We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,276)
Filter reviews
1,276 results
Traveller rating
897
223
71
46
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
223
71
46
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hillside deluxe air conditioning beach level vegetarian restaurant jade mountain treehouse restaurant beach grill jungle biking meal plan st lucia scuba diving premium room dive shop dive staff open air dive master our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
743 - 748 of 1,276 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We had our plane tickets to St. Lucia back in Febuary 2012. For the past several months we came back to Trip Advisor to search for the perfect place. I would have to say we won the lottery. When you read about the steps at Anse Chastanet, I would agree that yes, there are a lot of steps but I am the kind of person that is happy to be able to take the steps. If not, take the shuttle. We took the shuttle once from out beachfront villa, 10D, THE BEST ONE, and the shuttle came in less than 2 minutes.
The place was very clean and the employees are happy to help you at any time. I must say we almost went to Jalousie. Just for the heck of it we took a water taxi over to Jalousie and was THRILLED we stayed at Anse Chastanet. Jalousie did look very nice but it seemed more uptight. Not more upperclass, but it just seemed like you might want to get dressed to go to their beach, very posh. Food at Anse Chastanet was great, bed was very comfortable, large bathrooms and great beach, in fact, I think the best beach I had seen on the island. If you can afford to do so, BOOK A ROOM AT JADE, for the last night or two. If you cannot, please take a tour and you will have a goal to save for the next year to go back and spend some time at Jade Mountain. So, even in the pouring rain, everyday, this place was a gem and still did a lot and had a wonderful time. Oh, and the Thursday evening Jazz cruise was worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed in 10D which is a beach room. Not on the hill. We had the chance to "upgrade" to the hill. I went and looked at them. VERY nice indeed, but our room was only 100 steps to the beach, so you don't need to bring everything with you. In fact, it is so close that we used our own restroom and went back and forth with ease. We also had AC that was great to sleep in. All of our bedding felt dry along with the couches in the room. Yes, althought it was raining, it was hot and humid. Also, stop at the liquior store, that was another tip we got off of Trip Advisor, you see we were so close to beach that we made our own drinks!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

No it hasn't got the flat screen tvs, iPod docking stations, air conditioning, but you don't go on holiday to spend all day in your room - do you ?
But, it's still go lovely views from your room, we had 4B, pitons and sea view. Nice furnishings, balcony, mosquito net, comfortable bed, tea and coffee maker, fridge, only bug bear was we needed a bit more storage space. But really didn't need it, as ever, I had packed too much, take half as many clothes and make up, it's so hot and humid - by the time we got down to dinner - much of it had worn off ( the make up ) and the lighting didn't really show what make up you were wearing anyways.
Check-in was tedious after long flight and car journey, they do need to let people do it the next morning or after a few hours ! Also the road to the hotel - well it's hairy !
All staff were friendly from the waiting staff, to beach attendants and water sports staff.
Hotel trips we took:-
We done the snorkelling trip, husband was lucky enough to see a manta ray.
We done the whale and dolphin watching , huge pod of pilot whales and loads of dolphins.

By ordering a taxi, to pick us up at hotel, we visited Ladera for drinks and The Boucan restaurant at hotel for lunch,
And also on another day, we visited 'our beloved ' Jalousie for lunch, these trips are going to be reviewed separately.

My husband had put his name down on the gros piton climb trip at the beginning of the week, no-one else wanted to do it ! But they finally arranged it so he could do it just with the guide. It was an early start, 6.30, but you have to go early to beat the heat. He conquered it , took his an hour and half to the top and two hours down. My hero !

Entertainment every night, best band on Monday night, country Caribbean, the singer was VERY good . He also sung Wednesday night but not same songs.

Be prepared for the many steps. Be prepared for the best afternoon tea with scones ever !
Very good snorkelling from beach. But also on several days, there are many visiting boats, dropping people into the water to snorkel. Some are landed also from cruise ships. Be prepared for the noisy frogs at night ! We weren't bitten too much, the mosquito net is draped round your bed every night and the coil lit on the floor. Fun trying to get out of bed actually !
Feed the little birds that visit your balcony , we know why they put the sugar in the fridge !
They love fruit and will eat from your hand.
We only saw a couple of cats in the distance - I like cats - but they wouldn't come near me.
There was no hard selling beach vendors, it was up to you whether you looked or bought.
Flag waiter service was a bit slow I must say, but worth it when you got your drink. They do good mohitos my other half says.
Another tip - go all inclusive, it really didn't add up, as you have to keep signing bits of paper for everything, we could see how it was adding up. It had to be the cheaper option.
Also, take the free jade mountain tour - wow rooms, but you still have to come down to anses beach.
We found eating in the vegetarian restaurant above treetops the coolest place to eat in the evening, bit more of a breeze, they would let us eat from the same menu as treetops in there.
Anyways, will end this review now, could go on, but we loved our holiday here, and will return one day.
In answer to the question in the title :-
Well, NO, we was glad we never stayed at Jalousie again and tried Anse.
Anse Chastenet is a new favourite of ours.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room !
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank jalousiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This really is a gem of a hotel, that does not feel like a hotel. Everyone has an individual apartment, we stayed in a deluxe hillside room. These are essentially open to the environment though it is possible to close the wooden slats if desired but then one would miss the glorious views of the ocean and lush forestation and the wonderful sounds of the forest. The warmth of the greeting here seemed genuine and service is always provided willingly and with a broad smile. The staff quickly remember names and whims and all seem happy in their work! Breakfast is basic, the fruit delicious as are the eggs cooked to each guests specification. For dinner one is spoilt for choice with respect both to food and location. We ate in each restaurant and were delighted with them all although our favourite was the beach grill for atmosphere.
The activities staff are considerate and thorough. The walks in particular are fascinating and informative and allow one a glimpse of true St. Lucian life. We climbed the Gros Piton and our guide again was happy to talk about life on the island. Put simply St. Lucians have to work, they recive nothing from the government. That they do so with such willingness and charm is a tribute to their nation of which they are all justly proud.
Our only concern was though the 2 beaches are absolutely idyllic, and the service excellent, red flags were displayed for most of our time their which meant we could not swim. This was definitely justified some of the time as the undercurrents are strong, but people were snorkelling and sailing and this did not seem to marry up, and I was not convinced about the beach attendants vague replies.
That aside a conducted tour of Jade Mountain was interesting. There is no doubt the owner is an architect with great vision nor that his staff are incredibly loyal to him, and he and they create a beautiful holiday, be it in the ultramodern Jade Mountain or our preferred Anse Chastanet.

Room Tip: we had a deluxe hillside cabin, it was enormous and beautiful. We overlooked the plantation and the ocean 15A
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank maggie2739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from a six night stay. we both loved it!
our room had a gorgeous view of the ocean and the Pitons. the beach was great, the water clear and refreshing. the snorkeling was nice. we had the meal plan that covered breakfast and dinner. Overall the food was wonderful. my husband is a picky eater and he enjoyed every meal.

Room Tip: we had 2c hibiscus which i would recommend. it is a two bedroom suite, with two bathrooms. more than we needed but the view and open floor plan was great.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank daryl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here in April 2012 with 12 other guests for our wedding, which occurred at Jade Mountain. I'll comment on Jade in another review as that resort is true paradise and deserves separate accolades! From the staff to the food to the activities, Anse Chastanet had it all. As for entertainment, the best band is L.M. Stone so make sure you pop down to the Piti Piton bar to check them out on the nights they are booked. Our group was a bit lively for the resort, but the staff was accommodating and even joined in on the fun. Special thanks to Tyrone, Dave, and Peter, who were vibrant, attentive, and made our trip memorable! We did the Jazzy Sunset Cruise in lieu of a rehearsal dinner and had a blast. The staff was great and the drinks were flowing. What isn't great about that ;) We were even entertained by a school of dolphins along the way. This cruise is a must-do activity at Anse Chastanet. In addition to the cruise, we did some snorkeling, which was pretty good, but I think when we go back we will make time to dive as I hear that is a bit better. We also did the volcano, mineral baths, and emerald estate tour. It was alright, but not good enough to recommend. The only complaint we had for this resort is that the beds are very firm so for us plush-bed lovers, sleep was a bit uncomfortable. That aside, as an affluent traveler I would hands down recommend this resort.

Thanks again for such a memorable experience, Anse Chastanet!
C & B - Loud wedding party that took over the resort week of 4/10/12 :)

Room Tip: If you can drop a few extra greenbacks, hillside deluxe room 7C has a wonderful view of the pitons!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank clgallo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews