We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVED IT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“WE LOVED IT”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Calabash Cove on a AI staying in a Ocean View Room
We had the best time - we were given room 209 - I emailed the hotel before our arrival and asked for a vaulted ceiling room and that's what we got - the ceiling was about 16 foot high and gave the room a lovely airy feel.
THE ROOM:
Was beautiful, stocked with a fridge full of drink - gin, rum, wine, vodka, whiskey ,beer and all the mixers, and a coffee machine
There is a great hairdryer in the rooms, so no need to bring one, and bathrobes and a safe, and a huge jacuzzi bath if you need an iron and ironing board, housekeeping will deliver it to your room
Barbara kept our room lovely and dressed our bed with towel animals and flowers - she is a very nice lady and re-supplied anything that we had used - and the most beautiful views from the balcony
THE FOOD:
Fantastic - great choice everyday - and with the specials, it was always changing - if anything, the portions are a little on the large side! lovely restaurant again with breathtaking views
POOL
Stunning pool and great bar men in Jonathon and Lance - they mixed some great drinks and were a laugh around the pool
We also ate lunch a few times from the pool menu and we enjoyed them as well
STAFF
This is what makes this hotel such a great place - because of the size of it 26 rooms, the staff get to know you as well as you getting to know them, everyone knew ours names, which I really liked - and they are all really lovely genuine people
Special mention to LILY - a lovely lady and great bartender - loved a chat with Lily in the evenings around the bar
Lance and Jonathon - great banter from these two - good fun
Unita - The Manager, very likeable, makes you feel at ease - and will sort any thing out for you
To name a few more - Rohan
Randell
Chris
Had 2 Spa treatments as well which were excellent

Thank you Calabash Cove for a great holiday - "we loved it"

Room Tip: Get a Vaulted ceiling room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImpJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    75
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
498
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My wife and I honeymooned at CC for 6 nights in Oct. It was absolutely amazing! Some musts for you:
- Take the helicopter. It was a great way to start and end the trip. Yes, the roads are as bad as all of the reviews and the drivers are even worse than the reviews! It is worth the extra money to do round trip helicopter tour. We booked directly through St. Lucia Helicopters. Don't think there was much price difference so CC can set you up with everything.
- If you are planning on drinking and eating, go All Inclusive. You can not beat having any type of drink you want. When we first arrived, there were bottles (normal size, not a mini bar!) of just about every type of liquor you could want, including Champaign. Which, by the way, I would venture to say we set a CC record for more champaign bottles drank in a week! When your bottles run our, just hit 0 and it will be down. The food was very good. We had the fried goat cheese appetizer every night and even some for lunch! For all of the reviews about the food not being good, I am not sure what they are used too?? The tuna steak was unreal! The view from the restaurant is one of the most amazing views we have ever seen!
- Spend the extra for the cottage. There is nothing more romantic in the world then sitting in the private infinity pool overlooking the ocean with my new wife and a bottle of champaign! The outdoor shower (very private!) is amazing as well! The living room is separate from the bed room and has a tv with surprisingly quite a few channels. We were able to watch the World Series from the comfort of our private cottage with the doors open listening to the waves! I think there is nothing better, my wife had a different opinion! We ordered room service every morning and ate on our patio overlooking the ocean!
- Remember, you are going to a tropical rain forest! Yes, there are bugs. Yes, there are birds at all hours. Yes, it is hot! Yes, it rains every once in a while. If you don't want these things, go to Iowa, not St. Lucia! The bugs were not that bad, we took 2 cans of fogger and sprayed around the cottage every night before the sun went down. Nothing you can do about the birds, blame Mother Nature, not CC! Don't spill juices or food inside, there will be ants crawling around as soon as you spill, clean it up! Don't feed the birds and they will leave you alone. I love air conditioning just like everyone else but knew going into it that the AC could be the downfall. But to be honest, it wasn't that bad. Just crank it on low the entire time. Keep all of the doors shut in the bedroom the entire time and anytime you go out of the bedroom, shut the doors to keep the cold air in. There is not AC in the living room but with the views, we kept our doors open most of the time anyway.
Some other thoughts:
- We went scuba diving and booked through the hotel on our first day. It was good, not great.
- We took the sunset cruise. Free booze during the trip. Was quite packed but the sunset views were worth it.
- We went to the street party. Not worth it. Nothing special.
- Oct weather was great! It rained once and didn't hamper anything!
- Lance and Jonathan really are as great as all of the reviews say! We spent just about everyday with them at the swim up bar and they were a great time!
- We met about 4 other couples on their honeymoons as well which was great! We had people to share our experience with and a group to go to the street party together. Not sure we would have ventured out there alone!
- When you first get there (if all inclusive) call and get mixers for your bar.
- Call and get ice as well.
- During normal eating times, room service does take a bit longer.

We really could not have asked for anything more during out honeymoon! We will definitely be back to CC sometime and we can't wait!

Feel free to ask me any questions, I asked others before our trip and it helped a lot.

Room Tip: Go with the Cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Beautiful 5* boutique hotel set in Bonaire Bay, Marisule with stunning views over to Castries. Just the one restaurant for all your meals, but what a lovely one it is! Menu is pretty varied and there are daily specials to chose from, we holidayed for 2 weeks and didn't get bored with the choices. Whatever time of day you eat in the restaurant you cant fail to be mesmerised by the views, at night with the lights its spectacular. Service is good and the meals are cooked freshly and served hot. The little bar at the end of the restaurant is ideal for chilling before and after the meal.

Very intimate, cosy atmosphere and this suited us perfectly, at night there is a different local musician to entertain you throughout dinner, so no noisy bands or discos. All in all its a very elegant place to stay.

Konrad, the owner, has got it completely right with this hotel; his staff mix is spot on, they are all so helpful and pleasant, with a great Lucian sense of humour. Unita the Hotel Manager is delightful and loves to check on you to make sure you're okay, which is a lovely touch. Front desk staff are great - Kim, Rohan and the other two ladies (sorry forgotten names!), as are the restaurant staff - take the time to interact with them, you'll have so much fun putting the world to rights. Jonathan and Lance at the Pool Bar are hysterical, I could've stayed there all day to enjoy their company.

We stayed in the Oceanview Junior Suite in the Manor House block, with wonderful views and it was so tranquil. Room facilities are excellent and room service is include in the all inclusive package. Really wanted to stay in a swim up room but none available, so we'll be getting in early for next year's booking. Our room was kept so well by Barbara our Housekeeper who kept us very well stocked up with anything needed.

Take a visit to the spa, highly recommend it, Marsha and her team are so professional. The couples massage was fab, especially when your hands are linked at the end - such a lovely touch.

Room Tip: 2nd floor in the Manor House block if you're going for an Ocean View Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Perfect getaway to recover, relax and enjoy.
Came here with my fiance for a needed break. We stayed in a swim up room and LOVED it. For us the pool was never closed and our private lounge chairs always free.
A decadent breakfast was included, which we had delivered to our room most mornings.

Although we didn't do all inclusive we dined most nights at the restaurant. As New Yorkers we can be a bit picky over food but this was excellent! The rotating fresh daily menu meant we never got bored.

We went on 3 excursions. They were wonderful, fun, got us out to explore the island. We also spoke to many people staying at other resorts who had complaints about crowds, waiting for lounge chairs, slow service and a very busy pool. We were proud to say Calabash is the complete opposite. You can always find a secluded place and everyone on the staff knew our names which was a lovely touch.

Only wish was for more younger couples, the age average was more in their 50's vs. 30's

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahTNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I vacationed at the Calabash Cover for a few days in Feb. We've traveled a bit throughout the Caribbean and several times to the pacific. To be fair, we are partial to the pacific - cool breezes, no humidity and no bugs. With that said the Calabash was wonderful. The staff and grounds keepers go above and beyond any other staff that we've run into in the Caribbean. The open air lobby is a nice welcome and the view is spectacular. There is really only one restaurant for lunch and dinner - you can eat at the pool bar, but if you want a variety of places to eat - this may not be for you. We were only there for a few days and our goals was to relax - and the Calabash certainly met our expectations. Had we stayed for longer, I would have most likely been stir crazy - the beach is small, but secluded.
We went with the all inclusive package and unlike most all inclusive locations, the Calabash does NOT skimp on types of food and/or drink.
Only two negatives - I'm not faulting the Calabash - were the mosquitoes and the 'tour' organizer. When we arrived at the airport and met our shuttle, we were told that we had to meet Denise in the lobby the next day at 9:30 - couldn't figure this out as we had no intention of going offsite - instead of meeting us in the lobby at 9:30, Denise called our room at 7:00 the first morning of our stay - we have two young children and intended to sleep and relax for a few days and the first day she calls at 7:00 from her house - she wasn't even on-site. As for the mosquitoes - bring Off - I didn't the first evening, but that's my fault. The hotel does spray for bugs everyday, but then again - we're near the rain forest and in the Caribbean so not much to complain about here.
Would I go back - yes - but we plan on traveling to other islands first and then a possible return. Would I recommend the property - yes. The food was great, drinks were great, staff was great and we were able to achieve exactly what we wanted, which was relax.

Room Tip: The swim up jr. suites were wonderful, but the water was a bit tool cold in Feb. for a lot of use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gab21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
23.5 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
0.5 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
849 reviews
26.6 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
6.0 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
743 reviews
4.6 km away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Gros Islet

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Property: Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Address: | Bonaire Estate, Marisule, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Gros Islet
Price range (per night): $406 - $1,174
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing