We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops in Trinidad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Since it opened about five years ago, the Hyatt set a new standard in Port-of-Spain. The place is gleaming from top to bottom and and legions of staff are generally very well trained. Big, comfortable rooms, although some might not care for the glassed-in shower and the sink in the room; only the toilet had a separate door. (The shower glass is frosted from about 2 feet off the floor to about 5 feet up.) In-room safe, comfy bathrobe, WiFi and cable high-speed Internet, etc. As is typical of most upscale hotels, they nickle-and-dime you for every little extra (including Internet--about $13US/day). Although there were a few service lapses, the staff is generally excellent. Based on my multiple experiences, you can't do better in POS, though the remodeled Hilton is a close second.

Room Tip: Get a high-floor, ocean view if you can.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,149)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Trinidad
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,774 - 1,778 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

I really like the Hyatt Trinidad in general, but if you are conducting business and planning meetings at the Hyatt you can be sure to have headaches with Front desk, registration and the managers.

The parties at hand are not insinc with each other and this causes a huge problem for records management in the interim.

The front desk staff in general are not nice people and the service is deplorable. the bell guys are nice and very helpful as well as the wait staff in the restaurant.

Nice hotel and wonderful rooms cannot cut it the customer service is crap! Will not recommend for business purposes - get your accounts department in order.

Room Tip: The higher floors has nice rooms
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supadancer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I honestly had the highest hoped for my stay at the Hyatt, as I previously stayed at the Andaz and was won over. So much so that I became a gold member. Initially the stay was great, we were greeted with champagne and were promptly escorted to our room and then given a tour. It was only after we were left alone that I noticed the cobsolete below the television was dusty and there were ants running on it. As I turned to my right towards the mirror did I see more ants running on he floor! !!!!!! I was stunned and petrified. Shocked that a hotel with such high ratings and reviews had ants! And to make matters worse the air conditioner did not work! We called downstairs to speak to a manager and someone with the last name Readhead came upstairs and told us they would give me 500 points and would work on getting the room fumigated. I was never offered an upgrade or new room for my two night stay. It was only when I went to the front desk that they gave me a new room. I will NEVER EVER stay at the hyatt again. I expected so much more but this just left me disgusted at the cleanliness and my overall stay. Looking back I should have asked for a full refund. I also recorded a video of the ants and would love to show a district or regional manager of the conditions I was subjected to at a hefty price. Ants were not in the amenities.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Socabebe1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

This brand new hotel on the shore of the harbor in Port of Spain is adjacent to the new Parliament building, and in walking distance to the center of town. You leave the dirty city streets outside. Inside it is bright, airy and beautifully designed. They are security minded and your safety is foremost with keycards protecting any movement on the elevators. There are several options for dining and refreshments. Our favorite was the sushi bar, with a very talented chef. Ask him to prepare something not on the menu. The patio dining overlooking the harbor is well sheltered from the occasional tropical rain burst . The infinity pool opens to a view of the harbor, and a (not hot) tub, more of a pulsing-water jet tub. The rooms are beautifully decorated with glass enclosed rain showers. They feel luxurious and comfortable. Definitely ask for a water view! If you are going or coming from Tobago, the ferry is just a stones throw away. The airport is about a 30 minute ride.This is a great location. Restaurant service ran the gamut from very helpful to forgetful, but this could be a case of new staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vega_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I just wanted some time out last saturday, "training to be a tour guide is great, but lots of fun work". Made Hyatt, Trinidad my choice, wow, wow, the bar, the faces, the service.

Took in the independence scenic view with the ocean in the background, the halo of the blue skies and wow the service of the staff at HYATT, Hey all i had was a drink and some free snacks.

These guys/gals treated me like i was royalty. Your customer service rocks, thanks to Windell and the girls. Hey keep up the great work.

By the way I am a Trini. Your washrooms rock and it's true, you walk around the Hyatt and feel as though you belong. Great place to relax, spend a weekend with family and friends.

Johanna

Room Tip: Tell the staff your preference, they are honest and will guide you to your preference. Psst. thats...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
2.5 km away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
2.2 km away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 22 in Port of Spain
893 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 22 in Port of Spain
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 22 in Port of Spain
314 reviews
54.1 km away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
54.7 km away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: $248 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing