We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They give our reservation to another people”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of SeaGate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SeaGate Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“They give our reservation to another people”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had booked about a week before and when we arrive to the hotel, they had given to some people that supposed to do the check out and the hotel manager give addituional days more .(our reservation days). The hotel manager try to move our group to another places, but we dont like it,
Uppps...a very bad move from the manager staff.
I do not recomended it.

Room Tip: Our group never reach the hotel, the manager try to sell our dream hotel for another very different...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 4jrosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaGateMgr, Public Relations Manager at SeaGate Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
I am sorry you had a bad experience, however, let's be clear. Your booking was made by a group coordinator for a 40-person kids volleyball team and their parents with a special rate. We feel the problem occurred as a result of poor communication between the coordinator and the other members of the group that were unaware the group would most likely have to be split up due to its size (not to mention the fact that more people showed up than was indicated). Your rooms were not given away to anyone else. We did our very best to make everyone happy, but I guess that's just not possible with groups this size.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    110
    17
    14
    8
See reviews for
98
184
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed one night at the Seagate and would definitely go back. Charming room with a view of the distant sea and all of the sounds of the surrounding neighborhood. The proprietor Penny made it happen, picking us up from the ferry, stopping at the local market so we could shop, and coming to get us from a local secluded beach. She also provided a barbecue, so we could grill fresh fish from our patio. Tofer, one of her employees gave us a lift to that beach - don't miss a chance to take a ride in his "vehicle" as he is extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, the dogs and cats provide company, and all in all, you feel very taken care of and relaxed staying at this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelin629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Rent a car, rent a car, rent a car! Publicos/taxis are not a reliable means of getting around the island! Room 3 has small kitchen with 2 rooms and great shared patio, great room for family with 1 kid. Great breakfast, good bed!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at the SeaGate for four nights. The people were very friendly but not always easy to find! Our fully furnished kitchen consisted of two sets of china and silverware for three people. One set of faucets had only hot water (bathroom) and the other cold water (kitchen). The extra bed in the kitchen was unbelievably uncomfortable, while the king size bed in the bedroom was quite soft. No supplies, like shampoo, salt and pepper, paper towels. Bring everything yourself. Breakfast was hard boiled eggs one day and cheese the other, with some bread and pound cake. The coffee was never ready on time. We had to park outside the hotel on a narrow street. Also, every morning at eight we were greeted by roosters, horses, dogs and the sounds of sawing and hammering outside our terrace. If there's construction, don't plan on sleeping in! Highly recommend Esperanza Riding Center and the bioluminescent tour by Gary.

Room Tip: Getting a room on the second or third floor might help with the noise. Be prepared for a hike up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

If you love nature, lush vegetation and animals, this is the place to stay on Vieques. SeaGate sits on a hill, just outside Isabel. We had a lovely, one bedroom suite with a fully furnished kitchen overlooking the town with a view of the ocean. Daily cleaning including washing your dishes is also included. SeaGate is a rustic, but well maintained boutique with a staff that is into service. It was so nice to be picked up at the airport by Topher. He also arranged our Bio Bay tour and car rental. Penney did a good job of providing fresh fruit, a variety of cheeses and sometimes boiled eggs in addition to bread and pastries for breakfast, so it wasn't a problem following my gluten free diet. Vieques is a must see with its beautiful beaches and wild horses along the roads. SeaGate Hotel provides a great setting for an offbeat experience with a wonderful sense of community.
Mo, Wheaton IL

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
1.2 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
360 reviews
3.6 km away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,765 reviews
7.4 km away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
219 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa de Amistad
Casa de Amistad
#1 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
424 reviews
7.5 km away
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
#5 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaGate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaGate Hotel

Property: SeaGate Hotel
Address: Route 989 Km .04 | Box 747, 00765-0747, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price range (per night): $125 - $239
Hotel Class:2 star — SeaGate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques' first hotel still in operation. SeaGate Hotel is a unique, pet-friendly, secluded retreat with no two rooms exactly alike. Natural breezes or AC, some with kitchens, all have at least a small refirdgerator and microwave, tv with local channels (Cottage & CQ have Direct TV), balconies or terraces, ocean views, and Concierge service. Complimentary transportation upon arrival from airport or ferry. SeaGate Hotel - you're home. Ingles y Espanol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your SeaGate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing