We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”
Review of Great Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Escape
Ranked #16 of 28 Isla de Vieques B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Beautifully decorated and clean rooms, nice pool, helpful staff. But most importantly, the owner - Dana - was always available to help us whenever needed. In an island with very little infrastructure, this is not a small thing. We stayed in Vieques during a busy long weekend in February 2012 and couldn't find a rental car in the island, even after many days attempting. Dana was able to find us one as soon as we got there. For those who do not plan to rent a car, the location is not ideal. For those - like us - who wanted to explore the island, the location was just perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prettywomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Great Escape is a gem on a magical island. We stayed two nights in February of 2011 and had the place to ourselves with the exception of one other couple. The property sits on top of a hill that offers stunning views of the island, oceans, as well as the colorful property itself, replete with a pool, hammocks and fruit trees. It was about a 5-10 minute drive from downtown Esperanza, which created a more peaceful setting. *As is mentioned in other reviews, you should really rent a car about a month out from your trip to ensure you can explore the entire island.

The room was clean, bright and opened up to a wrap-around balcony. The owner of the property, Donna, ensured that we had the best time imaginable and went above and beyond to show hospitality. She helped to set us up for a tour of the bioluminescence and arranged for transportation for us. As beautiful as the island and beaches are, we would have been completely content resting at the Great Escape itself.

For anyone in search of a truly special and charming experience, look no further than the Great Escape.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My family and I stayed at Great Escape for 3 days during the dates of December 9-11, 2012. We rented the 3 bedroom suite villa and it was 6 of us. We absolutely loved the place. This location is away from the hotels and away from anyone. The way to relax and to enjoy a real vacation with the family is at Great Escape.

The place is extremely clean, very private, the attention of the owner "Mrs. Dana" to every member of the family is priceless. We took the breakfast included in our package and "let me tell you" this is the best option as you wake up and everything is served and ready. You save lots of money and time when you stay at Great Escape in addition to having the privacy of your own home, pool, rest area and secured property.

Everyone in our family really enjoyed our time while staying on this location and we will return soon to continue to relax. I've added a few photos of the property.

Thank you Dana for taking care of us.. God bless you!

Sincerely,

OneCreativeMedia.com

Room Tip: When traveling 4 to 6 it is recommended to go with the 3 bedroom suite breakfast included. View Pho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photographyjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

This is a homey, kinda funky guest house in the Vieques countryside. Each room is furnished differently. Some rooms have ocean views, others have countryside views. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the side away from the parking lot. Our room was clean, comfortable and had a nice balcony.
Danuta, the lady who runs the guest house, provides a nice breakfast. She can provide most any info you need about the island. There is a pool, patio, and outdoor bar and sitting room where you can relax, play games or socialize. The other guests were friendly and interesting people.
You will want a rental car if you are staying here. It's a few miles to either of the towns on the island. If you are going during a holiday period be sure to reserve a car WELL in advance
The beaches on Vieques are as wonderful and varied as the guide books say. Some have talcum powder white fine sand, others have the more common sand. The island is quiet and relaxing.
We did not visit the bioluminescent bay due to full moon.
We ate dinner in Esperanza at Tradewinds a couple of nights; food was delicious, service was good and friendly. We also ate at El Quenepo which is pricier and trendier.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiselaZD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

My wife and I went to Vieques on a bussines trip. We stay on The Great Scape B&B by accident since ther were no vacances in other hotels on the island. We do not regreat our choice. The place is beutifull and quiet. The pool is cristal clear and Dona makes you feel like you are at home. The only problem we had was that we stay only for a short time. At night you can enjoy the view of the stars from the pool bar, a comodity in this days. The hotel is close to Vieques main street but at the same time is far from any distractions.
It's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla de Vieques
2.5 km away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
456 reviews
4.1 km away
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
1,843 reviews
1.5 km away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
375 reviews
2.8 km away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esperanza
240 reviews
29.3 km away
Club Seabourne
Club Seabourne
#1 of 4 in Culebra
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Escape

Address: HC-02 Box 14,501, 00765, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isla de Vieques
Price Range: $126 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Escape 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Escape Bed & Breakfast Inn is located on a hilltop on 3.8 acres of land in La Llave, Vieques Island, Puerto Rico. Almost constant trade winds make for a temperature several degrees cooler than in the towns. There are 10 modern guestrooms and 1 apartment with one bedroom, which, via connecting doors can be rented as a 2 or 3 bedroom. Continental Breakfast is served poolside daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Escape Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing