We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sumply excellent!”
Review of La Jaquita Baya

La Jaquita Baya
Ranked #49 of 1,007 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Puerto Rican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We focus on reviving forgotten dishes from our delicious puertorrican gastronomic culture. We sponsor "lo nuestro" You should do it too. Eat local, Eat fresh!
paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Sumply excellent!”
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

We tried this restaurant with the advice of one of our local friend. Everything on the menu is delicious. The service is excellent and there was live music even on a monday night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mont_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    66
    18
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance-Good Food”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Fun place, lots of ambiance. Very good food with many interesting, creative twists. Some would call it fusion cuisine; to me it was just..... yummy!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food I had during a week Puerto Rico”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

During a week long stay in San Juan this restaurant was the highlight of my dining. I went with a group of nine family members and we probably ordered about 30% of the items on the menu between us, so I got to taste many dishes, and everything was good to excellent. Everybody was pleased with the food. The gnocchi, calamari and pulpo appetizers, as well as the pork chop, mahi mahi and churrasco were my favorites. Desserts were equally as good and with generous portions.

It's walking distance from hotels around Condado area (Hilton, Conrad, Renaissance) and much better food than what you find at hotel restaurants and slightly less expensive.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really cool place with great food...”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The way this place is decorated is awesome and the food is wonderful. Their calamari are really good and the skirt steak with guava sauce is delicious. They can sometimes be a little slow in getting you to a table, but the service in general is good and the staff very personable. I've already been here 2-3 times and its definitely become one of my fail-safe restaurants to go to.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daniella_moll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and excellent service!”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The fish tacos were outstanding, the lentil cream soup fabulous. Main fish course perfect and heavenly desserts made of coconut and chocolate. Plus a very attentive service and reasonable prices. The best!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliciaor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Jaquita Baya also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico, Caribbean
 

Been to La Jaquita Baya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing