We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of Rock Cafe

Rock Cafe
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Price range: USD 20 - USD 60
Cuisines: Caribbean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Amongst the famous Virgin Gorda's boulders with waterfalls cascading down. Incredible natural setting. New addition: the Treehouse restaurant. A walk through nature for an experience ABOVE IT ALL !!!
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Went to Rock House on 4.22.17 and was not disappointed. Our group tried a bit of everything including the chicken breast, calamari, and I had the Rock Pasta which included bacon. No complaints from our group about the food and all agreed that we'd like to come back so, thumbs up. Went up and looked at " The Treehouse" restaurant and will have to come back to that.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank OhioGuyBVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2017

The atmosphere was amazing.....little private or semi-private alcoves amongst the rocks in the hillside. Very romantic.
And the food was amazing!! The pasta with seafood was prepared to perfection!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank ImTLC4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The pizzas and pasta at the Rock cafe are great. You may choose to dine inside at the bar (where sometimes there is live music) or outside among the boulders in the patio.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank TravelerVG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

As stated by another reviewer, the facade is very deceiving, The lower level and piana bar is a bit understated; however, the upper levels (tree house restaurant) is both unique and interesting with several levels bullt into the old tree with surrounding rocks and waterfalls. Our food was excellent. One member of our group had the Anegada lobster which was exceptional.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jdh3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

First of all, the outside setting of the restaurant within the large rocks and water is exceptional and I mean exceptional. The Treehouse which is a separate restaurant above looks even more spectacular. From the road, you have no idea what awaits you when you cross through the bar and piano bar.

We had a big lunch that day at Hog Heaven and wanted to try the Anegada lobster ( ave 1.5 lbs). We asked if we could split it with a salad and drinks. Waitress was not impressed and made it quite awkward. That said, she did split both the salad and the lobster and delivered it nicely. The salad was very good and the lobster was exceptional. It was a little pricy but the quality justified the price.

There was live entertainment that night in the form of Morris Mark. He was great ... Told some interesting stories and played all requests including a great James Taylor cover. A bit of an island legend we are told.

At the end of the night, the bill came and it had a15% service charge on it. Given there was only two of us, I thought that was a little strange. At payment time, I asked if the tip was already included and was given a vague answer that it was up to me. I was planning to give her a higher tip for splitting the meal in two and did but it left a sour taste in my mouth.

All in all, I would recommend this place, the atmosphere is awesome. The food and and entertainment were excellent. Service meh!

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank METoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock Cafe also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing