We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
60
28
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
28
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstreet signsgracious hostshill sideinfinity poolrental carst maartenbedroom unitthe cruise ships cominggreat vacationlocation is greatjackiecarlosgardeniahammocksoceanbeachesbalcony
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

This was my third time to the island, but first trip after the hurricane and first time staying in a location other than Simpson Bay. I was not disappointed!

Carlos and Jackie embrace and represent the sentiment of Sint Maarten {the Friendly Island}, They have created a unique environment in Vista Al Puerto with individual attention and a great property. we stayed in Bougainville unit. had wonderful views, a fantastic pool area, comfortable bed, air conditioning, etc. Great communication/connectivity both leading up to and during our stay.

As others have mentioned: rent a car. explore the island. The destruction from the hurricane is definitely apparent, but did not impact our experience in any negative way. There is much work being done, and not all restaurants are {re}open, but there is plenty to choose from.

A couple recommendations {all approximately 20 -30 minute drive from Vista Al Puerto, on the Dutch side of the island}:
Emilio's {at the base of the new Flying Dutchman}. we did not pay for the chair lift/zip line experience, but the restaurant is very well done and has wonderful food.
Nowhere Special {in Simpson Bay on the Lagoon side of the road}. Has just a few high tops and a bar for seating. AMAZING food. We enjoyed the lobster champagne very much. And make sure to order some Johnny cakes!
Karacter {right on Simpson Bay}. Look up the location as it is a bit funny to drive to, but wonderful when you arrive. the beach is spectacular, there is a good selection of beverages and food as well as lounge chairs and umbrellas which are free while you are a customer there.
Mullet Bay. Just go! there is a snack shack with food available for purchase. chairs and umbrellas are available for rent. Neither are necessary to enjoy this beach.
Sunset Beach Bar. great food and drinks {try the mango colada. much better than others on the island}. have fun watching the planes land.
Toppers. ruhm and karaoke. need I say more?

All in all - GO to Sint Maarten. STAY with Carlos & Jackie. SPEND time exploring and supporting the local economy.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank courtneynickoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieCarlos R, General Manager at Vista Al Puerto, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you C & S,

It was a pleasure to have you both stay at Vista Al Puerto, thank you for your kind words in having visitors visit Sint Maarten in general as we rebuild stronger and better! Great recommendations!!!!

See you sooner than later,

Kindest Regards,
Carlos & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Just spent a week on this hillside condo. Jackie and Carlos were excellent hosts. Very laid back people who gave you space to enjoy your vacation but were readily available to answer any and all questions. They even invited us to their place to watched the Super Bowl with their friends, and we had a great time even though the wrong team won :). The condo suffered a lot of Hurricane Irma damage but you could not tell with the superior job that was done with the renovations. Be aware that you will hear barking dogs and crowing roosters throughout the day, but that did not bother us as we adjusted to island life as the week went on. The views are spectacular as you had an excellent view of the cruise ships coming and going daily. A car is a must and GPS is very helpful because a lot of the road signs are missing. The island is coming back nicely but they still have a ways to go. The French side is in much worse condition than the Dutch side. Give yourself plenty of time to be at the airport for your return flight home. The terminal is temporary and departing is crowded and chaotic, but the workers there were patient and helpful. The people of St Maarten are thankful for the tourism and they will need our help in their restoration efforts. Support the island and support Vista Al Puerto.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieCarlos R, General Manager at Vista Al Puerto, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Thank you Andy, it was a blast having you all stay at Vista Al Puerto. We too had a great time, in the end I did want Brady to win but Philly did put up a good fight!!!! See you soon! All the best!

Carlos & Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Everything was clearly communicated so we knew exactly what to expect. You will need to rent a car and stop at the store for anything that you will want in your room. Vista Al Puerto is a quiet, cozy, lovely place to stay. The hosts Carlos and Jackie were great and very helpful. Driving was an adventure and there are no street signs or landmarks to help but if you stop and ask anyone - they will go out of their way to help you. There was a tremendous amount of damage so it will take years for them to rebuild - but if you have the opportunity - go and support their efforts. It is absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Desiree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieCarlos R, General Manager at Vista Al Puerto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you Des, It was a pleasure having visit Sint Maarten and staying at Vista Al Puerto. Til next time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Our trip was great and the Vista Al Puerto did not disappoint. Carlos and Jackie were great and so helpful at the resort and with things to do on the island. The views from the resort are breathtaking. I would suggest to get a rental car which Carlos and Jackie can help with. Getting around the island is easy.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieCarlos R, General Manager at Vista Al Puerto, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you Cathy, it was a pleasure having you stay at Vista Al Puerto.

We can't wait to have you back!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Great experience ! Very relaxing and quiet. Jackie & Carlos are excellent hosts with extensive island knowledge. They provided insight on restaurants and other activities. Enjoyed the fabulous infinity pool and BBQ . Definitely plan to return again.

Room Tip: All condos have ocean views
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith48480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackieCarlos R, Manager at Vista Al Puerto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

It was a pleasure hosting both you and MJ, so happy you had a great experience!!! Til next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews