We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Views!”
other travellers have booked this property
Palm Trees Veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Palm Trees Veranda
More views Veranda North View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Palm Trees Veranda
More views
Veranda North View
Front of house with garden
View from living room
Sunset
Paradise Beach
Sandy Island
Island of Carriacou
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Carriacou Island, Grenada

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
TammyPatt...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Views!”
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Palm Trees for nine nights late April. Everything was as advertised and as noted by other guests. Diana and Stenna were very helpful. This was the best equipped rental we have stayed in. The views are incredible. The beds comfortable. Instant hot water worked well, although rarely used it. Quiet secluded neighborhood. I loved everything about this house. Being a good TripAdvisor reviewer, however, I must note that I was not prepared for the heat and humidity of Carriacou in late April. AC in the bedroom would have made all the difference to me for our time there to sleep more cool and keep the mosquitoes at bay. Be sure to follow Diana's advice the first night for keeping the mosquitoes away, they do not wait for you to settle in. I love everything else about this house and again, Diana has thought of everything to make the stay comfortable.Be sure to read the book about her father. The history of the area is very interesting. I would like another chance to visit during the winter months.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2018
My humble apologies for not responding to your review. My only excuse is that my husband has had some serious health problems this year, and it just slipped my mind. I was at Palm Trees with a friend 6-20th April and it was not as hot as you found, and my friend and both commented that between us we saw less than 10 mosquitoes. But like everywhere else in the world, the weather is changing - and unpredictable. Here in the UK (Suffolk) we haven't had a drop of rain for 6 weeks, plants are dying and the 'lawn' looks more like straw. We have considered putting in air-con in the bedroom but it would mean changing two windows which have permanently open small louvres, and the louvred turret which was designed to let the hot air out - and also replacing the roof. So a major job. And the down-side is when a bedroom in the tropics is shut for half the year the high humidity makes the mattress and everything feel damp and musty. So, we settle for nice fresh air coming in the window above our bed and 2 strong fans with individual remotes. .
Thank you in particular for the nice things you say about the house, and Stenna's helpfulness, and particularly the history of Craigston, which is where I spent my childhood, so it has a special place in my heart. I hope you will take the opportunity to visit again at another time of year
Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad6909...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful stay in paradise”
Reviewed 12 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Diana and Stenna go beyond to make you feel welcomed. The conversation with Diana was very good, she replied quickly and helped with information where she could. Her place is a piece of heaven. We felt absolutely spoilt. As the place is her own home, it is fully equipped and has everything you need to make your stay comfortable. You can use her spices/rice,sugar etc. We even found some yummy ice cream left by the former guests in the freezer which made us by our own ice cream - thank you for the inspiration :) the house offers splendid views over the ocean. You can see the stars on clear nights. The secluded beach is a two minute walk. You can even be picked up there for island tours, tobago keys etc. for those things we would go again with isle of reef tours, they offer a full package with food and drinks! Other providers don't. Do rent a jeep and explore a real offroad advenutre by going to Dumfries point for example. You wont see the whole island by going around by taxi. The rental service is absolutely laid back - the people bring the jeep to the house and are very friendly and easy going. Stenna would arrange that for you. Stenna is great! She took us to the jetty on our last day and even helped us to by some local music, she walked with us into the stores and helped asking about it, so different with a local by your side!
We loved everything about Palm trees, the wonderful birds accompaning our breakfast (do not feed them!) the views, the hammocks, the ocean view shower and the many moskito nets. Everything is taken care for in this place. It is not a typical holiday appartment. You can really feel that someone does absolutely love and care about this place.
We would love to go back some time and are still dreaming of the stunning veranda, the airy breeze, and the sunsets!
highly recommended!!!! :)

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review to help other guests decide if Palm Trees is the perfect place for their holiday. As you sensed, this is our home we are pleased to share with others when we cannot be there, and we have tried to keep the décor 'local' by having furniture made in Carriacou, as this provides work so they can feed their families. My parents spent most of their married life just 'up the hill' and Sparrows Bay was our playground, so our roots in C'cou go back a very long way, and we care about the people, their families and the environment. We care about our guests too and the little things like providing sugar, flour, rice, spices, tinfoil etc just help to make it easier for guests to cook a quick meal. (I'm glad you discovered the delicious icecream too. It's expensive, but nice.) We are blessed by having Stenna as part of the team, and as you found, there is nothing about the island that Stenna doesn't know, and nothing is too much trouble for her.
We are very glad you enjoyed your holiday at Palm Trees so much, and took advantage of visitsing the Tobago Cays. The scenery is stunning and the fish and turtles are so tame, they really are true paradise. Stella and I look forward to welcoming you back before too long.
Diana and Stenna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The descriptions in the other reviews say it all. We can only add that Carriacou is a fascinating place to visit not least for its history, nature and people. Palm trees is a beautiful and practical place to stay. Diana (homeowner) and Stenna (local manager) could not do more to help you enjoy your stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Stenna and I are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your recent holiday at Palm Trees. Thank you very much for the kind comments you have made. We know that guests work hard all year to have a few precious weeks holiday, so we try to go out of our way to help you plan in advance, and to make the most of every day when you are at Palm Trees. Thank you for confirming that we have succeeded in that aim, and we leave the wonderful warm friendly people of Carriacou, the local history, and the fantastic view from Palm Trees to combine together to give our guests a perfect holiday in "paradise."
Diana and Stenna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morethana...
Chilterns
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Priceless views from the veranda - Affordable accommodation”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have now visited Carriacou 24 times & stayed in Palm Trees for 17 of them. We never tire of the most amazing panoramic view to the South West & North. The fantastic sunsets & occasional Green Flash can be truly uplifting.
Palm Trees & indeed Carriacou is a place to cast away the trappings of the hurly burly of everyday life & regenerate in paradise.
Palm Trees is the owner's holiday home which they very kindly rent out at reasonable prices. It has everything that anyone would need to have a comfortable stay & good kitchen facilites. Some people may not like the fact that there is no air con, but the screen covered, slatted windows catch the breezes and fans are available throughout.
Carriacou is changing slowly (thank goodness it it slow), but it has a unique charm. The local people are very friendly and willing to help. The local shared mini buses still only charge EC$2 - 3 to go into the main town and although some are quite rickety, it's all part of the real Caribbean island experience.
As Carriacou gets most of its provisions by boat – you may not always find exactly what you're looking for. The excellent fish market is also dependent on weather conditions - so sometimes there is no fish available. You just have to be flexible.
Carriacou is an unpretentious, laid-back island. You won't get hassled by hawkers & you won't find coffee bars or a McDonalds. But for a truly authentic experience it is fantastic.
Our review written last year still holds true if you want a bit more information.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent month at Palm Trees. After 17 stays you are indeed the experts, and yet the laid-back, friendly people and that wonderful view from the veranda of Palm Trees draws you back year after year. As you say, it offers a truly authentic experience and personally I still love the fact that there is no McDonalds, Costa, Kentucky etc but local juice bars selling authentic juices made from locally grown fruit, and a good choice of local beach bars. Another bonus is as you say, there are no hawkers on the beaches. Guests kindly sent me some pics this morning and they are the only couple on a mile long beach. Bliss! On that same beach just below Palm Trees, the Leatherback turtles will be back later in the year to lay their precious eggs at night. Seeing those tiny creatures hatch even before the first rays of dawn is an amazing sight.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JawaneN1
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great location away from the hustle of town. Nice quiet place to retreat back to after a day out and about.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay at Palm Trees.
Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing