We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, wonderful customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I had a wonderful time at this hotel. We stayed three nights. I simple asked if they had any unoccupied ocean view rooms and they gave me the upgrade for no charge. The view was spectacular and overlooked the entire city, the port, pool and the ocean. If you have AAA, tell them. They don't even require you to have the card on you and the rate went from $162.00 to about $150.00 instantly. Overall, it costed us with taxes and service charges about $178 per night. The AAA discount also gives you a free "continental breakfast" per person per day. I don't know why they called it continental as it just didn't give the breakfast justice. It was FANTASTIC! Fresh coffee, and juices, pastries, eggs made to order, waffles, potatoes etc. There were also a lot of local dishes as well. It was great way to spend the morning sitting out by the water and having a nice breakfast.
They had some wonderful spa products in the showers. The bath salts were a very nice extra addition. The room also had a fridge so we could chill a few beers and some wines.I thought it was nice that they gave us two free bottled waters in our rooms each day. When you arrive they give you a nice glass of sparkling wine or soda etc. It was refreshing after being in the heat for so long. The pool is small but nice. There are a lot of children so go either earlier in the morning or later on during the day to get peace and quite. Moms, be careful with your children around the edges of the pools as the tile they have is extremely slippery. When I was there, several people slipped and a child actually cracked his head open. They really need to address this issue and I hope they do so soon. The food at the pool was very American, which for us was welcomed.
Our wake up calls happened and all our requests were attended to almost immediately. The airport drive was on time and professional. The taxis we called from the Hyatt showed up as promised and charged what the hotel promised. Don't plan on changing money at the hotel. Their US to TT rate was only 5.8 and you can only change $100 US per room per day. Go to the western union in the mall across the street where they don't have restrictions and low rates.
Overall, I am so glad that I found this place. It really made our last three days in Trinidad memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view room when you arrive. If they have it available, they might give it to you a...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dfreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,159)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Trinidad
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,707 - 1,711 of 2,159 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

Location:

Downtown Port of Spain, on the waterfront, convenient to the Ferry Terminal. For a 4 star hotel, my eyebrows raised when I saw half naked children running around the lobby/reception/ and eating areas - when the pool was on the 4th floor. Then, I noticed, hotel doors to the eating area and the waterfront was wide open and guess anyone has a free for all access.

Reception: Young, adequately trained receptionists. No complaints.

Room: Upgraded for $11 per night to the 22nd floor. Quiet. Large room, but only one bathrobe and one pair of slippers also raised my eyebrows. Glass shower enclosure is in the middle of the room. The top and bottom portions of the glass shower enclosure AND glass bathroom door was most odd and quite bizarre and afforded no privacy.

Restaurant downstairs: Empty. Service slow and lacking. Maybe it's cultural but after engaging the waitress in a conversation over her recommendation for a wine, she forgot. 20 minutes later we reminded another when we asked for the bill. Quickly it showed up. Two entrees, a soda, a glass of wine and an appetizer costs $156 US!!!! Be warned!

Pool: The infinity pool is small. At 5:30 p.m., the pool was mostly occupied by about 12 children under age 10 and two adults and it appeared overcrowded. We walked away and did not dare enter the water.

Car-service: No complaints. Driver was introduced to me and the o/w standard cost is US$ 30 to the airport. He showed up on time. Hotel billed as agreed and everything went like clockwork at check out.

Would I visit again: Possible maybe.

Room Tip: Top floor, away from the elevators. Avoid 4th floor as that is the access to the pool traffic. Cit...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wannabe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt in Port of Spain and also the Carlton Savannah.
This hotel will give you the most luxury, the best amenities and the BEST STAFF and service anywhere!
The staff are extremely well-trained, friendly, and upbeat.
The rooms are clean, well-appointed and the hotel is well done in general.
If you can get a balcony room on an upper floor you will not be disappointed!
This is likely the only real 5 star place to stay on either island, and is actually quite affordable considering that.
The Carlton Savannah is also reviewed well and in the guide books but it smelled like mold, everywhere, and had much fewer amenities and in general lower quality (cheap bathroom products, musty, older.)

Room Tip: If you can get the higher floor with the sea view balcony - it is the best!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sxw24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Fantastic,fantastic. fantastic. From the front desk staff (Kudos to Rondelle & Gillian) to the resturant staff to the waitresses cutomer service was superb. They treated us as though we were royalities. We were offered a room upgrade without us asking, it was our first time at this Hotel, we were given a detailed walk through.. The room was divine, no complaints there, slept like a baby on the bed,No external noise to disturb our sleep.. Breakfast was great, wide variety of foods, had to take a nap after though. Did not get to use the pool as it was closed.Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for an upgrade in the room or late check out
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WambuiWamboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

The hotel is Port of Spain downtown, near governments buildings, on the sea and close to the port,
I stayed three night in the hotel for buisness matters. The hotel looks great. The design of the hotel is modern as its bedrooms, that they are very complete (with all standard utilities). A satellite TV is available in each rooms.
Free acces to the swimming pool (beautiful).
The hotel is clean.
The staff is very kind.
The only issue is the wifi connection not included (fee).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
2.5 km away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
2.2 km away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
896 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
314 reviews
54.1 km away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
54.7 km away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: $249 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing