We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it”
Review of East Winds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
East Winds
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Gros Islet
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Just returned from two wonderful weeks at East Winds Inn.
When we arrived the hotel had 20% occupancy. A blip for such a popular hotel and bad luck for us but after a few days things returned to normal and there was a good atmosphere to the place.
I was struck by how quickly we became part of the East Winds way of life. It has the most amazing laid back feel, totally unpretentious, very rustic but still delivering exceptional service. I will not even start to mention names as all the staff are brilliant.
Two tiny comments though. Mosquitos love socialising with the guests in the Bamboo Bar in the evening, especially when seated at the bar. They are a nuisance!
The evening meals are superbly cooked and presented but personally i would have liked to have one choice on the menu of something more regional and spicy. Some of the dishes were a little bland but that might just be me.
We met some wonderful people and enjoyed some fun evenings. Thank you to all for providing a laugh and some interesting cocktail ideas!
Will we return? ...... Love to!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miklui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
LOVED YOUR REVIEW – THANK YOU

The candid review of your two week stay at East Winds Inn is most appreciated. It is interesting that you picked up on the fact that the place has a better vibe when there is higher occupancy – the few days in which you were there was a mere aberration – rather a valley between two peaks as they say. You rightfully point out that this does not happen very often, particularly in light of the fact that our average guest stay is over 11 nights, and you represented our typical two week experience. Your lines - “I was struck by how quickly we became part of the East Winds way of life. It has the most amazing laid back feel, totally unpretentious, very rustic but still delivering exceptional service.” – basically says it all, as does reference to the “brilliant” staff. It seems you met interesting people and had some good laughs as well – we believe it is also the guests who generate a good part of the East Winds experience.

Thank you for your comments on the “superbly cooked and presented” meals, which our French trained chefs take great pride in preparing. Many of our lunches offer regional and spicy foods, and you will have noted that every Wednesday is local St. Lucian fare, with even our servers dressed in their traditional St. Lucian costumes. If you had requested that our chefs prepare something of the nature you were craving, that can always be arranged. Perhaps when you return, you can suggest something you would enjoy seeing on the menu – the kitchen would love to make you happy.

Your support and interest in East Winds Inn is greatly appreciated - we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    63
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
135
575
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dereham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We were so impressed when we stayed at East Winds in Feb 2011 that we are returning in Feb 2013, with 2 good friends of ours. We have been to St Lucia 4 times now and can honestly say that East Winds is the best!! We are looking forward to staying in the Ocean Suite for the first time, and introducing our friends to this stunning resort. This was one of the most relaxing and friendly resorts we have ever stayed in, and we cannot wait to return next year. Paradise here we come!!!

Room Tip: We found the room we stayed in was quite noisy at night but soon got used to the tree frogs, who wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
YOUR SUPPORT AND COMMITMENT ARE GREATLY APPRECIATED

We truly appreciate the review of your past experience at East Winds Inn – referring to the time as “9 days in paradise”. More importantly, your commitment to return and introduce your friends to East Winds Inn is extremely encouraging – especially considering that you have been to St. Lucia 4 times already. This gives extra meaning to your comment - “we can honestly say that East Winds is the best!!” And as we all know, sometimes, saying and doing can be two different things – but you are definitely doing – as you are not only returning yourselves, but with your friends. That is serious commitment, and we thank you wholeheartedly for it.

Accordingly, we will do our utmost to ensure that your friends experience the same “most relaxing and friendly” vacation as you did, hoping that you all continue to refer to East Winds Inn as a “stunning resort”. As you say through your own experience, “Paradise here we come!!!”

We are most pleased to be able to serve you as a repeat guest, and thank you for your patronage.

Warm regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We just returned from a week spent at the East Winds Inn. (April 9-14) As a couple in our early 30's, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Calm, quiet, and most of all, RELAXING!!  It's literally impossible not to be relaxed while staying here. 

Prior to coming, we scoured trip advisor and finally settled on East Winds. The number of positive reviews were far superior to any other place, (especially in the all-inclusive category) and was what really cinched it for us. Every positive review on here is spot on. For the few people that gave a negative review, I can only recommend that they get their heads checked. 

After flying in to UVF, we opted for the helicopter ride to the north side of the island. We'd recommend that, because it gives you a chance to see the island from above, and the pilots are helpful in pointing things out as you go. From there, it's only a 10 minute cab ride to East Winds. 

Upon arrival, check-in is simple. No lines to contend with, and you are immediately treated like a guest of the family. A warm rum punch or a cold glass water are offered after you walk in. Your bags are taken to your room and you are given a tour of the grounds. From there, it's up to you what you want to do. 

The rooms were very nice. We stayed in a deluxe room at the top of the grounds. It was about 100 yards to the beach, which was nice. We had air-conditioning and cable tv in our room as well. The bathroom was excellent with the open air shower. The patio was private and had a nice mini fridge stocked with Piton and Heineken beers as well as bottled water. We liked to have a bottle of wine while we relaxed in our room and they were very accomodating in giving us the bottle to take up there. I'm certain if we'd asked to have a bottled stocked in there daily, they'd have done it without question. 

The beach is covered with plenty of cabanas and lounge chairs for everyone.  No jockeying for a good spot on the beach or searching for a place to sit. At first glance, the beach and sand aren't the most beautiful.  But, let me be perfectly clear, it's still an excellent beach, and the water is beautiful and calm.  The grounds were well kept while we were there and there were no passers-by trying to sell us anything.  Kim and Jonny, who run the water-sports activities, are great. They will help you get the kayaks and paddle boats in and out of the water, as well as sail you around on the hobbie cats. They have a wealth of knowledge of the island and are very personable while sailing.  If there is one drawback, it would have to be that there is no beach service for drinks. BUT, getting up off your chair to walk 30-50 feet to a bar that NEVER has a line isn't so bad. Plus it allows you to converse with the great staff behind the bar. 

While we didn't spend too much time at the pool, it was just as the pictures show, if not a little bigger. The help yourself bar is great if you like making your own drinks, (great selection of top shelf alcohol too) plus there is a menu with how to make the drinks. 

And then there's the food:  OUT. OF. THIS. WORLD!!! A lot of all inclusives are beautiful and fun, but they get cheap when it comes to the food and drinks.  Or you'll have to pay extra for a nicer meal, or can only eat at the nice place once or twice.  Not here!!  It's all great, all of the time, which sets this place apart.
  Breakfast in the morning consists of scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit, juices, and made to order omlets, french toast, and pancakes..buffet style.  It runs from 7:30-10, which,for us,was perfect. 
Lunch was much more than we expected. Lunch here would probably beat most fine dinners at other all-inclusives. On any given day they have fresh salads with other fresh slaws. Then they will have a meat and fresh fish: bbq chicken, lamb chops, fresh tuna, and a roasted turkey...just to name a few.  They served a variety of wines along with your lunch. To cap it off, numerous flavors of ice cream are offered to cool you off before you head back to the beach. 
Prior to dinner there is a nice reception with your choice of drink and an opportunity to converse with other guests. It's difficult to not make friends while there. Most of the "regulars" that frequent East Winds are eager to meet and greet newcomers and happily answer any questions you may have. A special tip of the hat to guests Will and Karen for the warm welcome they gave us. 
Dinner is out of this world. A wide variety is offered every night, so you'll surely walk away happy and full. We can't say enough good things about how great the food was. Especially dinner.  If you're going to stay for more than a week, we highly recommend fitting the Friday barbeque in as many times as possible. Definitely a meal to remember. Some of the menu items served at dinner include king fish, shrimp, beef tenderloin, vegie cabobs, yellow fin tuna, duck, pork loin, and veggie chili. All were incredible. They have a veggie meal at dinner for those that don't care for the meats.  We celebrated a birthday while we were down there and they made us a wonderfully rich chocolate cake, last minute. We ate in a private area with rose peddles spread around the table. All at no extra cost and it was all handled without hassle.  Couldn't have been better. 

A special thanks to the great staff, including Hanna, Jessica, Kerwin, Wendel, Titus, Elie, Loran,Kim, Jonny, and Mr. Charles.  Garreth, the GM, was out and about every day walking the grounds and conversing with guests to make sure everything was up to par and guests were pleased with their service.  It's nearly impossible not to get to know them and feel like you're one of the family once you leave. 

All in all, it's a 10 star resort. We're already planning our return visit. 

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dwalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
AN “OUTSTANDING” REVIEW – THANK YOU!

The amount of effort and detail you have placed into the posting of this exceptional review is not only appreciated by all of us at East Winds Inn, but will also serve the ultimate purpose of assisting potential travelers to St. Lucia and those considering staying with us. There is so much helpful information and positive feedback within your review, it is most difficult to focus on any one portion of it rather than view it in its totality as so eloquently written.

The fact you virtually scoured this website in the choosing of East Winds Inn is encouraging for all those who rely upon it, as your review is then seen as a validation of all the positives which have been said about the resort in the hundreds of reviews we have received – including yours of course! From a couple in their early 30’s – who were truly after a relaxing holiday – this is highly rewarding for all the staff – demonstrating that East Winds Inn is an excellent destination for all ages. Furthermore, confirming that “every positive review is spot on” is a very strong and gracious statement, as is the fact it is “literally impossible not to be relaxed while staying here”.

There are so many other superlatives mentioned – “food out of this world” and “Lunch was much more than we expected. Lunch here would probably beat most fine dinners at other all-inclusives”, or, “feel like you're one of the family once you leave.” – this latter quote after citing many of the names of the people who helped make your vacation so relaxing.

Most of all, we liked your closing line – “All in all, it's a 10 star resort. We're already planning our return visit.” What more could we ask for in a review?

Thank you for your enthusiastic support of East Winds Inn, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Just re-reading some of the reviews here and was reminded of the time i visited with my 2 children a couple of summers ago. We are well travelled and we still talk about East winds as being one of the best holidays ever....I can only put it down to how relaxed we all felt after our stay here....We just re-grouped as a family and we have such fond memories. Im glad this beautiful hotel and rsort is still making others happy.

Room Tip: we enjoyed being set back from the restaurant but there is a bit of a hill to getting there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
GLAD YOU ENJOYED YOUR STAY – THANK YOU

We are pleased to read that East Winds Inn provided you and your family “one of the best holidays ever” and that you clearly enjoyed yourselves whilst at the resort. Thank you for giving us perfect ratings on the important aspects of any hotel, being service and cleanliness – there is little room for subjectivity in those categories.

As you appear to have been at East Winds two years ago as the basis for writing this review, you would not have known that we now have all new high quality Baker and McGuire furniture and appointments in all our rooms, including new mattresses and blackout draperies to further improve on sleep quality – on which you had already provided a perfect score. We are a bit miffed on the average for location, as East Winds Inn is one of the oldest and most established hotels in St. Lucia – suggesting that by definition alone, it has an excellent location directly between the capitol of Castries and the action of the Rodney Bay Marina. Furthermore, East Winds provides some of the most magical sunsets in all of St. Lucia, as the sun sets perfectly perpendicular to the natural sand beach.

In addition to your “fond memories”, we are very pleased with your summation that “this beautiful hotel and resort is still making others happy”. We appreciate your recognition of that most important element of any holiday. Hopefully, it will be enough to make you return.

Thank you for your support of East Winds Inn and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

George J. Reti
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My wife and I returned from our second visit to East Winds in March 2012 and if possible it was better than the year before.

If you are looking for paradise with excellent food and service this is the hotel for you.The staff, manger and owner can't do enough for you and the chef prepares food as good if not better than any michelin star restaurant I've eaten in .

East Winds is so perfect we have already booked to go back next year.

Andrew and Debbie - Hampshire.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retonias, Owner at East Winds, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
GRATEFUL FOR PERFECT REVIEW AND NEW BOOKING

Thank you for posting such a positive review on your second visit to East Winds Inn. The fact you found the experience even better than the year before underscores the confidence you have demonstrated in already booking your return visit for next year. It is most gratifying for all staff at the resort to know their efforts are appreciated - and the best testament to that is to see guests returning year after year as you are now doing.

As you so candidly state “If you are looking for paradise with excellent food and service this is the hotel for you.” This simple statement needs no embellishment or explanation – we appreciate your kind comments and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Thank you for your continued support of East Winds Inn.

Best regards,

George J. Reti,
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
23.8 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
11.4 km away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
26.9 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.0 km away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
3.3 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
4.2 km away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Winds

Property: East Winds
Address: La Brellotte Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Spa Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Family Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gros Islet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gros Islet
Price range (per night): $636 - $1,521
Hotel Class:4 star — East Winds 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Saint Lucia’s best kept secret and immerse yourself in true Caribbean luxury. East Winds Saint Lucia is a breathtaking garden-by-the-sea, planted on the island's most picturesque sandy bay. Our Island Hideaway is Saint Lucia's original boutique resort featuring 30 cottage style suites, tucked away amongst lush plants, trees and a kaleidoscope of colourful bird-life. East Winds is home to what many consider the finest beach on the island and our guests share it with very few others just like them; travellers looking for personalised care and all-inclusive service in the most authentic of Caribbean experiences. Come experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be experienced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your East Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Winds Hotel Gros Islet
East Winds Resort All Inclusive
East Winds St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing