We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No great options in Mayaguez”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I've been coming to Mayaguez for years, and this is the first (and last) time that I'll stay with HoJo. It's got a central location and a renovated lobby, but that's it. No wireless in rooms? No cable for wired internet? No fitness center? No clock in the room? Awoken by bloodthirsty mosquitoes, cars smashing into each other, and a Glockenspiel (charming when it's not 6:00 a.m.). Given - the Holiday Inn and Mayaguez Resort aren't the Ritz, but both are better options for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenbeltdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 284 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

Very clean. The room has modest accommodations but well beyond expectations at its price point. There were no towels but a quick call to the front desk solved the problem quickly. Staff is very friendly. Hotel is located in the middle of downtown Mayaguez.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wiqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The hotel is in a great location and the lobby is very clean and modern. However, the room had a bad mold odor and there was also mold in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmorales122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel on October 2011. He had to take a very important test very early the next day and we thought it was best if we stayed in Mayaguez. We were looking for a value place, for it was going to be just one night. Right when we entered, there was like a lounge where it played live soft music at night and had a wine and appetizers special we couldn't resist, and we enjoyed it very much. Check in was very smooth. The pool was extremely small, almost like jacuzzi type and not attractive at all. The hotel offers parking, and its very secure and comfortable. The location was great, because it is right behind the Plaza (which was beautiful) and a 4 minute drive to the University. The room is not impressive, but it does have a LCD TV and a in-room safe, and my 15 inch laptop fits right in. We had a queen size bed, and it was comfortable for both of us. The air conditioner works great! The only con is that the breakfast was worse than awful!!! Just toast and bagel with butter or jelly. No ham or cheese!! Just one brand of cereal and mini muffins. There was yogurt, but it wasn't very good. There is a bakery right beside the hotel in the corner, GO THERE!!! ITS BETTER THAN THE BREAKFAST OF THE HOTEL!!
The hotel was an excellent value!! Hotel Staff was very nice and attentive. We wanted to stay another night, but we had plans for the next day.. :( But I highly recommend if you have business traveling..

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We were intrigued by the restored monastery, and loved the huge columns and walkways on each floor. My husband was born in Mayaguez, but last there 45 years ago and knew little of the building. The rooms are not fancy, but we are more interested in character and ours was clean and comfortable.

The location is perfect for seeing the Plaza, the Cathedral, nearby bakeries and the Yaquez Theatre. The continental breakfast if more than adequate, but we didn't get to try the bar.

We were there in early December and had no idea how beautifully the Plaza and surrounding buildings would be decorated. If you can go to Puerto Rico that time of year it is wonderful and walking the Plaza, seeing the families with their children, was a joy.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BJRMilmay_NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
0.0 km away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#2 of 4 in Mayaguez
133 reviews
2.6 km away
Mayaguez Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 km away
Combate Beach Resort
Combate Beach Resort
#1 of 9 in Cabo Rojo
699 reviews
19.9 km away
Parador Boquemar
Parador Boquemar
#2 of 5 in Boqueron
204 reviews
29.1 km away
Parador El Faro
Parador El Faro
#2 of 3 in Aguadilla
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Mayaguez

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR

Address: Calle Mendez Vigo 70 Este, Mayaguez 00680, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range: $107 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Downtown Mayaguez Hotel Mayaguez
Howard Johnson Mayaguez
Mayaguez Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing