We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
407
117
27
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
117
27
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxe lodge bar experience bar tour the bean cocoa nibs petit piton rabot estate infinity pool guest relations manager st lucia cocoa tree sugar beach boutique hotel sunset cruise beach shuttle chocolate treats cocoa pod
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2018

We stayed here as the first half of our honeymoon in St Lucia and it was a truly excellent start.
In fact my only criticism is the lack of signage to the hotel as you are driving from the Airport. There is nothing on the road going into Soufriere so you drive straight past it. If you reach the speed bumps outside the Ladera resort, turn around and its the first left that you drove past.
Upon arrival we were advised to leave our bags outside as we sat in the bar/restaurant/reception area which is all in one open space with ceiling fans, dark chocolate coloured (of course) wood and of course the spectacular view of the Pitons. You are provided with a welcome cocktail of your choice and the receptionist sits down with you and explains everything such as the honesty bar by the swimming pool which is a great touch, and possible excursions. They run a complimentary shuttle to Anse Chastanet which is a good service although the beach isn't all that. Whilst this is happening your cases are taken to your lodge which is a must as there are a lot of steps and it would be be last thing you want to be doing after a flight!
We were delighted to be upgraded to a luxury lodge and the room was great. It must be the biggest bathroom i've ever had and the shower could fit 6 people. The shower head was huge and high (around 7'5").
The bed was huge with ceiling fan and mosquito net. There is no A/C but as it is not a fully enclosed room there is natural ventilation and the sun doesn't get into the room until sunset so the temperature is comfortable so it isn't missed. Warning if you do not like birds or gecko's then be warned as they get in and are pretty friendly (and harmless!). We didn't mind at all.
What we were most impressed with was the little touches. Really good ear plugs which for me was great as the noise of insects & frogs in the evening is loud. Complimentary bottle of wine and truffles. Complimentary bottle of rum punch in the fridge. Fresh ground coffee so you can have a cafetiere on the terrace in the morning. Oversized robes. 2 Bottles of filtered water refreshed twice a day so bring your own reusable bottle for when you go exploring. The included breakfast is great also.
The star however is the pool. Simply magical and an instagrammers heaven! Free loungers and pool towels. Honesty bar including filtered water and cold mint towels. TIP - You can get your own drinks and load in the fridge if you don't want to spend $7 a beer.
Overall a great stay and they really look after you and make you feel comfortable. Highly recommend!

Room tip: Go for a luxury lodge, its worth the extra cost
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank iamrussellknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Deeply appreciated that you noticed the things that makes us different during your stay with us, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

The location was a bit disappointing as having been across the road to Ladera you felt a bit as though your were in the stalls at the theatre and not the front row. That said the food outweighs everything else. Definitely worth a visit!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank GabbiPhilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thank you for your feedback and delighted you enjoyed our cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Dear Viana and all the staff at Hotel Chocolat,
Thank you making it such a special occasion for us last night. Everyone was great and we really appreciated all the little extra touches, the flowers on the table, the “Happy Anniversary” written in chocolate on our dessert plate, etc). The food was divine too! Thanks again!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LondonMike2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Delighted you had an evening to remember with us at Boucan on your special occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

This was our first trip to St Lucia and we greatly enjoyed the hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by our driver at the hotel (pre-arranged with hotel). He was very friendly and helped with our bags. When we arrived in the car he offered us a cold towel (amazing) and a complimentary drink (options of piton beer, rum punch and water). As we are on vacation we opted for the piton beer, a local option, and the rum punch. Both were delicious but be careful on your pour of punch--it is quite strong but delicious. During our drive we learned about St Lucia. It was very informational and a great start.
When we arrived at the hotel we were also offered a complimentary drink while we checked in. I had the cocoa martini (amazing) and my fiance had a cocoa bellini. Both were wonderful. The staff was wonderful and would often say hi to us and ask how we were doing. Our bags were taken to our room and we were guided up there, with stops first at the pool and the spa area.
The rooms are beautiful. We were upgraded to a luxe lodge (thank you so much for that!) which is at the top of the property. This means you have a prime view of the piton for sunset (also beautiful at sunrise) from your private patio. There is complimentary coffee, tea (with fresh milk!) and snacks in the room. I loved waking up and making a french press coffee and enjoying that on our patio while my fiance slept. The rooms are in nature but there is a mosquito net around the bed that protects you and the hotel provides bug spray. During our stay i only had 2 bites, which I consider a success! :) At night you can hear the little creatures of nature but the hotel also provides ear plugs and you can request a white noise machine, if needed. We both slept without either. There is a converter in the room that you can use if you are from the US.
The bathroom is very large and feels decadent. The shower is the biggest one I've ever been in and we loved using the various options.
The infinity pool is amazing and a beautiful place to visit for sunset. We enjoyed swimming there and lounging by the pool. The hotel provides light snacks (plantain chips, brownies/cookies, sweet potato chips) and there is unlimited mineral water for you to drink. If you'd like any other drinks you can use the honesty bar (take what you'd like and just write it down) or you can call to have a drink made for you. On our last full day we were down at the pool, probably around 3, and we were offered complimentary chocolate ice cream. It was delicious and the perfect treat!

We also took part of the bean to bar tour--amazing highlight and would recommend to anyone who goes. Making a chocolate bar is hard work so be prepared for that and don't wear white as you might get a little on you!

For those debating about staying up North and doing a day trip--we recommend you stay in Soufriere for a couple of days. The views are different and the feel is much more relaxed. You can have the chance to enjoy seeing the sights over a few days rather than being pressured to do it all in one day. The drive up from Soufiere to Gros Islet took us about 90 minutes and is quite windy (we used More Than a Cab, Vicky is amazing and even stopped as we wanted to try local jerk chicken--separate review on that!) so it's nicer just to spend time down in Soufriere and relax.

This hotel made us feel so incredibly special and we would love to come back. If you get a chance to go, take it!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Juerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

One of our favorite reviews - thank you and we look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Boucan by Hotel Chocolat is perfect in every way. If you are looking for a unique experience with excellent food, accommodations, amenities, staff, and views, this is the place to go. My wife and I loved this place so much on our first trip that we decided to have our wedding there in October 2018.

First, the property. It's magical. Everything is open-air with stunning views everywhere you look. The luxe rooms really enhance the experience as you will wake up to the Petit Piton front and center every morning. We also love just strolling around the estate and taking in all of the beautiful flowers, fruit trees, and birds. Some very nice hikes are also right on the estate. We typically spent the days by the infinity pool reading and relaxing. You can't get enough of the view. We think the beaches in St. Lucia are nice but not necessarily a highlight, so being a bit removed from the beach is not a loss. If you want a secluded space to truly hit full relaxation, this is it.

Second, the rooms. Everything is open air without sacrificing any sort of comfort. The breeze and temperature in the rooms is very pleasant at night and in the morning. The beds are very comfortable and, though we didn't think St. Lucia was very buggy, the beds are equipped with mosquito nets. The open air showers are definitely a highlight. What really makes the rooms special, and this speaks to everything about how Hotel Chocolat is impeccably managed, are the complimentary drinks and treats. Your room will be stocked with fresh truffles, a rum punch, cacao cookies, roasted coconut chips, and water. The luxe rooms are huge and have a large patio with sun chairs and lounge chairs, which make for a perfect morning of sipping coffee and watching the birds.

Third, the food -- WOW! My wife and I have dined all over the world, and still the breakfasts and dinners here are totally unforgettable and a reason why we will keep coming back. I could have their breakfasts every day, if I had the choice. The eggs are perfect, the fruit is fresh, bread straight from the oven, and coffee is top-notch. The dinners highlight the chef's mastery of refined technique and ability to harmonize Michelin-star-like quality and artistry with local ingredients. We have had everything on the menu and are unable to provide a favorite because each dish is executed to near perfection. The cocktails really heighten the dining experience. They have the basics that are all great and far exceed the typical hotel cocktail that is often too sweet and generally kitschy. Where the bartenders really shine are the cocktails that incorporate cacao, like the Cacao Martini, which has soursop juice and cacao -- amazing. If the menu turns you off for the fear that "chocolate" is in everything, you might be mistaken. Cacao adds a beautiful spice and earthiness to the dishes. If something has chocolate, you'll know.

Fourth, the staff work tirelessly to make sure your every expectation is exceeded and every possible need is covered. For example, my wife and I hiked the Gros Piton one morning. The hotel coordinated everything the evening before and it was planned perfectly; all we had to do was wake up. They packed us grab 'n go breakfast (which was delicious) and two big bottles of water for the long hike, had the car waiting, and the guide was waiting on our arrival at the trail head. On top of planning activities, the staff is more than accommodating. If you need a bucket of ice for champagne in the room: done. If you want a massage in the morning, shuttle to the beach in the afternoon, and reservation for dinner: done. If you need more (free) snacks by the pool: done. One gentleman even arranged umbrellas and served us cognac on the patio so we could smoke cigars late one evening during a total downpour. The staff are all prompt, professional, and genuinely nice people that go above and beyond to provide an unforgettable experience.

Finally, as for our wedding itself, it could not have been more perfect. We took a quick trip several months before the wedding in October. During our first stay, Judy and Lorna worked with us to start planning everything. My wife and I are both young professionals with little free time, and it was immediately apparent that Judy and Lorna would take care of all the fine details to make it extra special -- we can confidently say that they completely nailed it and neither us or our family will forget how incredible our wedding weekend was.

We had a small wedding of about 20 people. We reserved the entire property from a Friday evening to a Monday morning. Lorna and Judy took care of all of the events and made sure that everyone was comfortable throughout our time there. For Friday evening, they coordinated a bbq with fire dancers for us, such a blast! For our wedding ceremony and reception on Saturday, they planned and executed everything perfectly. The bride got ready in the spa, lunches and drinks brought to our respective prep rooms, had music and refreshments during the ceremony (which is also on a ridge with the most stunning panoramic views of the Pitons and Caribbean Sea), the ceremony was short and personalized to what we wanted, then had a cocktail hour for our guests during pictures, and a reception with both live music and a DJ. The reception was incredibly fun, the service was excellent and personalized, and the food and drinks were even better than usual -- a tall order in and of itself.

After the wedding day, Judy and Lorna helped us arrange a private catamaran and coordinate our transportation to Soufriere. We capped off the weekend with the tree to bean tour, which added yet another memorable touch. Judy and Lorna worked diligently over several months to make sure everything was perfect, and it was. My wife and I were completely relaxed and experienced zero pre-wedding stress and/or panic attacks all thanks to their hard work.

We cannot thank Judy, Lorna, and the staff enough for such a perfect wedding. It was everything we ever dreamed of and then some. If you're considering a destination wedding, we cannot recommend Hotel Chocolat enough.

If you want a bespoke vacation away from the crowds in an intimate, romantic setting, we also cannot imagine a more perfect place. We will be coming back for years to come!

Room tip: The lux is a must! Its far more private and the views are worth the splurge!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jameseast33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

You have blown us away with such a beautiful review, its the best part of our job to work so closely with our future bride & grooms - and such a reward when everything drops into plan. We look forward to welcoming you both back for many wedding anniversaries to come. Rum punch awaits you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews