We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My husband and I went to the Hyatt for our anniversary. Although we had babysitting for the older kids that night, we had to take the baby with us. We were greeted with complimentary champagne. The room was lovely with a king sized bed and a beautiful sea view. The toilet was in an enclosed area with the sink outside while the shower was a glass enclosure, with some frosting, as a stand alone in the room. Our daughter had a nicely made playpen type cot with a box of sample size toiletries; baby powder; baby lotion; baby shampoo etc. Complimentary breakfast was good but we were not as impressed with the a la carte dinner we ordered. Service was great and we plan to do it again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caribwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,147)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Trinidad
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,709 - 1,713 of 2,147 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

This was the second time in six months that my husband and I chose to stay here. We didn’t want the hassle of flying out, and this was the perfect escape. The food, and service was excellent. We stayed on the 17th floor (room with a balcony), and had a great view of the ocean and the water taxi.
The best snack I had at the pool bar was the jerk wings with plantain chips and jam, it was yummy. The service was great at the pool. The only downside was this is my second stay here and again the restrooms had no soap. This was a little disappointing.
Overall, the food was excellent and the service was far better than I expected. We went for one night and ended up staying for two nights.
This was a wonderful stay, just what my hunny and I were looking for.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The Hyatt is one of the big chain hotels that is available in Port of Spain and, though a bit pricey, it was well worth it. We upgraded to a Club Room that includes access to the VIP lounge and provides free daily breakfast as well as complimentary appetizers and drinks during happy hour from 5:30 to 7:30 PM. The best part about the VIP lounge? The staff. They are your personal concierge and will help you out in booking tours, taxis to the airport, etc. The gym is well-equipped and the infinity pool on the fourth floor is very beautiful, creating a relaxing spa-like environment. It's a 5-minute walk to Independence Square, and approximately 30 minutes to the zoo and botanical gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms either face a very busy main avenue or the waterfront... make sure you get the waterfront. We...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank togra72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This is a great hotel and location to stay in especially if you book a water view room! After my last visit 13yrs ago I decided to stay there unannounced to my family in Trinidad because of short vacation stay. You can get a great traditional meal at the breakfast shed next to the Hyatt for about 7us dollar I had the curried crab and dumplings, salt fish and bake etc.

Alicia at the front desk was great she was so helpful and attentive to every detail!

The only thing I didn't like was the party boat that made a lot of noise at all hours of the night! A little to much activity for me a Prom, Graduation, It should be in a separate part of building

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler2012311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Hotel is in center of town, right besides some important goverment offices.
Was there for a conference and received a package deal which included breakfast and wi-fi with the room for a bargain price.
Hotel building is new and the hotel is very nice, everything: lobbye, restaurants, terrace,room and swimming pool area.
Breakfast buffet was the best I have seen so far. However, would not have taken breakfast every morning in the hotel ( price + $ 40) if it was not included in my room package. However, compared to hotels of similar class in Port of Spain this price is not extremely high; in general breakfast buffet in the hotels is much higher compared to for example Miami, FL.
Exercise room was great, but swimming pool area stairs is dangerously slippery when raining. The poolside was closed in the early morning ( probably because it was still slippery) so I could not do my morning yoga at the pool terrace, which has an extraordinary view.
Room was great, especially the all glass bathroom. WiFi speed was ok, but the signal in the room was weak; sometimes had to go close by the door (even opening it) to get signal.
The hotel has everything, but outside the hotel there is nothing to do in (safe) walking distance at night.
If you need to be in this area and have less budget you can try the Crowne Plaza across the street. It is somewhat less expensive but also less nice.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Henk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
2.5 km away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
2.2 km away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 22 in Port of Spain
893 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 22 in Port of Spain
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 22 in Port of Spain
314 reviews
54.1 km away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
54.7 km away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: $254 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing