We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique Condado property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This place isn't fancy, but if you want to stay in Condado, it offers good value -- especially when redeeming Choice Privileges award points. It's an older building, art deco-ish. Rooms are a bit old fashioned, but we had Room 210 with the 2 queens and sofa bed which was quite spacious. Pool area small but pretty (waterfall pool). No breakfast, but tons of nearby eateries. In fact, this area is amazingly busy at all hours of the day and night, but the hotel was quiet (and will be quiet for you, so long as you get good neighbors!). Parking is a 5 minute walk and $5 charge. I'm not sure I'd want to stay for a longer resort-type stay, but if you're just visiting San Juan briefly for a cruise or exploration of the rest of the island, it's perfect.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

The hotel personnel were extremely friendly and helpful initially. Then, I come back to my room after an extended day at the beach to find out that my laptop(MacBook Pro) has been stolen out of there. To add insult to injury, Estela, the front desk clerk working at the time, actually let someone in my room. She believed he was my friend so she let the guy in my room. This person(my "friend") was not authorized for entry, nor was he listed on the room. Just because she saw this guy with us, she thought it was "ok" to let him in the room. I file a police report, and the hotel sets up a "claim" with their insurance. Fast forward 3 weeks and I receive word from the insurance that the hotel does not have the coverage to even cover such a claim. I am still computer-less and now have to file a lawsuit against the hotel to be compensated for this ridiculous issue. If you love your personal items, and want to stay somewhere where they care when such terrible things happen, then I will not advise you to stay in this hotel. The hotel isn't being accountable for their SCREW UP of letting someone in my room. I have been getting the run-around to the utmost extreme; I am sure things will change after this lawsuit hits. Take Care.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jermell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

San Juan and Puerto Rico as a whole have so much to see and experience that this hotel was perfect for my needs. We had a room on the first floor with a patio, unfortunately the firat night we had the notorious 112. This room is terrible! be forewarned, if they give you this room ask if you can be moved the next morning. That's what happened to us and after that everything was great. The staff was very accommodating and friendly, facilities clean, area was safe and in the middle of everything. It was a steal too! If you are on a budget, want to explore and we out while on vacation and just looking for a clean, friendly amd safe place to sleep inbetween adventures, this is the place!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoshC87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I loved the quaintness and the location of the hotel. It was clean and comfortable and everyone was very nice.

Room Tip: Room 210 is on the end and it has two queen beds and a sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7wonderstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Pros: Great Location near the corner where Magdalena meets Ashford.
Hot water in bathroom. The remote for TV is given to you at the front desk.
Cons: Very sparse room. Very uncomfortable bed that is hard, bouncy and squeeks. Phone did not work. AC outlets coming oiut of the walls. Section of ceiling over bed was covered with some acoustic tile taped on with masking tape and starting to sag. Seemed like the people above would end up in our bed at some point during the night. Had to borrow hair dryer from front desk. Noisy narrow hallway outside the rooms. They charge an extra $3 per day that you pay when you leave, not included in the room rate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HT_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
351 reviews
0.2 km away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#24 of 47 in San Juan
347 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 47 in San Juan
827 reviews
0.2 km away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#16 of 47 in San Juan
171 reviews
0.3 km away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#41 of 47 in San Juan
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 1149 Magdalena Ave Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $147 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection Le Consulat
Ascend Collection San Juan
Clarion San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing