We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet place close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ginger Lily Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Gros Islet
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice quiet place close to the beach”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at Ginger Lily at the beginning of 2012 and we really enjoyed it. The hotel was quiet and peaceful and had a great location close to the beach, and the restaurants and shopping in Rodney Bay.

If you do stay there be prepared to be on your own if your planning any activities, the staff will help you with calling a taxi, but that is about it.

On nights that it rained, which was pretty much every night, I usually woke up from the noise on the roof, but all in all I enjoyed it, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    93
    23
    7
    10
See reviews for
36
136
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton of Campsie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here for a week in mid November 2011 and we had no complaints whatsoever.
It had a brilliant location just across from the best beach in the island and Spinnakers beach bar was tremendous.
Beach chairs, etc were numerous.
The hotel had very large rooms and enormous bathroom and shower.
Shampoo & gel were provided.
Great views from upstairs room balconies with good outdoor furnishings.
The room & hotel were both very quiet with no noise from the road or nearby bars, etc.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanhstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, Merseyside
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I'm actually a year late writing this report, 2011 was a particularly bad year for my family and writing reviews was the last thing on my mind but finally .... I've made it! I couldn't not write about what is probably our favourite holiday hotel! The Ginger Lily was me and my husbands ideal accommodation! We loved it, the fabulous high ceilings helping the rooms to stay cool, a huge comfortable bed, a massive bathroom (hot water always available!), spotlessly clean and hugely spacious, not that it was important to us but there was a large flat screen tv, free wi-fi, balcony with table, chairs and a hammock, kitchenette with kettle, cutlery, cups etc, air con and fans plus much much more! The hotel itself is beautifully looked after with very pretty gardens and a small pool! Plenty of poolside seating with shade is available! The staff are amazing, really friendly and very helpful! Directly opposite the hotel is an access point to the Beach where sunbeds are easily available to rent, there is also a large restaurant open all day every day serving food and drinks! There are plenty of other restaurants available within easy walking distance and the town centre with a modern supermarket and shopping mall is about a 10 - 15 min stroll away. On the way into town you pass a great coffee shop and just about next door to that is a fabulous open air eating area if you want to sample local cuisine! Car hire is surprisingly expensive but necessary if you want to explore St Lucia, and it is worth exploring, but the roads can be very busy at rush hour and I did get quite car sick travelling on some of
the very windy bendy roads!
We loved St Lucia, the beaches, the people but most if all we loved The Ginger Lily!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nursepurse49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed for four nights at the Ginger Lily as part of a 2 week holiday on the island. As the earlier reviews indicate, this is a good budget hotel. We had specifically asked for an upstairs room and I'm glad we did as the downstairs bedrooms appears to have a lot of vegetation outside. Our room was large and airy, with a huge four poster bed, enormous bathroom and offering both aircon and ceiling fan. The small kitchenette was more than adequate for our needs. The location, right across the road from the beach, was perfect. There are also some excellent restaurants in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Choose one upstairs if you can (we had room 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley_Chapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This is a budget-type hotel in a busy and loud area of Rodney Bay. If you are looking for something akin to a beach cottage right across the street from Reduit Beach (and the police station), this is your place. For us, the area was a little too loud (right up until 5:30 or so on Saturday morning following our 1-night stay) and a little too touristy with lots of restaurants and bars nearby. Our room was also at the front of the hotel where we could hear the phone ringing and conversations taking place in the lobby (the windows did not close, but curtains and shutters did cover the screens). We also could hear the grounds crew when they started watering the gardens around 8:30 or so. Might not have been a big deal, but we were tired because the noise from the street had only stopped a couple of hours before they started work. The personnel working at the desk were quite nice, and there was a night guard who came on duty before we went to bed. The hotel has a small bar, and it was nice to be able to get a couple of Piton beers without going to a restaurant. Our unit had a kitchen,and there are two good grocery stores nearby, so if we were staying longer, we could have cooked our meals. The pull-out sofa was extremely uncomfortable -- it would have been difficult to sleep on it for more than one night. All-in-all, it was a fine place to stay if you aren't looking for luxury. Rituals Coffee is good and serves pastries and hot breakfast. Also, Elena's ice-cream is a must visit. We heard that Spinnaker's Restaurant (across the street on the beach) is good, but didn't visit ourselves so I can't confirm.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if it's possible to get one. Don't take room #11 (an executive suite at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavinandkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.2 km away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
458 reviews
14.4 km away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
27.0 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,097 reviews
0.7 km away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,637 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal St Lucia Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ginger Lily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ginger Lily Hotel

Property: The Ginger Lily Hotel
Address: Rodney Bay | P.O. Box cp 6013, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
Price range (per night): $154 - $307
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ginger Lily Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel cushions the seafront of one of the island's most exotic beaches, Reduit Beach located within Rodney Bay Village. The hotel comprises of eleven luxury rooms. Four superior deluxe, four sea view rooms and three executive suites. Each are superbly furnished with fridge, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, ceiling fan and wall-to-wall shower, queen and sofa bed, clock radio and an in room safe. The executive rooms are fully furnished with separate dining and kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ginger Lily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger Lily Hotel
Ginger Lily Gros Islet
The Ginger Lily Hotel St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing