We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed review - some good points, but wouldn't stay here again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Mixed review - some good points, but wouldn't stay here again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Let me preface this review by saying that we stayed at the all-star Ladera Resort for the first part of our trip, so it may not be a fair comparison. It was a nice change to stay at an air-conditioned close to the beach all-inclusive resort. No doubt. Love that we didn't have to pay a dime for food, cocktails or room service. The pool and swim up bar was nice, and the beach access was great. And the rooms were lovely and spacious and modern.

The staff was pretty rude overall though. And, the food was TERRIBLE. Maybe it was just off when we were there, but we literally had inedible food for some of our meals. So while it was all-inclusive, we didn't feel like it was the greatest value since we didn't enjoy the food all too much. Loved our couples' massage though. Wouldn't stay here again and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    73
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
476
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We arrived on the 27th December & left on the 8th January 2012 and we
had the most enjoyable and relaxing time ever. The staff were fantastic and looked after your every need.
The location perfect, on it's own secluded beach. Not good if you want to walk out as you can't but
you get a car to go anywhere. We went on many trips and ate in many
restaurants. The food in the hotel was lovely but as we were chefs we couldn't be tied to just one place. I would highly reccomend Calabash Cove as somewhere to relax an enjoy the sunshine & views.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at the Calabash January 2012 - the hotel is beautiful and the staff was excellent. We were extremely pleased with the accommodations. Everyone was friendly and did whatever to ensure that we were comfortable. The food was not bad - but we ate at Burger King twice -lol. We went to the Friday Night Street Party, road ATVs and Jet Skis, all are a must.
We will revisit the Calabash when in St. Lucia again.

Room Tip: We Stayed in Cottage 6 - Private Pool and on the beach. We would recommend the ALL INCLUSIVE - this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

My husband and I looked all over the Caribbean before finally choosing Calabash Cove for our honeymoon and we were NOT disappointed. The quality of the service, friendliness of the staff, accommodations, dining and overall experience were wonderful. There are so many things to point out, but I'll share a few highlights:

1. The Staff - without question, the best I have encountered in my travels (for some context: I have traveled pretty extensively both nationally & internationally). They literally bent over backwards to see to our needs and always, always with a smile. Everyone from the front desk managers, to the restaurant staff, to the housekeepers and groundskeepers. They were all fantastic! Lily, the evening bartender was our favorite. She is a magician with a blender and a cocktail shaker!

2. The Rooms - we stayed in one of the water's edge cottages and it was lovely. Private, romantic and comfortable. We also had our own plunge pool which was great when we wanted to be by ourselves, but enjoy the great weather. Our housekeeper was wonderful and friendly and made sure to see to any requests we had in a timely manner.

3. The Food & Drink - we opted to go all-inclusive (which normally I'm not a fan of), but it was absolutely worth it here. The meals were delicious, lots of variety, and the wine/cocktail/beer list had a great selection. We went off property one night (to Coal Pot) and I thought it was good, but I would have been happy just staying at the resort.

4. The Spa - it's small, but don't be fooled. Marsha and her team are wonderful and create a lovely experience, whether you're doing a scrub, massage, whatever. We did the couple's massage as part of our package and loved it so much, we went back a second time. I highly recommend.

We had a wonderful experience at Calabash Cove and would absolutely recommend this place to any of our friends or family. We will definitely go back!

(Note: this is definitely not a place for kids. Much better for couples.)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We had a fabulous stay over Christmas in St Lucia & at Calabash Cove, at first jet lagged and tired we arrived to a warm welcome with rum punch and directed to the services available to us. The room was central to our stay and the view was amazing, some slight problems with the water pressure with our shower meant it did not work unless it let very hot & steamy water out of it. This was not corrected all stay long despite requests. We sampled a lot of Caribbean & World food in the hotel and outside, However, we did feel that this was an added expense whereas the quality/value was not guaranteed (we were not on an all-inclusive package) to eat evening meals throughout our stay. And we did make a comment to the French chef D, that he needed to widen his choice of wines on the evening drinks menu, as the reds served were rather young and unpalatable.
Additionally, the trip advisory rates this as a 5 star resort, which in our opinion merited 4 stars. There were many positives especially that of the spa - delicate and outstanding care from all staff - and a professional attention to sports & minor ailments in massages even available on Christmas Day had outpaced the negatives listed above.
Many thanks to the whole team for making our stay seem so wonderful and especially the front of house staff attentive and worked hard to find suitable activities and guide us to them.

Room Tip: I am prefer the centrally located room (that we had for the view), AC unit could be noisy though. Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAndyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
23.5 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.4 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
4.7 km away
The Landings St. Lucia
The Landings St. Lucia
#2 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
6.0 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
11.0 km away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calabash Cove Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calabash Cove Resort and Spa

Property: Calabash Cove Resort and Spa
Address: | Bonaire Estate, Marisule, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Gros Islet
Price range (per night): $601 - $1,020
Hotel Class:4 star — Calabash Cove Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on gently sloping, tropical beachfront on the northwest coast of the island, Calabash Cove is one of just a select few five-star resorts on St. Lucia. Nestled in the sheltered bay of Bonaire Estate, Calabash Cove is perched on a hillside sloping gently towards the Caribbean Sea, where cool ocean breezes provide a wonderful respite and the turquoise sea is offset by the vibrant green of tropical vegetation and views of Walcott Island. A private beach and nearby coral reef provide the perfect place to rest, reflect and dream. The resort has been designed with great care to complement and exist in harmony with the beauty of the natural surroundings. The main buildings of the hotel, such as the lobby, restaurant, bar, sanctuary, and infinity pool with waterfall lie on a slope, with the villas in the midst of lush vegetation perfectly situated to view nightly sunsets. The natural elements of earth, wind, light and water are represented in the exotic wood, stone and natural materials used in the composition of the buildings. The peaceful and tranquil gardens, under the care of one of the finest landscape architects in the Caribbean, have been created to capture and optimize the natural splendor of the area and are filled with vibrant, fragrant flowers set amid groves of trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Calabash Cove Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calabash Cove Hotel Gros Islet
Calabash Cove Resort And Spa St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing