAY!

Room Tip: I didn't see any rooms that I wouldn't like. They all seemed to face inward toward the pool, and every room has a patio or balcony. Can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Crag_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2014

We stayed at Villa Del Mar and absolutely loved it! We stayed in the one bedroom + den unit (the den had a queen size pull out). It was spacious, luxurious and exceptionally clean! it is a smaller place, so even if the hotel is at max capacity, you never feel crowded at the pool etc. The beach is hardly a walk away, even though it's 'not on the beach', I've stayed at hotels that ARE on the beach with farther walks. There are plenty of nearby restaurants and an IGA that is clean and very close. Not only would I recommend this place to everyone looking for a beautiful beach get-away, I'm booking again for this January! The only con would have to be the little mosquito bugs that they call 'no-see-ums', which A. you cant control and B. completely go away with just a squirt of bug spray.

We took a boar ride with Island Vibes (big catamaran, I believe they have facebook) they took us to iguana island and actually dove for a fresh conch to make us conch salad! it was remarkable, I cant wait to be back there!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014

The staff at VDM was out of this world, including the 'Beach Brothers' - made our stay a great one. The room was perfect for a couple, pool and bar was more than adequate. The breakfast could have been better; however the local restaurants and supermarket nearby substituted the routine breakfast menu. Will be back for sure!!

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the pool are better
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews