We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Casa de Tortuga(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
USD 202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Tamarindo(Isla de Vieques)
USD 217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malecon House(Isla de Vieques)
USD 178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaGate Hotel(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
USD 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Coral Guesthouse(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
USD 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Blok Hotel(Esperanza)(Great Value!)
USD 185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Esperanza Inn(Isla de Vieques)(Great Value!)
USD 112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Guesthouse(Isla de Vieques)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ababor Suites(Isla de Vieques)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
63
59
37
21
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
59
37
21
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastlocation is greatsmall refrigeratorceiling fanvisit viequestradewindsmaleconguesthouseesperanzadottymananaislandacbarrio
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2016

9 of us arrived on Christmas Eve for dinner. This gem of a restaurant on the ocean front wasted no time in putting together a large table and offering us a wide variety of cuisine. The chef visited the table to answer questions and the food was superb. 9 different main courses were selected and all were wonderful. The staff were friendly, attentive, and made time to help out with beach recommendations and local knowledge.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We arrived on Vieques coming from a fancy resort on the main island, so the rustic nature of Trade Winds was a bit of a shock. The rooms are oddly shaped, a bit dark and claustrophobic, but most or all seem to have some ventilation and the dim light can be good for sleeping. Our room was air conditioned but also had windows that didn't fully close, so the place isn't very eco friendly - the A/C was constantly fighting with the hot, humid air coming in through the window. Hot water in the shower was hit or miss. The doors had 1 cm gaps around the edge and window screens were not flush with the window frame, so some mosquitoes got into our room. The wifi in the cafe area was strong but it didn't work well in our room.

On the plus side, the hosts were very nice and accommodating. Our package was an excellent value, as it included a biobay tour and $50 GC for the restaurant. They were very concerned that the weather was rainy during our day and they allowed us to order from the full breakfast menu instead of sticking to continental offerings. Our room was on a hallway off the hotel kitchen and we were concerned about noise but had no trouble sleeping. Excellent location and awesome food.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank BostonTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Went to the first time while I was staying in the Esperanza area. Great breakfast for an affordable price. The owner has such a great taste , each area is extremely well decorated with beach ornaments and spectacular paintings. Great ocean view while you eat. Great pancakes with scrambled eggs. Coffee was so good you can serve , and dont have to wait for it, great idea!!! Buffet style. The American lady who welcome us was very friendly and polite. Great service with a great price, will go back.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank vanessa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We stayed for three days at this guesthouse. The rooms are very simple and small but overall, the place was great! It is located right in front of the beach so it has an amazing view, specially at sunset. All employees were extremely helpful and friendly. Even though we were the only guests, every single day a person came in early and prepared a table with continental breakfast, coffee, tea, juice JUST FOR US!!! Although when we were there the restaurant was closed, they were very helpful indicating the best restaurants around. The place where the guesthouse is located in a great street since there are a lot of places near to go to eat, or have coffee, or even at night time to get a drink. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JMV_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

No frills here but it is clean. They have a great gift shop, probably the best in Esperanza. Tradewinds is rustic and pretty old, many rooms are very small with tiny windows onto the deck. I was disappointed they didn't have shampoo in the rooms or even for sale in the shop and I had to walk a couple of blocks up into town, nor did they have a blowdryer. The lady who does the coffee will not put it out one minute early either. On the positive side.... the location is great, the staff speaks English and is very nice and we had a wonderful visit to Vieques.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Sabrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews