We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time in Puerto Rico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“1st time in Puerto Rico”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Recommended by a friend. felt like we were best friends before and during our trip. Such a charming place, great breakfast and always so helpful, ie leading us to "home" one night after getting lost on the streets of San Juan. As someone else mentioned, Natalia is a weath of info. Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumbamad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    15
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
112
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My fiance and I just completed a trip to Puerto Rico and the island of Vieques. We stayed our first two nights in San Juan at the Casa Castellana, though were it not for the fact that it was already booked, we would have loved to stay there the last two nights after we returned to San Juan from our stay in Vieques. There are many many options of where you can stay in San Juan. You have large hotels and resorts a plenty, with tons of amenities, pools, cabana bars, and staff by the hundreds. However, after staying at one of those resorts the last two nights of our vacation, we found ourselves missing Casa Castellana dearly. I hope that this review will convey why we felt so strongly about it, and I hope that even if you've never stayed at a B&B, you'll give this one a chance.
First of all, there's the house. Originally constructed by a doctor as a wedding gift for one of his daughters, the current owners bought it a few years ago, restored it beautifully, and have been running it as a B&B for the past three years. The fact that they have been open for so little time and already find themselves booked solid for months only serves as a testament for how well they treat their guests. They have kept many most of the original stained-glass windows and some of the rarest marbles can be found on some of their floors (really, you literally can't buy some of them anymore).
We stayed in the Escalona room (see http://www.casacastellanaprbbinn.com/RoomsI.html), named after the owner's mother, who's maiden name was Escalona. A cozy room with plenty of drawer and closet space and an ample bathroom that opens up into a balcony with a seating area. The bedroom window looks out onto Luchetti street. Speaking of the street, since it is a couple of blocks from the main drag, we were never bothered by noise, something that became an issue when staying at our resort later in the week. Following the stairs up to the third floor you'll come into a large sitting and dining area with folding doors that open up into a courtyard with more tables. This is where Natalia and her family serve home-made breakfast every morning. I'll just say that her creole-style huevos rancheros could stack up to any breakfast I've ever had, and I'm serious about my breakfast. Delicious coffee and fresh-squeezed orange juice are a staple, along with a buffet of cruidites and fruits.
Taking a moment to speak about the staff, this is what truly made all the difference. Natalia is the owner and proverbial mother of the house, and she'll take care of you just like a good mother would. She picked us up from the airport, which by itself saves you a $20 cab ride, and will drop you off at the end of your stay as well. She made sure that we had beach towels, hats, umbrellas, sunscreen, or anything we needed for the beach. And if she didn't have it available, she made sure we knew exactly where the best place to get it would be. She is a fantastic source of information for everything local and delicious, and will answer any question you have thoroughly. In essence, the best personal service you can get. We actually came back to visit her before we left San Juan, and ended up staying there for another hour and a half chatting and enjoying one of her favorite drinks, a combination of Aniz and White Rum called Chichaito. She will most likely treat you to one before the end of your stay.
As far as location goes, it is about a 7-8 minute walk from the beach. You may automatically want a beach-front property for your vacation, but really, this was never an issue. Besides, with the quality of stay that I've described above, such a small walk is never a problem. Like I said, the only thing we were left wishing for was the chance to stay more nights. You leave there wanting to return, and on top of that, with a new friend in your host Natalia. So if San Juan is your next vacation, I really hope you'll get to stay here. Check out her website and I know she'll be more than happy to answer any of your questions. Happy vacationing!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ururigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Yes...our suite (The Cordoba Master Suite) was beautiful, private, unique and a true value. The sitting room enhances the suite and has a small balcony. The sunken marble shower for two is fantasic. The king sleigh bed is comfy. The flatscreen TV works well & has a good choice of channels both in English and Spanish. After 4 nights in Vieques, we came back & stayed in the Toledo Room. Though smaller, it was the most private, set apart from the others, with its own outside entrance & parking space. This was also a good value.

We stayed at Casa Castellana 6 nights, between Feb 2 and 12, 2012, celebrating our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Yes...the breakfasts were hearty, varied, home cooked, fresh, authentic and on time. It began with coffee, fresh-squeezed O.J. & a cold buffet, and finished with a hot entre. The family recipe for French Toast was our favorite! The inn has elegant ambience, with marble floors and period stained glass windows.

But, the true measure of a great inn is the host(s). Natalia and her daughter Nina bring a refreshing spirit of warmth & helpfullness to this Condado bed and breakfast. Little extras added so much to the appreciation our stay: airport transfers, bonus cocktails, sharing recipes, restaurant advice, printing boarding passes & more. The ladies just can't do enough for you. We were amazed to learn they've only been running this B&B for 3 years! And already, they've been ranked #1 in San Juan, by Trip Advisor a few times. We've stayed at other B&Bs in San Juan, and we feel their status is well-deserved. We really came to know how gracious these women are, and when we left, we felt we had become old friends. Of course, we will return!

Room Tip: The Cordoba Suite for romance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

A truly friendly B&B with old San Juan charm only two blocks back from Avenida Ashford and the beach. Natalia Richards, the owner, is one of the warmest people you could meet. She is a wealth of information about what to do in and around San Juan and places to eat. In addition, her breakfasts are exceptional; everything from coffee, fruit, meats and cheeses, to a hot dish which changes daily. When we travel, my wife and I prefer staying at B&Bs. Casa Castellana ranks as one of the best.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_W_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My wife & I stayed in the Granada room at Casa Castellana recently. It is the smallest room at the inn, but it is super comfortable and quiet, and was perfect for us. The inn is nestled in a lovely, safe neighborhood with tree-lined streets. A pretty public park is just down the street, where local families gather for picnics.

Breakfast at Castellana is a treat. Platters are set out with an assortment of cured meats (prosciutto, salami, etc.), Spanish cheeses, dates, and fresh fruit. Then a breakfast of eggs with ham, french toast, etc. All perfectly delectable, and served on the picturesque upstairs outdoor terrace. We often discovered plates of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies, or banana bread, available in the kitchen area in the evening!

Nice selection of books and dvd movies available for the times when we just wanted to relax.

Nina was a wonderful hostess, very helpful to us in finding our way around the city.

They even arranged transportation for us, to and from the airport, which was great help.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdfltransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.8 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 48 in San Juan
928 reviews
1.8 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,952 reviews
1.3 km away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 48 in San Juan
4,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1218 Luchetti Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price range (per night): $139 - $218
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanish Colonial style home from the 1920’s. Our surroundings are unique, and we offer guidance to our guests. We are available 24/7 to ensure that our guests have a great time while visiting Puerto Rico and discovering its cultural history, hospitable nature, and natural resources. PERFECT FOR A:• romantic getaway, • a family vacation, • for group travelers,• a relaxing visit before and/or after a Caribbean cruise. LOCATION: • Upscale neighborhood of El Condado, on a quiet side street, • walking distance to the:  beach,  night clubs, hotels, casinos,  restaurants,  art and cultural centers.TRANSPORTATION: • Public transportation,• Taxi route,• ten minutes by car to:  Old San Juan,  cruise lines  The airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Castellana Hotel San Juan
Casa Castellana Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing