We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pity we did not stay there.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Lipari
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pity we did not stay there.....”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were staying elsewhere on the island, but went round to have a look, on advice from other travellers. Gino the manager could not have been nicer. The studios and apartments are right on the beach amongst the trees. They are very clean and everything looks recently refurbished. The owners obviously take a lot of pride in their premises. The beach in front of the hotel is secluded and the view of the sunset is amazing. We will definitely choose to stay here if we are ever back in VG.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Befana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    64
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
180
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranford, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My boyfriend and I did some research before deciding to stay at MB, and glad we made the right decision . The grounds were beautiful, private beach, snorkel gear and kayaks right at our disposal. MB has some of the best snorkeling. Gino was great! He helped us with restaurant recommendations and other suggestions. We even had a very minor issue with one of the rooms we stayed at, and without hesitation, Gino moved us to a 2 bedroom suite with no extra charge. Since we had a full kitchen, only thing I wish I knew was to stock up at Rosy's supermarket nearby to cook some meals at Mango Bay since the nearby restaurants were just so-so and overpriced. Would definitely recommended MB for families and couples for above average accomodations that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed 5 nights and left completely in love with MB. Gino was helpful and the studio garden room went stayed in overshot our expectations. The ONLY obvious downside was that there were dual showerheads and one didnt work (to be fair, this was probably to not be wasteful of water). The beach was amazing and snorkeling was great. You need a car if you stay here as there are no restaurants, but honestly, you should probably have a car on VG anyway. We orginally wanted to only book 3 nights, however we were forced to stay 5 due to the high season minimum. This was a blessing. We spent more money to stay at much lessor places on other islands. Mango Bay impressed us and we will return next time life brings us to the BVIs.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Thestresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

If you are looking for a nice, quiet, safe and clean villa/condo to rent then this is an excellent option. We arrived late in the evening by ferry. Gino at Mango Bay had arranged to have a rental car waiting for us waiting at the ferry dock, and he had the rental car rep lead the way to the hotel so we didn't have any trouble finding the place. It was only a 10 minute ride from the ferry - right outside of Spanish Town - to the resort. After a quick check-in, Gino led the way to our Garden Studio unit. The unit was tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. Gino then showed us to the beach, and was happy to provide us with some good dinner options when we told him we were anxious to eat dinner.

We enjoyed relaxing at the beach and using the snorkel gear and sea kayak that the resort provided. Snorkeling at this beach was very good! Also, you can't beat the view of the sunset there. Typically, I like to spend most of my vacation time exploring my surroundings, rather than sitting at a resort, but we liked this place so much that we ended up spending most of our afternoons there. I found myself wanting to stay longer when our vacation was drawing to a close.

My only complaint would be that there isn't any restaurant or beverage service at the beach or to the units. I believe they may arrange a meal for you ahead of time, but if you haven't thought too far in advance, then you have to drive somewhere if you want to have a meal prepared for you. Also, since this is truly like renting a condo/villa, there is no coffee, shampoo, or conditioner, etc. provided. You have to stock up on things before you get there!

Room Tip: Garden Studios are just a few steps from the beach, so if you want to save some money, the Garden St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank chethoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at Mango Bay for 7 days in October of 2010 (low season). Location was beautiful, the grounds maintained very nicely and the beach had very little traffic. We were usually 2 of maybe 5-6 total people on the beach at most times and many times the only two on the beach. Geno was great! He was more than happy to answer all of our questions and make a few calls to assist with our trip back to Tortola. We had originally wanted a 1bd ocean front villa but they were booked so we settled for an ocean view. When we got there, Geno upgraded us to a 2bd ocean front suit since it was unoccupied. The villa was pretty nice, lots of room, outdoor kitchen, air conditioning in the bedrooms, and only a few short steps from the water. We spent lots of time swimming and snorkeling right out in front of the resort.
We did have a couple of small issues:
1.) Had a bit of a mosquito problem inside the villa. The screen door had a bit of a gap in the frame so the mosquitoes (which were very numerous) were getting into the villa. We solved the issue with a couple citronella candles and a bit of duct tape over the gap.
2.) Kayaks were a bit dated and beat up. We ended up in a 2 person that had a crack we didn’t notice. Let’s just say it made for an interesting swim back to shore.

The issues were very minor and overall we were extremely happy with our stay. We are hoping we will make it back to this wonderful resort some day in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank malikimkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
30.7 km away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
157 reviews
29.5 km away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
383 reviews
4.3 km away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
6.9 km away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
480 reviews
2.7 km away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Plum Bay Road, Mahoe Bay, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price range (per night): $252 - $538
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Resort adheres to a strong commitment to serve our guests and make sure they enjoy their luxury beach vacation at its fullest. We strive to deliver what we promise to all our guests: a caring and attentive management and friendly staff who will accommodate any guest requests or needs. Mango Bay Resort is a small and cozy yet easygoing luxury resort that provides all the necessities needed for the finest Caribbean vacation. We strive to provide a quiet, peaceful and tranquil location for all of our visitors to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing