We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon experience”
Review of Anse Chastanet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anse Chastanet
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Me and my husband flew to st lucia for our honeymoon to experience the caribbean , this hotel was amazing and the views from the hotel was beauitful , the hotel was exclusive and an adults resort, it has its own two beachs and also scuba diving . On arrival the hotel welcomed us with a nice re- freshing drink and a great service from the stuff , they upgraded us to nice beach front villa which was lovely and on arrival some champagne for us .

The downsides of this hotel is its quite far from the airport and you end up paying a lot of money for there own shuttles the hotel picks you up but charges you a great deal for it , i think they should review this considering you spend alot on the resort shuttles should be free , also the journey from the aiport to the hotel was fine until we got close to Anse and the last part was very horrifiying and rocky journey to get up to the hotel , i actually got scared of the journey and i wouldnt like to do that again even though once you got to the hotel it was worth it :)

The hotel is up hill so the main bar and restaurants if your villa is near the beach front you have plenty steps every evening to get up there and back down again , the rooms have no radio or Tv or phone , this is nice as you want to escape this sort of thing but on certain points when you needed to contact the reception you had to leave your room to get to the phone to speak to them .

the waters are lovely and we even got to see a sea turtle which was a great experience , i would advise to stay away from the city center soufriere i wouldnt adivise going down there , locals dont leave you alone and also i felt very uncomfortable with how many people was approaching us to sell things and also the bars or places to eat there wasnt welcoming at all or clean , we sat in one bar and the service was very bad with no smile , i understand they are trying to bring money into this city but i wouldnt advise it to be honest ,i couldnt wait for the water taxi to come back and pick us up to go back to our resort .

Jungle our hotel water taxi was a great guy and his services was always with plenty detail and a great smile :)

it was an amazing place ,and me and my partner enjoyed our stay very much , The stuff was great with excellent service they also joined in with the dancing in the evenings when the local bands was playing . I would say they need to arrange alot more evening events as there isnt much to do in the evenings and i wouldnt stay longer than 7 nights .

all in all good experience for us .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ESMA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

692 - 696 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

We had our plane tickets to St. Lucia back in Febuary 2012. For the past several months we came back to Trip Advisor to search for the perfect place. I would have to say we won the lottery. When you read about the steps at Anse Chastanet, I would agree that yes, there are a lot of steps but I am the kind of person that is happy to be able to take the steps. If not, take the shuttle. We took the shuttle once from out beachfront villa, 10D, THE BEST ONE, and the shuttle came in less than 2 minutes.
The place was very clean and the employees are happy to help you at any time. I must say we almost went to Jalousie. Just for the heck of it we took a water taxi over to Jalousie and was THRILLED we stayed at Anse Chastanet. Jalousie did look very nice but it seemed more uptight. Not more upperclass, but it just seemed like you might want to get dressed to go to their beach, very posh. Food at Anse Chastanet was great, bed was very comfortable, large bathrooms and great beach, in fact, I think the best beach I had seen on the island. If you can afford to do so, BOOK A ROOM AT JADE, for the last night or two. If you cannot, please take a tour and you will have a goal to save for the next year to go back and spend some time at Jade Mountain. So, even in the pouring rain, everyday, this place was a gem and still did a lot and had a wonderful time. Oh, and the Thursday evening Jazz cruise was worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed in 10D which is a beach room. Not on the hill. We had the chance to "upgrade" to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

No it hasn't got the flat screen tvs, iPod docking stations, air conditioning, but you don't go on holiday to spend all day in your room - do you ?
But, it's still go lovely views from your room, we had 4B, pitons and sea view. Nice furnishings, balcony, mosquito net, comfortable bed, tea and coffee maker, fridge, only bug bear was we needed a bit more storage space. But really didn't need it, as ever, I had packed too much, take half as many clothes and make up, it's so hot and humid - by the time we got down to dinner - much of it had worn off ( the make up ) and the lighting didn't really show what make up you were wearing anyways.
Check-in was tedious after long flight and car journey, they do need to let people do it the next morning or after a few hours ! Also the road to the hotel - well it's hairy !
All staff were friendly from the waiting staff, to beach attendants and water sports staff.
Hotel trips we took:-
We done the snorkelling trip, husband was lucky enough to see a manta ray.
We done the whale and dolphin watching , huge pod of pilot whales and loads of dolphins.

By ordering a taxi, to pick us up at hotel, we visited Ladera for drinks and The Boucan restaurant at hotel for lunch,
And also on another day, we visited 'our beloved ' Jalousie for lunch, these trips are going to be reviewed separately.

My husband had put his name down on the gros piton climb trip at the beginning of the week, no-one else wanted to do it ! But they finally arranged it so he could do it just with the guide. It was an early start, 6.30, but you have to go early to beat the heat. He conquered it , took his an hour and half to the top and two hours down. My hero !

Entertainment every night, best band on Monday night, country Caribbean, the singer was VERY good . He also sung Wednesday night but not same songs.

Be prepared for the many steps. Be prepared for the best afternoon tea with scones ever !
Very good snorkelling from beach. But also on several days, there are many visiting boats, dropping people into the water to snorkel. Some are landed also from cruise ships. Be prepared for the noisy frogs at night ! We weren't bitten too much, the mosquito net is draped round your bed every night and the coil lit on the floor. Fun trying to get out of bed actually !
Feed the little birds that visit your balcony , we know why they put the sugar in the fridge !
They love fruit and will eat from your hand.
We only saw a couple of cats in the distance - I like cats - but they wouldn't come near me.
There was no hard selling beach vendors, it was up to you whether you looked or bought.
Flag waiter service was a bit slow I must say, but worth it when you got your drink. They do good mohitos my other half says.
Another tip - go all inclusive, it really didn't add up, as you have to keep signing bits of paper for everything, we could see how it was adding up. It had to be the cheaper option.
Also, take the free jade mountain tour - wow rooms, but you still have to come down to anses beach.
We found eating in the vegetarian restaurant above treetops the coolest place to eat in the evening, bit more of a breeze, they would let us eat from the same menu as treetops in there.
Anyways, will end this review now, could go on, but we loved our holiday here, and will return one day.
In answer to the question in the title :-
Well, NO, we was glad we never stayed at Jalousie again and tried Anse.
Anse Chastenet is a new favourite of ours.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jalousiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This really is a gem of a hotel, that does not feel like a hotel. Everyone has an individual apartment, we stayed in a deluxe hillside room. These are essentially open to the environment though it is possible to close the wooden slats if desired but then one would miss the glorious views of the ocean and lush forestation and the wonderful sounds of the forest. The warmth of the greeting here seemed genuine and service is always provided willingly and with a broad smile. The staff quickly remember names and whims and all seem happy in their work! Breakfast is basic, the fruit delicious as are the eggs cooked to each guests specification. For dinner one is spoilt for choice with respect both to food and location. We ate in each restaurant and were delighted with them all although our favourite was the beach grill for atmosphere.
The activities staff are considerate and thorough. The walks in particular are fascinating and informative and allow one a glimpse of true St. Lucian life. We climbed the Gros Piton and our guide again was happy to talk about life on the island. Put simply St. Lucians have to work, they recive nothing from the government. That they do so with such willingness and charm is a tribute to their nation of which they are all justly proud.
Our only concern was though the 2 beaches are absolutely idyllic, and the service excellent, red flags were displayed for most of our time their which meant we could not swim. This was definitely justified some of the time as the undercurrents are strong, but people were snorkelling and sailing and this did not seem to marry up, and I was not convinced about the beach attendants vague replies.
That aside a conducted tour of Jade Mountain was interesting. There is no doubt the owner is an architect with great vision nor that his staff are incredibly loyal to him, and he and they create a beautiful holiday, be it in the ultramodern Jade Mountain or our preferred Anse Chastanet.

Room Tip: we had a deluxe hillside cabin, it was enormous and beautiful. We overlooked the plantation and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank maggie2739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from a six night stay. we both loved it!
our room had a gorgeous view of the ocean and the Pitons. the beach was great, the water clear and refreshing. the snorkeling was nice. we had the meal plan that covered breakfast and dinner. Overall the food was wonderful. my husband is a picky eater and he enjoyed every meal.

Room Tip: we had 2c hibiscus which i would recommend. it is a two bedroom suite, with two bathrooms. more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank daryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
0.2 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
988 reviews
2.9 km away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
760 reviews
4.4 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,313 reviews
29.5 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
782 reviews
12.6 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anse Chastanet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anse Chastanet

Address: 1000 Anse Chastanet Road | PO Box 7000, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Green Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: $414 - $1,133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anse Chastanet 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility, Romance, Adventure: What were Caribbean hotels like when you sat watching the sunset instead of cable TV? You can still find that Classic Caribbean at Anse Chastanet on St. Lucia’s quiet southwestern coast where two magical peaks, the Pitons, leap from the sea and the mountains are covered with luminous greenery.Architect owner Nick Troubetzkoy believes passionately in nature. So he created a hotel that makes the foliage and the flowers, the perfumes and the peaks, the sea and the bird song an integral part of your vacation experience. The estate encompasses 600 lush tropical acres bordering two soft sand beaches. The resort’s two crystal-clear bays are part of a designated marine reserve protecting miles of colorful coral reefs teeming with tropical fish.With such a unique setting as his canvas, Nick Troubetzkoy was inspired to design a one -of-a-kind resort. A dozen rooms are tucked in behind the coconut palms that line the beach and the remainder tip toe up a flower decked hillside, taking advantage of the captivating scenery all around. Anse Chastanet’s ever growing art collection provides a visual feast of its own. There are impressive wooden sculptures and plaques, earthy burlap compositions, painted “sky ceilings” and vibrant acrylic paintings invoking memories of Matisse and Picasso.And while the sensuous seclusion of the rooms provides some guests with the perfect excuse for lolling away the day on the balcony, others head out to partake in the many activities on offer; yoga, snorkeling, scuba diving, tennis, sunset sailing, sea kayaking or jungle biking, hiking and bird-watching among the ruins of an 18th century colonial plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anse Chastanet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anse Chastanet Hotel Soufrière
Anse Chastanet St. Lucia/Soufriere
Anse Chastenet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing