We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,275)
Filter reviews
1,275 results
Traveller rating
896
223
71
46
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
896
223
71
46
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hillside deluxe air conditioning beach level vegetarian restaurant jade mountain treehouse restaurant beach grill jungle biking meal plan st lucia scuba diving premium room dive shop dive staff open air dive master our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
706 - 711 of 1,275 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

After the horrible drive to the hotel along a very bumpy, long and dangerous road we arrived at a tired looking hotel.
The room we was given was sub-standard and we had to climb up an extremely steep hill to get to it.
The walk to the beach was a joke, 100's of steps! When we finally got there rude staff and sales people approached us.
We had lunch at the beach restaurant, the menu wasn't good and neither was the food. Over cooked and salty.

We had dinner at both the Indian restaurant and the main restaurant during our stay. I can honestly say we were disgusted with the food. Small portions, badly executed, lack of flavour... Can anybody cook fish at this hotel? Dry is an understatement.

My husband and I had booked 1 week at Anse Chastanet. after 2 nights we decided to go back to Jalousie Hotel which we had stayed the previous year. Jalousie Hotel is far superior in every way. Anse chastanet is like a prison. WARNING DONT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

All I can say is Wow! This place is spectacular. From the rooms to the food and last but not least, the staff, I cannot tell you have perfect this place is. We had the opportunity to stay in room 7F "Royal Palm" and without question this room is absolutely spectacular. The view of the Pitons and ocean is breathtaking. All of the meals were five star quality and made from fresh local ingredients. This was thebvacation of a lifetime, and would highly recommend this hotel as a place to get away from it all and just relax. If you are looking for some adventure, The jungle biking and tour of the tropical gardens are fantastic excursions. The trek up Tinker's Trail is challenging, but the view from the top is worth the hike. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and can't wait to go back.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler2003421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Spent 8 days in Anse Chastanet from 9th October. We had a hillside room facing the pitons (to the left) and the beautiful caribbean sea. Such a relaxing holiday and yet plenty to do if you want to. Food was first class in the evening, and even lunch time there was a good choice in the beach bar. Anse Mamin beach (the next beach along- only short walk) was stunning, and the steak burgers are delicious.
We have been to St Lucia before (staying at the more busy part of the island - Rodney Bay), also other caribbean islands, but this is by far one of the best hotels we have stayed in.
We will definately consider coming back to this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HornchurchStiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed at Anse Chastanet for 1 week in early October, 2012 and loved it!

We had a Hillside Deluxe room which had an open wall/balcony facing the jungle with a small ocean view. The room itself was large and had a nice-sized bathroom, sitting/reading area, cafe table, in-room fridge, and plenty of closet/drawer space. The hotel is just remote enough that you feel removed from cities/towns, but not so far away that you couldn't get a cab or water taxi in and experience the local life. The island itself is obviously a tourist destination but doesn't have a busy feel or the overly aggressive souvenir vendors that other islands we have visited had.

Pros:
- Large, clean, comfortable rooms
- Beds all had mosquito nets and ceiling fans
- Snorkeling at the beach was *awesome*. Seriously, the best snorkeling we had ever seen in the Caribbean, probably second worldwide only to our snorkeling at the Great Barrier Reef
- Food was excellent and varied. We are vegetarians and when there wasn't an option that suited us the chef was extremely happy to make us something special.
- Beach was clean and well-maintained. The secondary beach (Anse Mamin, a 10 minute walk) was probably even nicer.
- Lots of on-site activities (biking, hiking, birdwatching, snorkeling, lounging, scuba diving...probably some more that we missed!) (note that some of these are not free)
- Staff was very friendly and helpful for the most part
- Afternoon tea has some really wonderful "desserty" items, make sure you check it out!
- Evening turn-down service was nice when it happened during our dinner
- The beach is a wonderful soft volcanic sand

Cons
- The resort is situated up the side of a mountain, so there is quite a bit of walking up and down stairs -- to the beach, to hotels, to your room, etc.
- Unless you get one of the Meal Plans the restaurants and drinks (even water) are very pricey
- Taxis to/from town are $20 USD, and water taxis are $40 -- making on-site dining even more necessary
- The road to the hotel is in a state of extreme disrepair. I was told this was due to a dispute between Anse Chastanet and the few homeowners that lived on the road
- Shuttles labor up and down the "resort hill" from 5am - 11pm, which can be loud if your room is near the road
- A few of the wait staff did seem overly busy or annoyed when we interacted with them, but this was not the norm

Misc
- Seating at the beach restaurant is pretty limited, so be sure to get there early if you want a nice table
- Locals all seemed to accept both EC and USD, so money changing isn't necessary if you are from the US
- Be sure to bargain down prices with any of the beach vendors/guides
- Believe the "Extreme" sign if you are going to hike or bike Tinker's Trail. It is very steep, rocky, and exhausting -- but the view at the top is incredible!
- Get a tour of Jade Mountain while you are there -- it is amazing
- Bugs were not a huge issue. We did get a few bites when hiking, but nothing too bad
- Tropical Storm Rafael sucks!

Shout-outs!
- Dave the bartender is a great guy, and made our stay even more enjoyable
- Sous Chef Sator did a wonderful job making us a custom vegetarian meal one night - amazing!

All in all we are very much looking forward to going back, and would highly recommend Anse Chastanet to others looking to travel to the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GR_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Spent a week here in October 2012 – a week was not long enough and very quickly realised we should have booked 10 days or a fortnight as lots to do and a lovely resort. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food – especially dinner in the Treehouse Restaurant, was fab. Highly recommend the free plantation walk with guide Mano. Snorkelling at either end of the bay was great, even if a little choppy and churned up after a stormy/rainy weather that we had for about a day and a half. Day trips from other hotels drop off big groups of snorkelers a couple of times a day - best time to snorkel is when they are not there and you pretty much have it to yourself and probably more fish as they are not as disturbed. We both got bitten by insects a lot – they are not mosquito bites, but sand flies and none of the anti insect measures made any difference to this annoyance. I noticed lots of other people had the same bites – generally concentrated on the ankles/lower legs . The room was very nice, we had a view of the bay rather than the Pitons, but it was lovely, not overlooked and felt very private. Turned out to be a bonus as the rooms on the other side were more affected by the stormy weather we experienced. We paid to go on the catamaran trip which was good , if a little expensive. We saw lots of pilot whales but no dolphins or other whales – still a good trip though. Our room was at the top of the hill and there were around 200 steps from the reception area to the room. There are even more steps – quite uneven ones - down from the reception to the beach. This was not a problem for us and if you wanted a lift in a car from reception to your room then this was easy to arrange, but if you have difficulties with stairs then this may not be an easy resort for you. The beach is wonderful, well managed and the gardens are well tendered throughout the hotel. The few locals that are selling their products or offering taxi services are polite and do not overly hassle you. There were some local good singers/bands (particularly liked the reggae band) but some nights were heavy on country music which is more tailored to the American guests. A couple of tiny improvements would be good – the all inclusive arrangement still needs to be clearer – a few times during the week we were asking ‘is this included?’ It nearly always was, but it’s not that clear. Also compared with other places I’ve stayed that are possibly less exclusive/high end, the mini bar/room fridge situation is a bit annoying. You are given a modest allocation of drinks in the fridge when you arrive but this is not replenished. This will cost you an additional $5 per order. It seems a bit petty in the grand scheme of the arrangement. We were in room 8b and were able to get WiFi access. Overall though we had a lovely holiday and based on this experience would consider returning to St Lucia in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews