We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
160
27
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
27
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french house beach house turtle sanctuary main town fantastic stay industry bay walk straight a short taxi ride local ingredients crashing waves interior designer lobster soup four poster bed spent a week luxury hotel five nights rum punch
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

It is seldom that you have an entire restaurant for yourself. It was early in the season for Bequia and we were fortunate to be the only 2 diners on that evening. Really enjoyed the lobster soup and the grilled mahi mahi

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank finallyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We spent a week at the Sugar Reef Hotel during the second week of April 2018. The staff, hotel, location, weather were superb. The staff were friendly and amazingly professional (thank you Tatiana!Thank you Sean!) going out of their way to smile and help make our stay unforgettable.

The hotel is tiny and charming with beautiful stone walls and high ceilings. We stayed in one of the 3 beachfront rooms which allow you to listen to the ocean waves and wake up to the site of the sea and blue skies.....a perfect break from bleak Canadian winters.

I believe the food at the Cafe was the best on the Island which is actually saying a lot. Overall we thought the food on Bequia was the best we had experienced in the Caribbean and the Sugar Reef Cafe took it up a couple notches from there. Lots of local fresh ingredients cooked with a sophisticated touch...very, very well done.

We travel a lot and this was one of the most charming and enjoyable places we have stayed on holiday. We will be back.

Room Tip: the 3 rooms by the sea are fantastic but the sound of the waves at night can be a bit overwhelming at first.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Friendly staff make this hotel a real find. On arrival there was a wedding party going on which the hotel had already warned us about, but instead of ignoring us (there were 4 of us) they offered us rum punches and welcomed us to their party! This tells you everything about the people on Bequia.
We stayed in the beach front rooms which have a real Caribbean feel. They aren't luxurious but could be described as shabby chic with driftwood mirrors and a really comfy four poster mosquito netted bed. We felt that the bathrooms could do with a bit of an update however, and the shower is not really up to scratch but having said that we enjoyed our stay. We ate at the restaurant on the Saturday night and the food was very good. All in all we were made to feel valued as guests and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jacki_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

My husband and I spent a week at the Sugar Reef hotel and it was absolute paradise. We had one of the three rooms on the beach, and we fell asleep each night to the sound of the waves. It was magical. Our room was bright & airy with a comfortable 4-poster bed, draped with a pristine mosquito net (although we never saw any skeeters in the room). We travelled all around Bequia, having lunch or dinner out at a variety of places, and we concluded that Sugar Reef has the best restaurant on the island. We can also confirm that Dawson makes by far the best rum punch on Bequia. One of the best things about our stay was the friendly team at Sugar Reef - Tatiana, Cornelius, Dawson, and of course Shawn, who brought us a delicious breakfast every morning. And to top it all off, Crescent Beach is beautiful and the water is lovely for swimming or just floating around. Bequia is pretty much the perfect Caribbean island, and we definitely recommend Sugar Reef as the place to stay.

Room Tip: We liked having a room right on Crescent Beach - listening to the sound of the surf and just a few yards from the golden sand.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank GVHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We have been there and done it for a 5th time and still we plan to go back for more.

Where shall we start? The location, the property, the beach? No it has to be the staff. Friendly, welcoming, helpful - I’m running out of adjectives. All take great care to ensure that you have a relaxing time there.

We always stay in a beach front room as to walk straight out onto the beach is simply wonderful. The Beach House and its three beach rooms are stylish yet simple. The food served is the best on the island. We have investigated French House and that too is elegant and imaginative but we prefer the closeness of the sea and falling asleep to the sound of the surf.

Sugar Reef is simply the best❤️❤️❤️

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank theblacks51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews