We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Stunning Tropical Paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Plantation View

pool and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pool and garden
verandah kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
pool and garden
verandah
kitchen
Large spacious kitchen with washer etc. overlooking front garden.
pool table
pool table
lounge area
TV lounge
Master bedroom
upstairs bedroom
family bedroom dwonstairs
family bedroom
View over the lowlands of Tobago
View of the garden
Garden
Porch
visitors to the villa.... a pair parakeets
woodpecker visiting
View over the lowlands at night
Ideal space for bar.b.q's
Upstairs Layout
Downstairs Layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Marianne...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Stunning Tropical Paradise!”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I arrived back from Tobago almost a week ago now and have been so chilled out and relaxed it has taken me this long to write about how wonderful my holiday experience was. Plantation View Villa is a short car ride from the airport and is set in the Idyllic countryside about 500 feet above sea level. It has panoramic views over the Altantic with Trinidad visible in the distance. It was like returning home to Tobago for me, as it is about 10 years since my last visit. My friends and I can quite honestly say that our stay at Plantation View was amazing. The accommodation was great with all rooms having an en suite. As we sunned ourselves on the loungers cooling off in the swimming pool and jacuzzi was a must. We played pool and games in the evening whilst the lobsters and steaks cooked on the barbie. It was the ideal location to visit the rest of the island and we were lucky enough to be in Tobago for the annual Jazz festival and went to Jazz at Scarborough, Castara and Mount Irvine bay. We would like to raise a rum punch in thanks and absolutely intend to visit Tobago again and now would not stay anywhere else but at Plantation View Villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Where the villa was as it had panoramic views.
Liked least: I suppose if you didn't have a car it would be more difficult to get around the island.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2016
Hi Good day . Thank you for your kind comments . I am glad youand your friends enjoyed your stay at Plantationview and enjoyed the rest of your time in Tobago . I will look forward to you and your friends returning for another holiday at Plantionview . Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spbear21
Queens, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place for Fun with Family/Friends”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I rented this villa with my fiance and some friends. It's a beautiful place with a beautiful view, especially at night. The pictures represent exactly how the place looks. The price was much more affordable than similar villas renting for 10 people. Each room has its own bathroom which is a huge plus for me. The pool and hot tub are a nice touch. However, the pool is only about 4ft deep but my 5'8" to 6' friends enjoyed it all the same and were able to swim end to end with no problems. The hot tub is hot sometimes but isn't consistently hot which wasn't a bother for me personally but might be a bother for some. The mosquitoes were surprisingly not that bad. There are places to shop about a 15-30 minute drive away. Barry, the owner answers any and all questions very quickly and is a pleasure to communicate with. The villa manager, Colin was very professional and friendly. The only two downsides for me were 1) Dogs barking and fighting all night long and 2) There is a slight hill to drive up to the villa, the road has potholes and bumps which makes for a very rough and bumpy ride. Just to be clear though the owner has no control over the dogs as there are stray dogs all over Trinidad and Tobago. As far as the bumpy/pothole road well everyone in the community there should be involved in fixing it. Minus those two issues this is a great place to stay, I will definitely stay there again and if you're a heavy sleeper who can drown out the sound of the dogs at night then this will be a great place for you. I highly recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Dogs barking all not long, bumpy pothole road.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review and I am really glad you all had a great time . I will look forward to you staying again soon . Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierredic...
La Plata, Maryland
2 reviews
“Not as good as it looked in the picture”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

First, let’s start with the good. The house itself is beautiful, and the scenery overlooking the bay is breathtaking. The grounds were impeccably kept, and the mosquitoes were not as bad as I was preparing for. The house itself is beautifully designed, but I would make two suggestions; (1) get better mattresses for the rooms, (2) each individual room should be able to control its own AC temperature. I am also happy that someone was able to meet us near the airport, because we would have never found the house on our own…never.

Now to the bad. The house would have been extremely difficult to find if it were not for the guide that was waiting for us near the airport. Many turns, and poorly lit areas, would have most people lost very quickly. The house was not very clean, i.e. dusty and a nasty smell coming from the kitchen area in the basement added to the initial let down. The room I stayed in had two uninvited guest, i.e. birds making a nest in the light fixture facing the bed. Not a welcome site when you are spending $300 plus dollars (USD) per night. In addition, I went to take a shower and noticed the shower handle was broken, which prevented me from turning the shower on. I had to call the management staff in order to have this repaired. Again, this is something that should have been easily picked up if staff had actually reviewed and cleaned the room prior to our arrival.

In addition, when I read your advertisement that included a description entailing a “hot tub”, that’s what I expected. Instead, there was no “hot tub”, because it was not heated. This was also a huge let down, because I really wanted to use that feature of the house.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review . All of the issues have been addressed . But I can't do anything about the roads and lighting on the roads leading to the villa . Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wwd2015
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice place with a beautiful view in a nature loving setting.”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my family at the end of June 2015. It is on a hill overlooking the sea shore. It is a little removed but surprisingly close to things when you get settled. You will take a winding road to get to the house which takes about 5 minutes from the main road by the Grafton Hotel. There is a nice beach called Grafton beach just before you head up to the house on the main road. The road that Plantation View is on is undergoing some construction so it can be paved and improved but usable. If you like a natural setting and a view that is beautiful this is a great spot. Having morning breakfast on the balcony overlooking the sea coast is very relaxing. You can hear an abundance of birds in the trees and flying overhead. The grounds are well kept with nice flowers and plants. There is plenty of rooms that can fit a family of 10. The greatest thing is that they all have there own bathrooms with showers. The swimming pool was nice to relax in and is just big enough for all to enjoy. There is an outdoor shower next to the pool which is nice. There is some furniture to use by the pool but may need to be updated. The location gives you nice breezes in the evening to enjoy the weather. Furniture is good and comfortable. Beds are good as well but don't expect luxury bed like a hotel. Bathrooms were all in very good condition and the water pressure was great. On top of that there is a hot water heater which is nice for warm showers.
I have rented houses in many places so as a traveler you have to take into consideration the location and what are the normal housing conditions of your surroundings. With that in mind I would like to see a few improvements. Being a tropical climate there are bugs that will come into the home. If your from Florida, USA you know the deal. I would suggest adding some screen doors and window screens to reduce the bugs from coming into the home. The linens on the bed can be improved upon to show a little more inspiration to such a nice home. I few more television in the rooms would be nice to keep the kids busy.
All in all it was a nice stay. Barry was very nice to deal with on TripAdvisor and his local property manager Collin was equally as nice in person. Collin was always available and only lives a couple of houses away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the sea shore and the openness of the house.
Liked least: Bedding and the bugs.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you for your comments on your stay and about the villa .I am glad you had a good time and i will look into the matters you mentioned .Thank you .Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cher0601
East Elmhurst, New York
1 review
“Spacious and Private. Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This house is about 20 minutes from the Crown Point Airport. It has plenty of space. Collin, the care taker was very helpful, and available when we needed help with anything.
The view of the city lights is stunning, and breath taking. You also have a view of the ocean. The landscaping is beautiful. This is a perfect place to relax and enjoy peace and tranquility. The beaches are 10 minutes away and also shopping areas. All the rooms have baths and toilets, which was a plus for us. The kitchen is huge and the pool was a plus. My family and I had a wonderful stay. I will recommend this place to others and I will stay there for future vacations.
Thank you Barry for letting us enjoy your beautiful place.
Cheryl

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lots of space and the view
Liked least: It is a few miles away from the beach.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Hi Thank you for letting me and other people how much you liked and enjoyed your stay .Thank you for your comments about the villa i am so pleased you enjoyed it .I will look forward to you staying again .Regards Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing