We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise ”

Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: USD 10 - USD 16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We saw the reviews on TripAdvisor and thought we must try it.
Wow....... from the minute we arrived at this quaint place to the time we left was a great experience.
A very simple place, but clean and with amazing food and owners.
Iain & Paula treated us like guests into their home.
They recommended what they thought would be nice, it tied in with our choices, the Lobster magic special with scallops in a coconut curry sauce, the lamb cutlets were to tie for and the shrimps delightful along with the flat garlic bread WOW !!!!
Don't expect a fancy restaurant, but I promise you a great food and company ...... we cannot recommend this enough.
Steve & Hanh xx

Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain F, Owner at Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Dear Hanh and Steve, thank you so much for your complimentary review. We had a great evening with you both (after I finished cooking!). Hope we see you again soon so we can do it all over again. Paula and Iain :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Amazing food, wonderful atmosphere and such friendly staff. If you're staying around these parts then do yourself a favour and get along for a real taste of Tobago.

Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piiposse, Owner at Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Thank you Kelly, glad you appreciate, we cannot wait to see you soon. Ivana, Paula and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Visited here with a group of friends. Loved the ambience and personalized touch - from the decor, to the food, to the service.
Each dish was prepared to perfection, with an unexpected twist in flavour. Especially loved the garlic bread, lamb and pork.
Will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deco76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piiposse, Owner at Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

Thank you, looking forward to cooking for you again. PII

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Once upon a time, a most charming couple called Ian and Paula decided that Tobago's array of ethnic food was missing something. Tapas! A little gem of a restaurant, small in size and plates but big in taste! Somewhere in a Scarborough neighbourhood hidden away from it all, Salsa Kitchen takes you back to Spain but injects some Caribbean flavour to remind you this is one of the best in Tobago. The most delicious on our order was the Seafood Ajillo – shrimp, squid & fish in garlic & parsley; Minted Pork – strips of sizzling pork in a sweet & spicy mint sauce; and most definitely the Lamb Caribbean – grilled saddle of lamb in a tamarind sauce w/tomato choka. I can still taste it as I write. Oh and do not forget to order the garlic flatbread! I loved the fresh home cooking but felt the international quality of the food. Ian was always there to recommend and tell you exactly the number of plates that would have you content by the end. Ivana-Sol ensured that we were always comfortable and Paula made us the best meal of our weekend. The rustic feel of Salsa Kitchen, the wonderful and friendly people, the sumptuous and delightful spread definitely made it a favourite in Tobago to return to on our next trip. Reservations are required.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Joni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piiposse, Owner at Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2016

I wonder how they say this in techno times....... TY?!! BTW that means Thank you. I only just figured out what BTW meant! Seriously, we so enjoyed your company that cooking was not work. Hope we see you again soon. TYA, SUA, L........................ Ivana, Paula and Iain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

First impressions are lasting... as I arrived at Salsa Kitchen I was immediately in love with the ambiance. The lighting, the lush foliage, the little details in the decor, the rustic rough-round-the-edges finish. Before the first plate arrived we knew we had chosen well... the scent of Paula's cooking made its way from the kitchen to our table and it was like a tease... we couldn't wait. With Ian's help we chose the perfect array of dishes to feed our table of 5, which included home made garlic bread that complimented perfectly. My faves were the Minted Pork, the Salsa Shrimp and the Lamb chops. Thank you Paula, Ian and Ivana-Sol for stealing our hearts with your food and your hospitality... we will be back! Wishing you continued success.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GCFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain F, Owner at Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Thank you, it is always so satisfying when you cook, prepare a meal for someone and they feel the love. Hope we see you soon GC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant also viewed

 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Salsa Kitchen Tapas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing