We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The quintessential Caribbean Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Coal Pot

The Coal Pot
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 25 - USD 75
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fish and seafood specialties restaurant on water front at Vigie Cove, Chef Xavier Ribot has lead this charming restaurant for 15 years offering french and Caribbean cuisine.
birmingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The quintessential Caribbean Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We found this place by accident after a short ferry ride to cross a piece of water near the Port of Castries. We got off , not knowing where we were going and literally fell upon this little unspoilt piece of the Caribbean.
Whilst this is not a fine dining establishment, we sat literally two feet away from the water side and could not fault the great food, great service, views to die for and good VFM as well.
One of the best lunch time I've had in a number of years.
A definite must for anyone visiting St Lucia.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3ddesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    207
    67
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious, but a little hard to find if traveling on your own”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Definitely recommend The Coal Pot for a nice dinner! My husband and I drove there from Ti Kaye one night for dinner. We gave ourselves plenty of time to find it, which we were glad we did. We had an app that showed The Coal Pot in a completely different location than where it was, so we got a bit lost!
Once found, we arrived right before they were opening for dinner. Instead of making us wait, they sat us and we were able to order drinks while waiting for the rest of the kitchen to be ready for us to make our food order.
Their menu is on a huge chalkboard that they carry from table to table. They offer different fish and meats, and then you get to pair with a selection of sauces.
The food was very good! The staff was also very nice and conversational.
The seating is in an open concept right on a bay - but the bay is where many boats launch and return. Not necessarily a beautiful view, and the restaurant is also located right by a small airport - so it's not really "serene".
A great restaurant to try out - and we saw all the great reviews. It was worth the adventure to get there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch at Cole Pot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had a table for 4 as close to the inlet as you could get. The little ripples the came in from the bay just added to the ambience. Love the chalkboard as your menu. The waitstaff was friendly and prompt. The food was spectacular, it should have been a dinner not a lunch. We would go there again!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank bc5012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Beautiful location, our table was 2 meters from the sand beach & water, portions were ample and very well prepared, excellent service without being overbearing, so though pricey (about $100 US each with wine & appetizers) it was worth it. We had been to the Edge in Rodney Bay which was more expensive and portions were tiny, we left hungry.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RnDBCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Lucia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Spectacular night at coalpot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I love the food there, there chef is really good... theres excellent service and it has a nice ambiance......

Helpful?
Thank titruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coal Pot also viewed

Castries, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Gros Islet, Gros Islet Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Been to The Coal Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing