We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Paradise”
Review of Villa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa del Mar
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Providenciales
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Villa del Mar for our weekend getaway in Providenciales. Our room was the deluxe studio and it was exactly what we needed. Nice furnishings, balcony, and a mini kitchenette. Every morning they provide breakfast that consisted of toast, pastries, bagels, fruit, assortment of cereal, juice, coffee and oatmeal. I have read from other reviewers that this was not enough but I thought it was perfect to get us through our morning excursions. Also we visited during slow season so it was very quiet. Although it is not situated beachfront, it only took about a 2 minute walk to Grace Bay Beach. We did not mind this at all as it also meant that we did not have to pay the exuberant beachfront prices. We did not have a car so we walked everywhere and it was a good location for a 5-10 minute walk to shops, restaurants, Scotiabank, and the Graceway Gourmet. The staff is also friendly and helped with all our questions. All in all great value and great place. This was our first time in TCI and it definitely will not be the last.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank euniiikilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 317 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2014

My husband and I stayed here and had the most wonderful time. I found it on trip advisor and I'm so glad I did. Great pool that was usually empty, fabulous front desk people and a short walk to the beach. Great location, huge condo and free cocktails once a week. Not to mention Bill the bartender is fantastic. He makes the best drinks ever. Loved Turks and was blown away by VDM. When we go back to T&C would we return for sure!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank hualalai826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2014

I visited Turks and Caicos for the first time 3 weeks ago. It was simply amazing! From the beautiful beaches and awesome scenery, if you are looking for a place to unwind and relax then this is the place for you. The hotel itself is clean, the staff is cordial, overall a tranquil environment. The only thing that can throw you back is the cost of living out there. A simple dining experience in a local spot can still cost you an arm and a leg. A box of cereal in the supermarket is $8!!! Still, the weather was gorgeous, and I would consider going again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

My teenaged son and I just returned from a five night stay at VDM. We booked a studio room with Jetsetter which was a fantastic deal and ended up getting upgraded (without even asking) to a beautiful two bedroom unit complete with kitchen. Our room was super clean and well equipped and had daily maid service. When we first arrived, there were very few other guests but it gradually got busier on the weekend. At no time did it feel overcrowded. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful including one day helping to carry our heavy groceries up to our room which was very much appreciated.

The hotel is located across the street from the beach - truly only a couple minute's walk. Each day we loaded up our cooler of drinks and snacks and set up on the beach section reserved for VDM guests. There was always a VDM staff member there to ensure we had chairs, umbrella, towels etc and his station also had free cold water, boogie boards, etc that we just had to ask for. The first day we arrived we hadnt been to the grocery store yet so i ordered a bucket of the local Turks Head Lager ($25 for 5) which they brought to our chairs. I took the unfinished ones back to VDM and the next day found that 6 packs of the same beer was $10 at the grocery store so bought them there from then on. I found taking our own drinks and snacks was a great alternative to buying from the bar/restaurant on site (which is actually the Ocean Club property). One day we had a strong rain shower while at the beach so we took refuge a the OC restaurant and each ordered ice cream to wait out the storm. The bill was $29 plus tip for 2 ice creams!!!

We were both VERY impressed with the availability and speed of the wifi at the hotel, by the pool and even on the beach! Even sending and downloading pictures was relatively speedy.

Ocean Club has a lovely "infinity bar" on the property which is a perfect place to sit and watch the sunset. AGain, the price of drinks at this resort (an island thing) were quite high so beware.

The IGA grocery store is located an easy walk (less than 10 mins) away and is beside a Scotiabank branch (familiar to Canadians). Avis car rental is also just across the street from that. We rented a car for 2 days and were happy with the service and the rates there too.

Villa Del Mar is not fancy but its is very nice and i think was a great value for anyone that does not want to pay $400-600 a night for oceanfront resorts. I usually stay in 5 star hotels and was pleasantly surprised by our stay at VDM. Also, we learned return guests get an additional 15% discount from rates. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mom2andie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed at Villa Del Mar for a week in October. Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. Staff were attentive, helpful and friendly but very unobtrusive. Accommodation was very comfortable and had everything you needed. The beach is just across the road, it really didn't matter that it wasn't situated directly on it. The beach is breathtaking. We would return in a heartbeat and in fact, have already started planning our next trip. Paradise in a home away from home!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providenciales hotels
2 km away
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
The Palms, Turks and Caicos
#11 of 44 in Providenciales
562 reviews
0.3 km away
Seven Stars Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Ports of Call Resort
Ports of Call Resort
#17 of 44 in Providenciales
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Royal West Indies Resort
Royal West Indies Resort
#18 of 44 in Providenciales
2,032 reviews
3.4 km away
Windsong Resort
Windsong Resort
#6 of 44 in Providenciales
1,623 reviews
1.6 km away
The Sands at Grace Bay
The Sands at Grace Bay
#19 of 44 in Providenciales
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Mar

Address: Crescent Road, TKCA 1ZZ, Providenciales
Region: Caribbean > Turks and Caicos > Providenciales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Providenciales
Price Range: $249 - $1,150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa del Mar is the perfect island retreat for a vacation filled with endless sunshine and delightful diversions. Located on Providenciales (a.k.a. Provo), the most developed island in the Turks and Caicos chain, Villa del Mar is just steps from the 12 mile strip of sugary fine sand and cerulean blue water known as Grace Bay Beach, internationally recognized as one of the world's top 10 beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Mar Hotel Providenciales
Hotel Del Mar
Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Turks And Caicos/Providenciales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing